No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Foxglove Vintage Inn, 36a Penistone Road, Kirkburton, Huddersfield, HD80PQ
If you’re looking to soak up the ruggedly beautiful landscapes and industrial heritage of South or West Yorkshire, this idyllic hotel in Kirkburton is one of the most charming places to stay in the Huddersfield area.

Built around 1864, The Foxglove sits on the edge of the wooded Burton Dean Valley in the conservation area of Kirkburton. As well as housing 23 comfy rooms it serves a range of lovingly kept cask-ales alongside a menu of hearty, seasonal pub food.

Surrounded by sweeping Yorkshire scenery, the lodge is an ideal base for exploring local gems such as Holmfirth (the setting for TV’s Last of the Summer Wine). You’ll also find some of the country’s most interesting museums nearby. Descend 140 metres underground at the National Coal Mining Museum, experience working-life at the Colne Valley Museum or enjoy world-class art dotted around the 500 acres of Yorkshire Sculpture Park.
Picture of Innkeeper's Lodge Huddersfield, Kirkburton, Huddersfield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming place
We loved this place, the pictures don't do it justice. Friendly staff & charming pub serving lovely food.

Reviewed by
J Firth

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, lively atmosphere, would visit again!

Reviewed by
donna b

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tidy room
Room was clean and tidy but something in the heating was making the pipes knock all night. we had room 1 which was the disabled room whcih was larger than the rest but had a wet room shower rather than a propper bathroom, which was disapointing. Breakfast was adequate but basic continental offer with unfriendly staff.

Reviewed by
Matt B

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st Disappointment
Stayed here numerous times .. Always good. This stay disappointed as shower bracket was broken so unable to use properly. When advised reception was 'told' by one member of staff how other ways I could shower!?!?! Manager then re-assured me would be moved the next day due to hotel being fully booked - from that point onwards everything was spot on!

Reviewed by
D Pawlikow

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal overnight stay for a visit to experience West Yorkshire.
Accommodation and friendly service combined with the traditional character and heritage of an old Yorkshire coaching inn.

Reviewed by
Michael Lamb

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The room was overall very nice. The net curtains were filthy, and the room had not been hovered on our arrival nor was it hovered during our 5 night stay. There was one bulb out by the writing desk but that did not bother us. The wet room was lovely and a wonderful power shower. Fresh bath towels whenever we left them on the bathroom floor, and the bed linen was nice and crisp. Overall a nice room but the owner/manager showed a lack of interest and over pushed himself with trying to run the accommodation, bar and restaurant all together. Due to this the place suffered as a whole and for that reason we would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
P Wickenden

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sweet stay at innkeepers lodge
Very welcoming and friendly staff. The room was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent . Would definitely stay here again. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Angela Brown

From Baildon shipley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We enjoyed
Nice inn in very welcoming surroundings. the Lodge had obviously had a recent overhaul and there was a strong smell of paint.
Beds were comfy, bathroom spotless with a strong power shower but no bath.
Bedroom was a little on the small size with only a high tiny window so no view.
Could do with some sound proofing as we had to listen to the couple next door getting friendly at 2.00 in the morning, they certainly seemed to be enjoying their stay.
The 'pub' itself is charming inside with a modern twist to olde world. Fake beams and prints etc.
This is a Vintage Inn and if you have eaten at one of their establishments before you will be familiar with the menu. Pleanty of fancy and arty descriptions but it's just chicken in a bag with sauce ready prepared by Brakes catering supplies. They have dropped the sirloin steaks and replaced with a rather small but tasy Ribeye at a whopping £20.
Good selection of drinks with prices that paid for the decor.
The complimentary breakfast is a small selection of cereals, toast, buns and Orange Juice but you can help yourself as many times as you wish with free service to coffee.
Best time to eat breakfast is 9.00am otherwise you might not get a table in the designated breakfast area and the other tables are reserved for those wishing to buy a cooked breakfast.
Staff are all very pleasant and helpful.
Better than a Premier Lodge and I would rate as a better than your average pub or Inn.
Ask for a down stairs room in the main lodge for the best rooms.
Dont have the mixed salad unless you like lots of soggy lettuce and soft tomatoes.
Do try the Marsdens Pedigree ale but beware its 4.5% - then again maybe after two or three the folks in the next room trying to add to the world's population might not bother you.
Enjoy

Its in a nice location and a great place to stay and eat in the summer.
We paid just over

Reviewed by
Anthony Williams

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed we were not told on arrival that painters were working.
The main entry door was left wedged open - compromised security. Saturday morning we tried to rest and the painters were outside our window just before 07.00.

Reviewed by
georgina hirst

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic breakfast but suited me fine - cereal / toast / fruit / yoghurt / tea & coffee
basic breakfast but suited me fine - cereal / toast / fruit / yoghurt / tea & coffee
Room nice & clean, bed nice & comfortable.
Overall very pleased with the hotel.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next