No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Angel View Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Angel View Inn Low Eighton, Gateshead, NE9 7UB
We're proud to welcome everyone to our newly furbished bar & restaurant including our new carvery as well as our popular hotel offering a range of accommodation within 10 minutes of Newcastle city centre.

We're just off the A1 opposite the Angel of the North so come and visit us and sample our great hospitality or take part in one of our exciting special events, be tempted by the lounge bar and carvery, offering the perfect place to pop in for a well-earned drink, enjoy a delicious meal or celebrate an occasion in style.

Continental and Cooked breakfast available as an optional extra, served 07:00am - 09:00am midweek and 08:00am- 09:30am weekends. Food is served daily from 12pm, with fresh roasts and specials available from the carvery and some great, home cooked dishes available from our new A La Carte Menu. The bar is well stocked with a good range of wines, beer, lager, real ales and spirits. With our philosophy of offering a great food and service at great value, you are guaranteed a warm welcome and food to inspire.

The Inn contains a mixture of standard double and twin rooms located in the main building, and larger superior rooms in the seperate stable block and some in the main building which boast fantastic views of the Angel of North. Our room rates include free car parking, en-suite bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, television, trouser press, direct dial telephone & complimentary WIFI access.

We have a 24 hour reception available to serve your every need. Check in is available anytime from 2pm during weekdays and anytime after 3pm on weekends.
Picture of Angel View Hotel, Gateshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice budget hotel, nice breakfast

Reviewed by
S Knowles

From Scotland
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great except for the hot water
The room was nice and the staff very friendly BUT there was not hot water. I raised this on the Saturday night but it was still not fixed the next morning and satisfactory explanation given. My bill was reduced but I would have preferred a hot shower.

Reviewed by
Tony H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation good, and clean, restaurant appearance needs updating, and menu very basic lack of choice, I stayed 2 x nights I would not know what to eat on the 3rd !!!, quality of food OK, a friend recommended as he used to stay years ago, when I saw a special offer thought worth a try, I would only used again if I could not get a room in other selected Hotels

Reviewed by
C Luchford

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality hotel
An amazing little escape from the main stream of the a1. Cant hear any traffic and the comfy bed set you away for a good nights sleep. Staff attended to any question you may have and cant do enough for you.

Reviewed by
m thompson

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
The room was lovely, food was great and the staff very helpful and obliging, particularly at breakfast. For £62.50 can't be beaten for value for money. Ideally situated for us as we often travel this was on the way to Scotland so we will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Dean W

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful hotel with one or two issues
Wanting to visit the Angel of the North, we booked a room here at the last minute, at what appeared to be a huge reduction on the usual price. Given the price we paid, it was good value on the whole, but the one major issue was the poorly thought-out configuration of the rooms in the Stable Block, which is where our room was. We got very little sleep, due to the poor soundproofing between the upper and lower floors, and because of the position of the bathrooms sandwiched in between the bedrooms - we were aware of every activity of the people in the room below, and every time our immediate neighbours used their bathroom, we could hear everything, as there appeared to be only a partition wall separating our bedroom from their bathroom.
On the plus side, the hotel was beautiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and our breakfast was superb. We were less pleased however with our evening meal; my husband chose the roast of the day, which was very good, with generous portions. I chose the salmon fillet, which was served on a small mound of mini ratatouille. The salmon fillet, though well prepared and delicious, was one of the smallest I have ever seen, and even with the potatoes for which we had to pay extra, I was left feeling hungry.
Would we stay again? Probably, although only for one night as we value our sleep, and only if we could get a room for the same price again.

Reviewed by
J Farley

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and Cheerful
Very pleased, we stayed here as a group of 3 couples for a weekend away, lovely rooms, shower nice and hot although could do with being a bit more powerful, and the only disappointing thing was that breakfast finished at 9.30am!!!! Could do with being 10am or 10.30am during the weekend.

Reviewed by
shelley s

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is clean and warm where it lets it self down is I with some employees customer service skills
We arrived late and were greeted by the friendly receptionist but when we went into the bar we had to wait to be served. This is ok if the staff acknowledge you are there but they did not and just carried on tidying up and doing things other than serving customers.
I have to say the breakfast were good food but some of our party got cold food and on the first day ate it but on the second day sent it back
Some of the staff need to take into account we are paying customers not an inconvenience!

Reviewed by
Michele Webb

From Luton, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was excellent value for money, the staff were fantastic, nothing too much trouble and the food was very good. The only let-down was the cleanliness of the room, I had to mention to reception that the badside table top was a sticky mess. I also found the previouse occupants dirty underwear under the bed, it had been there for two days. The item was removed by the evening duty manager but not something that should have been overlooked as this meant nobody had cleaned under the bed since the last occupant.

Reviewed by
J Laidler

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
First let me start by saying that the food was very good and the staff were very helpful. However, the room was very basic, no frills at all. The heating was full on, the room was far to hot, I tried altering the radiators and couldn't see how to do it as there was too much paint on them, when I finally sorted it they took ages to cool down. The toilet brush holder was discusting, it was rusty, no way would I have touched it.

Reviewed by
LINDA h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next