No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Dunston Hall Ipswich Road, Norwich, NR14 8PQ

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Golf 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Surrounded by its own 18 hole USGA specification Golf Course, De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall offers an array of sporting and leisure facilities, including a 22 bay covered driving range, and fully equipped gym. The hotel provides an ideal environment in which to relax and be pampered with a superb Health and Leisure Club, complete with 15 metre indoor pool. Ease away stresses and strains in the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, or for the ultimate in relaxation, enjoy a full body massage in the health and beauty centre. However you choose to unwind, De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall will leave you feeling revived and refreshed.
Picture of De Vere Hotel Dunston Hall, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 156 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A memorable stay at De Vere Dunstan Norwich
Driving down the magnificent driveway leading to the hotel was like visiting a stately home. A warm and sincere welcome from Ian on the desk. The room we had booked was not available but we were upgraded to a 4 poster suite - excellent. A lad took our luggage to the room (now that is 5 star treatment). Another member of staff took our evening meal requirements. The room was superb - almost as big as the whole of our own ground floor at home. Superb views over the golf course and park. The room was comfortably furnished, the bed excellent with fine bedding. The Jacuzzi however did not work and it was not until day 2 that we discovered instructions for this in a drawer pointing out the need to locate and switch on an isolation switch beside the bed. These could have been on display, or on a sign in the bathroom itself. However this is a minor point and did not spoil an excellent weekend. The dining room was busy but the waitresses in particular were personable and efficient and appeared to have been well trained. I say appeared to be because two denied that they had received extensive training. This probably means that De Vere has a very good selection process! The hotel is conveniently located about a mile from a park and drive facility which runs into Norwich city in about 12 minutes. All in all a memorable stay and we would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Jim McDermott

From Coalville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel Food terrible
The ala carte menu was not enough choices. The carvery was no better than if I had gone to a pub and paid £6.99 for it. Everything looks nice in the dishes but was tasteless. The majority of deserts were bought in and not made. I also object to having the same menu as a coach trip. The breakfasts were dreadful. To me a hotel of this quality should be having waitress service for breakfast ordering off a menu. Again the same breakfast as the coach trip.

Reviewed by
C Robinson

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very enjoyable stay
we have stayed here several times and it is always very nice. The staff are always very polite, bedrooms and hotel are very nice as is breakfast. We live coming to this hotel and will be back again soon!

Reviewed by
Greg W

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Price difference
Visited all 3 bars in the hotel and had the same drinks Vodka and Dash of coke and 1Pt of real ale price varied from £7.65p to £9.85p for the same drink depending no bar person and time of day ????

Reviewed by
P Dove

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check-In
Check-in was easy and straightforward, however when we got to our room on the 2nd floor the electronic key would not open the door. It took 3 visits to reception before someone was dispatched to reset the door lock. Not the sort of thing you need after a long journey.
Having said the above, the rest of the stay was excellent and the carvery is highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian Carey

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom needs upgrading, otherwise was fine

Reviewed by
SARA L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room was ok facilaties good service ok.
Room was dated and not 4star,bathroom extractor fan not working hence damp patch on ceiling. Still not working after reporting it.Service good food good overall over priced for what you get.Spa, pool, golf course fine.

Reviewed by
Sharon Palmer

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay
We had a totally enjoyable time, the hotel was great. The staff were all friendly, cheerful and helpful.
We only wish it could have been a longer stay. Our room was amazing with its four poster bed. We will definatly be going back again. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
christine norris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel nice surroundings
After checking into hotel at half 3 me and my partner was having casual sexual involvements when suddenly one of the staff entered room asking if we would like an aircon unit. as you can guess was quite a funny situation but would definitely take advantage of the do not disturb sign. apart from that, all good

Reviewed by
Mark K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay
Room was lovely, shame about the dust inch thick on bed posts and headboard. Pillows were so hard we both slept with out.
Towels smelled funny not nice. Part from that it was lovely.
We are both colicas wheat dairy free we did struggle with food a bit
Although are waitress was very nice and we were impressed with how
She tried to assist with our food requirements. Would of Been
Nice to have a desert not just fruit. Spa needs up
Dating walls in swimming area are dreadful lets
It down shame.

Reviewed by
Collette Bezant

From Dereham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next