No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Pincents Manor

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Pincent Manor, Pincents Lane Calcot, Reading, RG31 4UQ
Set in two acres of tranquil grounds, Pincents Manor is ideally located in the South of England for all your business conference, wedding and event requirements. Pincents Manor combines the impressive features of the original grade two Manor House, along with the a brand new state of the art conference centre and wedding location.

There are 15 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, offering five different styles of accomodation,
decorated to reflect the traditional style of this Manor House.

Pincents Manor in Calcot near Reading is ideally located just 5 minutes away from Junction 12 of the M4. Close to all major routes, there is ample car parking which is free of charge for all events.

The Manor House contains 5 individually decorated bedrooms. We have 8 rooms located in a separate building behind the hotel which have views out over the countryside. There are also 3 rooms which form part of the main Manor House but which have external access.
Picture of Pincents Manor, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Great position near to J12 of the M4. Private grounds but M4 noise apparent but not intrusive inside the hotel. Good check-in with helpful staff (Samantha) who actually took us to our room. How wonderfully old-fashioned. Room somewhat small and dated and we would not want to be in it during the winter. Hottest hotel breakfast we've ever had. Good value.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hit the spot
Excellent customer services again.

Reviewed by
l healey

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good deal for a late booking
Last minute decision to book a room worked out fine.
Room clean but little dated but man on reception very helpful

Reviewed by
l healey

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant
Hotel is set in some nice grounds, just off the motorway which is a shame as on a nice spring evening the noise from that motorway spoils the location a little. I stayed in one of the converted rooms and was pleasantly surprised how nice it was. The room was sizable and clean with a small tv, coffee, tea and an en-suite.
Location: Just off the motorway it gives good access for travelers but there's nothing local as far as restaurants or amenities although bar prices weren't over the top saying you're confined to their service unless you're willing to travel into Reading.
Food: Limited serving times 7-9pm and a lunch menu but it's not something i'd rave about. Reasonably well cooked but I wouldn't recommend the lamb shank.
Overall experience: I'd certainly stay again on a short business break or if I were visiting someone in the area, staff are friendly and efficient with a welcoming manor.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Rod S

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Needed a last minute stay and found this on laterooms. very nice venue, extremely helpful staff and good room. definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
John G

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky and with character

The team at Pincents Manor were friendly from the outset. Helped me carry my (many bags in). Upgraded my room, without me asking or commenting.
A lovely stay in a fascinating building

Reviewed by
N Wood

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

David B Gloucester
Pleasant and Comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed by
David B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pincents Manor
Arrived to a cold room. No drama as heater was quick to warm room. I have never been in a hotel and seen anything like what I found in the bathroom waste bin. I called and asked for it to be removed and it promptly was with a sorry from the young man after he cleaned the bin. I won't say what it was but needless to say I was taken aback! I had lamb for supper, Price was good but I would have paid more for better quality food. The veg was frozen re heated so had a water taste and the meat was re heated also. Not the worst meal I've ever tasted but pretty close! The wine was cheap though so took a bottle back to my room and watched football. I paid for my meal at the table but it was charged to my card again the following day! Prompt in refunding but it should never have been taken twice.The manager was very polite and helpful but didn't seem to think a follow up call to me was needed regarding the bathroom issue. I would have handled it more personally but each to their own I suppose. I stay in a hotel once or twice a week all over the country and would and have gone back to many of them. I wont be using this one ever again!

Reviewed by
D Southall

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Bag
Excellent, friendly staff. Good food. Character property, but bedrooms badly need upgrading. If you;re on a limited budget, it is value for money.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.