No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riad El Farah

EL KASBAH DERB EL OUALIDINE, Marrakech, 40000
In the heart of Marrakech, the beautiful "Red City", and in the midst of the Medina and its famous colored markets, only 10-minutes walk from the famous square Jemaa El Fnaa... The Riad El Farah welcomes you... Confort, charm, elegance, peace and quiet will be the main feelings of your stay there. Every morning, you will be faced with the same dilemma : either going on excursion to discover the beautiful surroundings of Marrakech or improving your swing on one of the most famous Moroccan green thanks to the advice of a professionnal golfer. The rooms are situated on the first floor surrounding the traditional foutain of the central patio, they have an individually and toggle air condition system as well as private shower and toilets. On demande the Riad provides delicious Maroccan meals.
Picture of Riad El Farah, Marrakech at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderfull way to stay and expereince Marakech
The Riad was more lovely than in the pictures and being met and led through the allyways was a perfect way to start our visit. Our host could not have been more welcoming and helpfull, storing our luggage when we went on a treck in the Atlas and then going above and beyond to drop us at the train station at 0600 in the morning! We particulalry loved the bathroom with its brass sink, and the wonderfull Tajine for dinner! The Riad was a haven of peace and tranquilty within the bustle to the Medina.

Reviewed by
Hannah L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely property - shame about the air conditioning / exchange rates
The owner Mohammed met us from the taxi and took us down some alleys to his Riad and was most friendly as stated in other reviews. The property is lovely and well appointed for the main sights. We stayed for 5 nights at the end of June when it was very hot. I booked this particular Riad because it had good reviews and air conditioning. We arrived early one morning and whilst unpacking I turned on the air conditioning. Mohammed heard the air conditioning on and came to our room to inform us that it was just for night use. Shortly after this he offered to take us round the local area to oriantate ourselves which was very helpful. When we returned early afternoon (needed a siesta because of the heat) the room was very hot so I had a cold shower but still found it uncomfortable without air conditioning. The following day I spoke to Mohammed and agreed to pay him 200 dirhams (nearly 20 euros) to have the air conditioning on all the time for the remaining 4 nights of our stay (it appeared to be under powered as it took over an hour to get to a reasonable temperature). This conversation was translated for him by a friend of his who spoke very good English and French so I do not think there was any misunderstanding. Following this we left the air conditioning on when we went out but each time we returned it had been switched off. We did not make an issue of this and just put it on when we were in the room.
Both the room rate and the food (don't know why) were quoted in Euro's and at the time (I later discovered) there were about 11 dirhams to the Euro. Mohammed however used a rate of about 9 dirhams to the Euro thus making nearly 20% profit on each conversion. When we left I did negotiate a refund of half of the electricity money I had paid for the extra air conditioning but Mohammed did not appear happy about this even though he had gone back on the agreement we had. This stay would have been lovely but for the penny pinching and taking us to a (what turned out to be) very overpriced herbal shop where he appeared to not pay for the goods he took.

Reviewed by
Martyn K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

el Kasbah short stay
We booked the Riad El Farah for a 3 night stay. We would recommend this riad as it is ideally located for anyone who wants to experience what Marrakech has to offer in a peaceful location! The owner, Mohammed, made us welcome and let us settle in before taking us and pointing out local attractions and directions. We had a double room that was simply furnished in typical moroccan colours and cleaned daily. Breakfast was simple but tasty, comprising of crepe/pastries, honey & bread with coffee. The architecture of the riad was typical of the local structures. Mohammed was available if we needed him but was in no way overbearing, leaving us to do as we pleased. We would have no hesitation staying here in the future!

Reviewed by
James H

From Harlow, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real Marrakech experience
Lovely house in the souk alleys - just a big door in a wall, but inside it's "old Morocco" - courtyard in the middle, rooms around it, roof terrace (with good views over the rooftops and the local storks' nesting sites) . Very nice rooms and facilities, plenty of hot water. Rooms are a bit dark, so take a torch, but that's restful. Catering, even on short notice, was excellent. Good wine available but a tad pricey. Mohammed is very good with getting you to taxis, arranging trips etc - but you will need to concentrate a bit on finding your way around the (remarkably clean and well-lit) alleys at first (this is part of the fun). Everyone was pleasant and helpful and this is highly recommended overall. This review is actually by David N, travelling with wife and sister-in-law.

Reviewed by
Susan N

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had an enjoyable stay in this very clean riad. The owner, Mohammed was very helpful and on arrival greeted us with mint tea. He showed us around the local area and took us out to a local restaurant one night. Nice breakfast and one evening we had an evening meal which was lovely and typically morrocan. Tourist attractions are close by including the jemmaa el fna square and a trip to the Atlas Mountains can be arranged by Mohammed. A good time for our first visit to Marrakech!

Reviewed by
Joanne R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

thank you
Thank you so much, both Mohamed and Nicole for your kindness, and your help, Mohamed, which was way beyond "The call of duty". I am so grateful. AND beautiful coffee (my weakness!!!)
Lynda

Reviewed by
L Abenchiker

From , Spain
Who stayed in July 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location in the Kasbah Medina
Lovely small riad in the Kasbah area of Marrakech. Everything was in easily walkable distance but you weren't so close to the crazy djemaa for it to disturb you. Riads by their nature are not very soundproof so earplugs are a good idea if you are a light sleeper. Very friendly owner, helps if you speak - un petit peau de francais - but not totally essential. Nice breezy roof terrace with sun beds and shady chairs if you fancy a bit of sunny relaxation without being overlooked. Hot water was never a problem and breakfast always fresh.

Reviewed by
E Ivory

From Chester, England
Who stayed in May 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

La ubicación no es buena, está muy alejado de la Plaza Djemma y si bien no es difícil llegar, se encuentra en la zona del Mellah sin mucho para hacer en los alrededores. La atención es escasamente correcta si no compras excursiones o bebidas en el Riad, el primer día el trato del propietario fue muy simpático y abierto, pero en los días siguientes al no vendernos nada pasó de nosotras e incluso un día no nos hicieron las camas ni la limpieza de la habitación. En cuanto al Riad en sí es correcto, dentro de una categoría media, no destacando nada especialmente. El desayuno es muy poco variado, ya que el primer día sólo sirvieron café con leche, pan, mantequilla y mermelada. En conclusión: no repetiríamos en este Riad, dado la amplia oferta con que cuenta la ciudad.

Reviewed by
Sandra Myriam Vazquez Paulos

From Massanassa, Spain
Who stayed in April 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.