No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel View Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB
We're proud to welcome everyone to our newly furbished bar & restaurant including our new carvery as well as our popular hotel offering a range of accommodation within 10 minutes of Newcastle city centre.

We're just off the A1 opposite the Angel of the North so come and visit us and sample our great hospitality or take part in one of our exciting special events, be tempted by the lounge bar and carvery, offering the perfect place to pop in for a well-earned drink, enjoy a delicious meal or celebrate an occasion in style.

Continental and Cooked breakfast available as an optional extra, served 07:00am - 09:00am midweek and 08:00am- 09:30am weekends. Food is served daily from 12pm, with fresh roasts and specials available from the carvery and some great, home cooked dishes available from our new A La Carte Menu. The bar is well stocked with a good range of wines, beer, lager, real ales and spirits. With our philosophy of offering a great food and service at great value, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and food to inspire.

The Inn contains a mixture of standard double and twin rooms located in the main building, and larger superior rooms in the seperate stable block and some in the main building which boast fantastic views of the Angel of North. Our room rates include free car parking, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, television, trouser press, direct dial telephone & complimentary WIFI access.

We have a 24 hour reception available to serve your every need. Check in is available anytime from 2pm during weekdays and anytime after 3pm on weekends.
Picture of Angel View Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smokey stay
The room was Smokey and a wedding was taking place. We went down for dinner despite being assured we would be served 30 minutes later still no service you need more staff

Reviewed by
jack p

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fabulous as usual !

Reviewed by
trevor w

From Llandrindod Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best £50 Hotel for a year
I stay away on business every two weeks in the north and seek out the £50 deals, this I must say was the most enjoyable and value visit by a mile. Comfy clean room, fast WIFT, Hot water with pressure, excellent restaurant with good service, all the staff friendly and efficient.
will come back soon

Reviewed by
d cullen

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

angel view
The staff were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was to a very high standard.

Reviewed by
John Thurman

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff
Had some problems with room on first night and staff were very happy to switch us to another room for second night

Reviewed by
Graham H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel all round, only problem was the room was quite cold on arrival with no heating on, but within 10 mins of mentioning this to reception a heater was delivered.

Reviewed by
David H

From Barry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a budget stop over.
Ideal accomodation for an stop over. Nice restaurant, staff very helpful. In the morning we missed breakfast, but the staff rallied round and made sure we had something before we left.

Reviewed by
Stuart C

From Dunblane, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location for Angel of the North
Pleasant stay, ideally suited for visiting the Angel of the North. Good sized rooms with well cooked food available.

Reviewed by
D Williams

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super staff but not convinced......
I booked a Superior Angel View room (Wife's birthday treat) but were allocated one with a small window facing nothing. They moved us to a better one after we complained. It was comfortable, clean, but only had one small window so the light had to stay on most of the day. We had our evening meal in the hotel, very clean with nice atmosphere. My wife had fish with salad and 'country style' chips and she said that was excellent. I had the 'healthy' option of pan fried chicken in a garlic sauce. It looked more like micro waved to me but I'm no expert. It was in a pool of oily sauce which I had to tip into another dish. My salad was fresh, but again far too much oil for me. Perhaps a poor choice by me but not appetising. We had breakfast before we left, but again the eggs and mushrooms were covered by a film of oil. Service was very slow as I don't think there were enough staff to cope. On the plus side it was good value for money, the wines and beer choice excellent and the available staff really friendly. I would probably stay there again as it is good value for money but I would have to think carefully about my menu choice!

Reviewed by
Frank B

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
A one night stop over.. Room was glean although shower was a bit grubby especially shower head.. Said on late rooms would be a double bed but had two signals.. Staff very friendly and food excellent

Reviewed by
Roy H

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next