No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel View Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB
We're proud to welcome everyone to our newly furbished bar & restaurant including our new carvery as well as our popular hotel offering a range of accommodation within 10 minutes of Newcastle city centre.

We're just off the A1 opposite the Angel of the North so come and visit us and sample our great hospitality or take part in one of our exciting special events, be tempted by the lounge bar and carvery, offering the perfect place to pop in for a well-earned drink, enjoy a delicious meal or celebrate an occasion in style.

Continental and Cooked breakfast available as an optional extra, served 07:00am - 09:00am midweek and 08:00am- 09:30am weekends. Food is served daily from 12pm, with fresh roasts and specials available from the carvery and some great, home cooked dishes available from our new A La Carte Menu. The bar is well stocked with a good range of wines, beer, lager, real ales and spirits. With our philosophy of offering a great food and service at great value, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and food to inspire.

The Inn contains a mixture of standard double and twin rooms located in the main building, and larger superior rooms in the seperate stable block and some in the main building which boast fantastic views of the Angel of North. Our room rates include free car parking, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, television, trouser press, direct dial telephone & complimentary WIFI access.

We have a 24 hour reception available to serve your every need. Check in is available anytime from 2pm during weekdays and anytime after 3pm on weekends.
Picture of Angel View Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bad experience
booked a superior room and was assured it would be nice. Turned out to be in what can only be described as the basement with views of the back yard and an emergency exit door into it. The non-smoking room smelt of cigarettes and was also damp and dark. Food in the restaurant was only average and over priced. Will not return there.

Reviewed by
Sabine Holmes

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Been using the hotel for many years, not been for a while. Definetly declined!!

Reviewed by
H Allen

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth it for location
Can't complain about anything although breakfast as an additional cost is unusual these days. Room was very clean and staff were friendly and efficient.

Reviewed by
MARGARET O

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absoutely Fabulous!
Beautiful location with stunning views of the Angel of the North. Lovely to say hello to the horses in the field next door! Also close to Metro Centre and Newcastle city centre. Staff were so friendly and chatty, and extremely helpful. Lovely room, very clean comfortable and stylish. Incredible value for money! It made our weekend extra special to stay in such a nice hotel, will definitely be staying there again on our next visit!

Reviewed by
N Marchesi

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay, if we are in the area again, will be happy to stay again

Reviewed by
L Goodall

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would Highly Recommend
Excellent service, nothing too much trouble. Evening meal superb. However,decided to cancel breakfast as at £8.50 ea realised this was a liitle too expensive. We could almost touch the 'Angel of the North' from the car park area, therefore an excellent location. We would definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Cleveland-Johnson

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Having stayed here before and had a good experience I was very disappointed this time. The room was small and located beside public toilets and the main reception entrance therefore, an alarm was not necessary due to the banging doors and the noise from above. The hotel was far from full and I failed to why it was necessary to put a guest in a room such as this. On the plus side the service and breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Tony L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast not as stated
The room was fine although the vent from the kitchen was immediately outside our window, which meant it was quite smelly and noisy. Evening meal was good - quick service and hot food. However the breakfast menu leaves a lot to be desired. Advertising "continental" at one price and " continental +cooked English" at another, only to be told that half the things on the continental menu were not available on the joint menu. Very disappointing not to have fresh fruit salad and pastries alongside cooked option. Even the waitress admitted it was poorly written and had to constantly explain: ot a good start to any day!

Reviewed by
Kaye P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel view inn
beautiful place to stay, very clean, staff polite and efficient. Decent good quality pub food.

Reviewed by
R MACGOURLAY

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Staff all very friendly and helpfull there are only 2 minor points the wifi codes in the room do not work you need to use angel wifi to access but that is aBT problem not hotel but they should point that out also toilet bowl was a bit loose but otherwise would recommend this hotel , the layout is very good as they have tried to keep it in style of old farm what it used to be also The angel of the northstatue is just across the road and you can see it quite clearly from hotel so very pleased with hoteland will consuder staying there again if ever down that way again

Reviewed by
J Warnock

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next