No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Nags Head Country Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Pickhill, , , Thirsk, YO7 4JG
We offer 12 well-appointed bedrooms at reasonable prices (2 at ground floor level for less mobile guests). All rooms are en-suite and fully equipped with tea and coffee-making facilities, telephone, television and modem point.We welcome children, and well-behaved pets are permitted by prior arrangement. This summer we will be refurbishing two rooms in the main building to make a large family room/executive suite. As a 2 AA Rosette restaurant, we offer fresh, seasonal, local produce. Our menus change regularly and dishes are influenced current trends in cooking, requests from our customers, and the chef’s boundless flair and imagination. We are surrounded by some of the world’s most breathtaking countryside offering almost limitless choice of footpaths and covering every level of challenge. Visit Walk Yorkshire and Dales Walks for inspiration. Yorkshire has no fewer than nine racecourses and The Nag’s Head is within fifteen minutes of three of them: We are within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales Autograss Club. Autograss is a non-contact motorsport that takes place on an oval (approximately 400 metres) track using a natural soil surface. Due to the close nature of the racing, thrills and spills are never far away. Alternatively, you could try Croft Circuit. Just let Edward know your particular interests when booking and he will be pleased to make arrangements or effect introductions for you. A keen horseman, he has his own point to pointers and is familiar with every aspect of the sport. The region also offers excellent river and lake fishing as well as sea angling from the coast, barely an hour away. We can particularly recommend coarse fishing locally at Carlton Miniott and Sessay, game fishing at Stonebridge Trout Lakes, Little Fencote, and shooting at Warren Gill Shooting Ground at Masham..
Picture of Nags Head Country Inn, Thirsk at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodation and clean.
From Initial telephone conversation with Edward at booking stage and prior to arrival throughout our our stay, he is a very rude and ignorant. I think if you don't eat there, despite the 4 rooms costing me just under £400 he decided we would be subject to his rudeness.
Other staff were fine.

Reviewed by
philip r

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming; excellent food. Room clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
peter w

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely inn in a very peaceful setting . Room was lovely with our daughter seperate in a smaller room just off main bedroom . Food and service was excellent . very friendly and helpful without being intrusive . We chose Pickhill literally by pointing a finger at the map and it proved ideal for travelling around and being in a central position for us . Definately coming back again .

Reviewed by
paul e

From bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable accommodation and delightful food
Enjoyable stay, nice bar and excellent food.

Reviewed by
Iain S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
We only stayed for one night as a base for visiting family further north, but we really enjoyed it. Very quiet location, nice room and very comfortable. Friendly staff and good service. Only had time for a lunchtime sandwich & beer, but would loved to have stayed for dinner in the restaurant as the menu looked very interesting. Cooked breakfast on Sunday was the best presented breakfast I've ever had. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Graham B

From Windlesham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay May 2013
Great location for North Yorkshire, food and accommodation 1st class.
Ideal location for travelling around NE England or staying over for horse racing trips to Thirsk and Rippon. Very warm welcome and difficult to find fault.

Reviewed by
John A

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A1
Have enjoyed staying here many times. A friendly and welcoming resting place after a long drive.
An extensive menu of beautifully presented food.

Reviewed by
robert watson

From Longniddry, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was clean comfortable with beautiful views. the food was of excellent standard nothing was too much trouble the staff are friendly welcoming and polite. well worth the money...

Reviewed by
G Lees

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay

Reviewed by
Derek M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was an excellent place to stay for visiting N. Yorkshire with good access to towns such as Northallerton, Thirsk and Richmond. The accommodation was very comfortable and the food served is of high quality with very friendly and helpful staff. I would recommend a stay here without hesitation.

Reviewed by
John M

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next