No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel View Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB
We're proud to welcome everyone to our newly furbished bar & restaurant including our new carvery as well as our popular hotel offering a range of accommodation within 10 minutes of Newcastle city centre.

We're just off the A1 opposite the Angel of the North so come and visit us and sample our great hospitality or take part in one of our exciting special events, be tempted by the lounge bar and carvery, offering the perfect place to pop in for a well-earned drink, enjoy a delicious meal or celebrate an occasion in style.

Continental and Cooked breakfast available as an optional extra, served 07:00am - 09:00am midweek and 08:00am- 09:30am weekends. Food is served daily from 12pm, with fresh roasts and specials available from the carvery and some great, home cooked dishes available from our new A La Carte Menu. The bar is well stocked with a good range of wines, beer, lager, real ales and spirits. With our philosophy of offering a great food and service at great value, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and food to inspire.

The Inn contains a mixture of standard double and twin rooms located in the main building, and larger superior rooms in the seperate stable block and some in the main building which boast fantastic views of the Angel of North. Our room rates include free car parking, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, television, trouser press, direct dial telephone & complimentary WIFI access.

We have a 24 hour reception available to serve your every need. Check in is available anytime from 2pm during weekdays and anytime after 3pm on weekends.
Picture of Angel View Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
Staff all very friendly and helpfull there are only 2 minor points the wifi codes in the room do not work you need to use angel wifi to access but that is aBT problem not hotel but they should point that out also toilet bowl was a bit loose but otherwise would recommend this hotel , the layout is very good as they have tried to keep it in style of old farm what it used to be also The angel of the northstatue is just across the road and you can see it quite clearly from hotel so very pleased with hoteland will consuder staying there again if ever down that way again

Reviewed by
J Warnock

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor standards
First time we stayed ther it was a nice big room the time was a smal room with a broken toilet seat

Reviewed by
Scott R

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On checking in I asked if room service would be available as I had travelled a long way. I was informed by the receptionist that if the restaurant was busy then room service was not available? The room was cleaned although very dated and all the floors are very creaky with wafer thin walls. Not the place to stay if you need a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Barry H

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stay
We were delighted with our room and the staff were very friendly food very good but the place was like a ghost town we were the only ones who seemed to be at any meals we had even the staff said it was very quiet !it is very well situated just off the A1 , we could maybe consider suggesting it to other travelling south

Reviewed by
William S

From Bonnyrigg, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I liked it
In the Stable block I had a good sized, well fitted room & en suite. Minor irritations: needed a light over the desk, Good powerful shower, but wouldn't stay in the wall bracket. The only real problem was the very poor WiFi signal = no internet connection. Problem was know, but no real urgency to resaolve.

Reviewed by
John N

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northern Nightmare!
Parking fine. Entering the hotel less so. Nobody offered to help with luggage and there were lots of stairs to the room. Room exceedingly small. Bed a small double. The creaking floorboards were horrendous. The sound proofing between rooms non-existent and embarrassing. The gentleman in the next room coughed half the night and walked about on the creaking floors a great deal. People walking up the stairs and banging the noisy fire-door just outside our room seemed as though they were in our room with us. Frankly this was one of the worst places we have ever had the misfortune to encounter. When we were asked about our stay by the receptionist and we voiced our unhappiness with the stay, pointing out the defects with the hotel and she was not surprised volunteering that there had been complaints about these faults in the past.

Reviewed by
A Jackson

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We really enjoyed our stay food was really nice staff was really nice price was nice ??

Reviewed by
N Wilson

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money but...
We really can't complain as what we got for the price was good.
The room was a little warm as were some of the corridor areas walked through to get to it.
With the window open there was some road noise, although this didn't stop us sleeping.
The main negative for us was the hardness of the bed. It felt like a padded plank and encouraged and early shower.

Reviewed by
J Lowes

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An angel of a place to stay!
Great little hotel, friendly, efficient staff. Room was comfortable, clean and well presented. Our only complaint was related to the bathroom. The toilet wasn't secure and rocked when sat on!

Reviewed by
P Stevens

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pleasant stay
Really enjoyed our stay at the angel view, staff very polite and could not do enough for you. Check in quick and easy. Had meal when we got there was a little disappointed when the gammon was sold out on the 2 course menu, I asked if it could be exchanged for the steak pie at the same price, to be told no.. but never mind the sausage and mash was still nice.

Reviewed by
s lazenby

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next