No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel View Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB
We're proud to welcome everyone to our newly furbished bar & restaurant including our new carvery as well as our popular hotel offering a range of accommodation within 10 minutes of Newcastle city centre.

We're just off the A1 opposite the Angel of the North so come and visit us and sample our great hospitality or take part in one of our exciting special events, be tempted by the lounge bar and carvery, offering the perfect place to pop in for a well-earned drink, enjoy a delicious meal or celebrate an occasion in style.

Continental and Cooked breakfast available as an optional extra, served 07:00am - 09:00am midweek and 08:00am- 09:30am weekends. Food is served daily from 12pm, with fresh roasts and specials available from the carvery and some great, home cooked dishes available from our new A La Carte Menu. The bar is well stocked with a good range of wines, beer, lager, real ales and spirits. With our philosophy of offering a great food and service at great value, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and food to inspire.

The Inn contains a mixture of standard double and twin rooms located in the main building, and larger superior rooms in the seperate stable block and some in the main building which boast fantastic views of the Angel of North. Our room rates include free car parking, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, television, trouser press, direct dial telephone & complimentary WIFI access.

We have a 24 hour reception available to serve your every need. Check in is available anytime from 2pm during weekdays and anytime after 3pm on weekends.
Picture of Angel View Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel all round, only problem was the room was quite cold on arrival with no heating on, but within 10 mins of mentioning this to reception a heater was delivered.

Reviewed by
David H

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a budget stop over.
Ideal accomodation for an stop over. Nice restaurant, staff very helpful. In the morning we missed breakfast, but the staff rallied round and made sure we had something before we left.

Reviewed by
Stuart C

From Dunblane, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for Angel of the North
Pleasant stay, ideally suited for visiting the Angel of the North. Good sized rooms with well cooked food available.

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super staff but not convinced......
I booked a Superior Angel View room (Wife's birthday treat) but were allocated one with a small window facing nothing. They moved us to a better one after we complained. It was comfortable, clean, but only had one small window so the light had to stay on most of the day. We had our evening meal in the hotel, very clean with nice atmosphere. My wife had fish with salad and 'country style' chips and she said that was excellent. I had the 'healthy' option of pan fried chicken in a garlic sauce. It looked more like micro waved to me but I'm no expert. It was in a pool of oily sauce which I had to tip into another dish. My salad was fresh, but again far too much oil for me. Perhaps a poor choice by me but not appetising. We had breakfast before we left, but again the eggs and mushrooms were covered by a film of oil. Service was very slow as I don't think there were enough staff to cope. On the plus side it was good value for money, the wines and beer choice excellent and the available staff really friendly. I would probably stay there again as it is good value for money but I would have to think carefully about my menu choice!

Reviewed by
Frank B

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
A one night stop over.. Room was glean although shower was a bit grubby especially shower head.. Said on late rooms would be a double bed but had two signals.. Staff very friendly and food excellent

Reviewed by
Roy H

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
Loved this hotel, the rooms were clean and carefully thought out. The location is perfect and the food was excellent. I would highly recommend it :)

Reviewed by
F Brown

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a window in the bathroom which opened, had fans but would have liked fresh air. No folder showing local infor4mation or. hotel facilities available in room, also had to ask for remote for television, surely this should have been checked when room was serviced

Reviewed by
C Mclean

From Scotland
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Have stayed here several times and am always pleased with everything

Reviewed by
Matt B

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our 3rd stay at the Angel View
We have stayed at the Angel View Inn on 3 occasions and have always been very pleased with all aspects of our stay. The hotel is professionally run, very clean and the staff and both friendly and efficient. The food is of high quality. We now always use this hotel as a stopping off point on our trips to Scotland.

Reviewed by
Peter Burt

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A couple of minor problems, but otherwise a pleasant stay
I would have given customer service full marks as the majority of staff are very friendly, but they were let down by one foreign waiter, who was very intimidating. Unusually, the room was far too hot and we were unable to adjust the radiators, but when I mentioned this to the receptionist on leaving, she promised to send someone to check. I have never before posted any adverse comments. These were minor problems and I would consider staying again at this pleasant hotel. For anyone wanting to photograph the Angel of the North, the hotel is in an ideal location as it is a very short walk to the site.

Reviewed by
hilary k

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next