Angel View Hotel

3

The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (56)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • m thompson

  • February 2014

quality hotel

An amazing little escape from the main stream of the a1.

Cant hear any traffic and the comfy bed set you away for a good nights sleep. Staff attended to any question you may have and cant do enough for you.

  • J Farley

  • February 2014

A beautiful hotel with one or two issues

Wanting to visit the Angel of the North, we booked a room here at the last minute, at what appeared to be a huge reduction on the usual price.

Given the price we paid, it was good value on the whole, but the one major issue was the poorly thought-out configuration of the rooms in the Stable Block, which is where our room was. We got very little sleep, due to the poor soundproofing between the upper and lower floors, and because of the position of the bathrooms sandwiched in between the bedrooms - we were aware of every activity of the people in the room below, and every time our immediate neighbours used their bathroom, we could hear everything, as there appeared to be only a partition wall separating our bedroom from their bathroom.

On the plus side, the hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and our breakfast was superb. We were less pleased however with our evening meal; my husband chose the roast of the day, which was very good, with generous portions. I chose the salmon fillet, which was served on a small mound of mini ratatouille. The salmon fillet, though well prepared and delicious, was one of the smallest I have ever seen, and even with the potatoes for which we had to pay extra, I was left feeling hungry.

Would we stay again. Probably, although only for one night as we value our sleep, and only if we could get a room for the same price again.

  • trevor w

  • February 2014

fabulous as usual !

  • Dean W

  • February 2014

Excellent all round

The room was lovely, food was great and the staff very helpful and obliging, particularly at breakfast.

For £62.50 can't be beaten for value for money. Ideally situated for us as we often travel this was on the way to Scotland so we will definitely be back.

  • Michele Webb

  • November 2013

The Hotel is clean and warm where it lets it self down is I with some employees customer service skills We arrived late and were greeted by the friendly receptionist but when we went into the bar we had to wait to be served.

This is ok if the staff acknowledge you are there but they did not and just carried on tidying up and doing things other than serving customers. I have to say the breakfast were good food but some of our party got cold food and on the first day ate it but on the second day sent it back

Some of the staff need to take into account we are paying customers not an inconvenience!

  • shelley s

  • November 2013

Cheap and Cheerful

Very pleased, we stayed here as a group of 3 couples for a weekend away, lovely rooms, shower nice and hot although could do with being a bit more powerful, and the only disappointing thing was that breakfast finished at 9.30am!!!.

Could do with being 10am or 10.30am during the weekend.

  • J Laidler

  • November 2013

This hotel was excellent value for money, the staff were fantastic, nothing too much trouble and the food was very good.

The only let-down was the cleanliness of the room, I had to mention to reception that the badside table top was a sticky mess. I also found the previouse occupants dirty underwear under the bed, it had been there for two days. The item was removed by the evening duty manager but not something that should have been overlooked as this meant nobody had cleaned under the bed since the last occupant.

  • LINDA h

  • October 2013

Short Break

First let me start by saying that the food was very good and the staff were very helpful.

However, the room was very basic, no frills at all. The heating was full on, the room was far to hot, I tried altering the radiators and couldn't see how to do it as there was too much paint on them, when I finally sorted it they took ages to cool down. The toilet brush holder was discusting, it was rusty, no way would I have touched it.

  • Mark g

  • October 2013

The accomodation was very good, with excellent service and food.

If I had to pick something to comment on I'd say the shower wasnt powerful enough and lots of creaking floorboards. This would not deter me from staying here again.

  • Denis Crompton

  • October 2013

Consistently good standard and value for money

I have made this hotel my first choice when i stay in the north east.

Good value for money especially so when I can get a deal. Comfortable clean rooms though on the small side if there are two of you. Conveniently situated close to the A1. The food is still very good and reasonably priced though not a very expansive menu.