No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel View Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB
We're proud to welcome everyone to our newly furbished bar & restaurant including our new carvery as well as our popular hotel offering a range of accommodation within 10 minutes of Newcastle city centre.

We're just off the A1 opposite the Angel of the North so come and visit us and sample our great hospitality or take part in one of our exciting special events, be tempted by the lounge bar and carvery, offering the perfect place to pop in for a well-earned drink, enjoy a delicious meal or celebrate an occasion in style.

Continental and Cooked breakfast available as an optional extra, served 07:00am - 09:00am midweek and 08:00am- 09:30am weekends. Food is served daily from 12pm, with fresh roasts and specials available from the carvery and some great, home cooked dishes available from our new A La Carte Menu. The bar is well stocked with a good range of wines, beer, lager, real ales and spirits. With our philosophy of offering a great food and service at great value, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and food to inspire.

The Inn contains a mixture of standard double and twin rooms located in the main building, and larger superior rooms in the seperate stable block and some in the main building which boast fantastic views of the Angel of North. Our room rates include free car parking, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, television, trouser press, direct dial telephone & complimentary WIFI access.

We have a 24 hour reception available to serve your every need. Check in is available anytime from 2pm during weekdays and anytime after 3pm on weekends.
Picture of Angel View Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Have stayed here several times and am always pleased with everything

Reviewed by
Matt B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 3rd stay at the Angel View
We have stayed at the Angel View Inn on 3 occasions and have always been very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The hotel is professionally run, very clean and the staff and both friendly and efficient. The food is of high quality. We now always use this hotel as a stopping off point on our trips to Scotland.

Reviewed by
Peter Burt

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A couple of minor problems, but otherwise a pleasant stay
I would have given customer service full marks as the majority of staff are very friendly, but they were let down by one foreign waiter, who was very intimidating. Unusually, the room was far too hot and we were unable to adjust the radiators, but when I mentioned this to the receptionist on leaving, she promised to send someone to check. I have never before posted any adverse comments. These were minor problems and I would consider staying again at this pleasant hotel. For anyone wanting to photograph the Angel of the North, the hotel is in an ideal location as it is a very short walk to the site.

Reviewed by
hilary k

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My constructive criticism
Hi,
The receptionist was nice but she didn't mention that if I want to go out and come back late I need to buzz on a certain door bell. At 3am I came back to the hotel and noticed all the doors were locked. Luckily I had the hotel number with me and I called and one gentleman let me in. The room was in a very good condition, however the sink was blocked and it couldn't be opened. The side lamp was off so I couldn't use it. The hairdryer wasn't working probably the fuse was off. Obviously the staff don't check the equipments if they are functioning or not. At the end I asked the receptionist if I can get a feedback form and she told me to use the online one. The girl who was serving the breakfast was very efficient and quick. Over all I had a pleasant stay but there are lots of rooms for improvements. Still it was a good value. Thanks

Reviewed by
A Rad

From Stanmore, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a little cold and bed some what lumpy. Food was generally good but the chips were stodgy.
Doors in corridors often bang and when other guests are walking by the room the noise is extremely loud

Reviewed by
D Maxwell

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food nice accommodation friendly staff
Stayed at this hotel a few times before, food very good staff friendly and helpful. Stayed in room 3 which is at the top of the stairs leading to a corridor of rooms. It was unbelievably hot slept with the window open all night and also very noisy with people opening and closing the door that led to the corridor . Not the best couple of night I have had here that said the food is always good and the staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
G Brown

From Heysham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Angels are on the Staff!
Great little hotel - calling it an Inn doesn't really do it justice because people's expectations of an Inn are usually lower. As usual, it is the staff that make the difference between potential and achieving excellence and the Angels here (whether with skirts or trousers on - let's be fair!) really struck a nice balance between professionalism and making you feel welcome and looked after.
I hope to be doing some business in this part of the country and will certainly aim to come back to the Angel View if this comes off - you can stick chain hotels in places which would make the Angel blush as long as there are good independent places with character like this giving much better value!

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Angel View experience
Very friendly place with excellent staff at Dinner, Breakfast and at Reception.
Nice food and very relaxing but near the motorway for comuting the next day.
One improvement would be leaving a menu in the rooms but would recommend

Reviewed by
R Marr

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff are very helpful, rooms of a high standard and the blonde receptionist is stunning :)

Reviewed by
RICHARD B

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As 2012 was our first year together, we wanted somewhere to see through to 2013. Very dissapointing, the entertainment was canceled, when asked why wasn't we notified, we was told the head of the entertainment canceled 2 days prior to us arriving??? The room we stayed in was ok, only a couple of issues no hairdryer, no iron nor was there any wireless connection which clearly said was available in the room, but wasn't. When this was brought up at the reception it just got brushed to one side, which reminds me about the inexperienced receptionist, when we asked her for any recommendations for a drink elsewhere it was like I asked for blood. Best thing I would say was leaving the following day.

Reviewed by
J Hirst

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next