No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ascot House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
80 East Parade, , , York, YO31 7YH
Ascot House stands next to public gardens with tennis courts and two fine bowling greens. There is a nearby pub offering good food, and also within walking distance are an excellent range of restaurants we can personally recommend to suit all palates and pockets, as well as theatres and wine bars. York has so much to offer with its narrow streets and medieval churches, award winning attractions with the Castle museum, Viking museum and National Railway museum and of course, the Minster are all close by. There are a variety of different events happening all year round. Should you wish to see a little more of Yorkshire, the Dales to the west, the Moors to the north or our beautiful Yorkshire coast are each an hour's drive away. York is also famous for our Racecourse with race meetings throughout the warmer months of May through to October. The world renowned Ebor meeting is the most popular, if you are wishing to stay during any of the race meetings you will have to book well in advance. At Ascot house we have twelve bedrooms, all with central heating, freeview television, complementary tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryers, radio alarms and free internet access by cable or wireless connection. Our private enclosed car park allows you to forget the problem of parking and really relax.
Picture of Ascot House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality guest house
On arrival the owner was very helpful and informative. We were allocated a very pleasant attic room with a nice view of the Minster in the distance and a spacious bathroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was a good choice of food for breakfast and everything was well cooked and served by friendly, efficient staff. There is a 15 minute walk into the city centre but a bus stop is only several yards away if you do not wish to walk.

Reviewed by
Teresa W

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend in York with friends
Ascot House offered everything we wanted. The host and staff were lovely. We had a room at the top of the house, it was lovely and clean and nicely decorated with some period furniture. It is a 15min walk to the centre, or you can get a bus from outside the B&B. The breakfast was delicious and very filling. A big plus is the car park spaces at the back of the house. We would recommend Ascot house to our friends and will stay again when we visit York. We all enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Craig H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous, in every respect
Everything surpassed our expectations. The hospitality was excellent without being intrusive, the quality of the accommodation was superb, and the breakfasts were magnificent. It's only a 15-minute stroll to the Minster, and we'll definitely be back when we next visit York.

Reviewed by
Peter MacIntosh

From Pitlochry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
I wanted to express sincere thanks to all those at Ascot House. I cannot fault either the Hotel standard of those who work there. It's a first rate weekend venue, very clean, very comfortable and welcoming.
We will return.
Me & Mrs Whittingham

Reviewed by
Andy Whittingham

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location.
My wife and I stayed here for one Sunday night for part of my wife's birthday celebration. Staff were friendly and Keith in particular was very knowledgeable about York and the city's attractions. We had a superior room on the 1st floor, which was well decorated with what looked to be a brand new bathroom, which was finished to a high standard. York is a 15 minute walk away, or £4-5 in a taxi. Car parking around the back with room for around Eight cars, was also a plus point. We both really enjoyed our stay here and the next time we are in the area we shall definitely return to the Ascot.
All in all a great hotel in a very good location with great hosts. Very good value for money when you factor in the cost free parking and the excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
sean foster

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top quality guest house
Lovely hotel with carpark within short walk of centre of York. Friendly and helpful reception. Rooms top quality and breakfast excellent. Couldn't ask for more.

Reviewed by
Matthew Hall

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
I stayed here for 1 night whilst on business and having read all the other reviews of the Ascot I was looking forward to staying there. The hotel more than lived up to the reviews I had read and the owners were very attentative. I didn't have any time to actually see York so I am planning to return for a weekend and I will be staying at the Ascot Hotel

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Lowestoft, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really friendly family run hotel
Really excellent hotel and service and a super breakfast. A reasonable priced bar was an added bonus.

Reviewed by
Toby C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Year's Eve break
Lovely place to stay. Room no 11 was ready early for us to go in at 12. Clean everywhere. Bathroom very nice. Bed firm but good. Enjoyed the whole 2night stay. Breakfast excellent with lots of choice. Only 15 minutes to walk into York.

Reviewed by
A Valentine

From Wrexham , UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab last minute find
We had arrived in York a bit worried we wouldn't find accommodation. Ascot house looked lovely if a bit further from town centre but we were really pleasantly surprised. The house is beautiful inside and decorated tastefully. Our room was really pleasant with great quality shower room. This is more like a hotel. The ten minute walk to town was ideal to walk off the fabulous meal we had at the recommended Italian restaurant . We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
A Rudd

From Chichester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next