No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Country Cottage Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
12 EASTHORPE STREET , NOTTINGHAM, NG11 6LA
A warm welcome awaits you when you visit the Country Cottage Hotel, a unique restoration of 17th Century cottages with roses and honeysuckle ramble over the walls. The Hotel lies tucked away in the village of Ruddington, only a few minutes drive from the bustling cosmopolitan city of Nottingham. The hotel bedrooms are individually designed to reflect the needs of discerning guests and equipped with modern touches like flat screen televisions and free wi-fi throughout the Hotel. A warm welcome is extended to all, whether you are an overnight guest, a long term visitor or those looking for a relaxing weekend.
Picture of The Country Cottage Hotel, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed at The Country Cottage Hotel for two nights and found it to be very cosy and comfortable. The town of Ruddington is lovely and quaint, despite being a short drive from Nottingham City Centre. I would definitely recommend a nice at this hotel, ideal for a weekend getaway!

Reviewed by
Jade L

From Leek, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming keen to assist booked taxis for us. Receptionist friendly. Bar staff and waiters fantastic

Reviewed by
J Stringer-smith

From Sandhurst, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday night stay
Staff were friendly and helpful.Room was attractive and well appointed .
Less good was the hoovering of the adjacent bar area while we were having breakfast.We were not late, so I think it would have been more considerate to have waited until all guests had finished breakfast.The quality of the food was only average.We had to ask for salt and pepper.There were none on any of the tables.We were given only a salt cellar, and I subsequently noticed that another table requested pepper, and were provided with ? the only pepper mill from the kitchen.

Reviewed by
Beverley L

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
In need of a refurb as carpets frayed and decor tatty. Rooms were overly hot for my colleagues. Also, wifi wasn't strong enough to reach my room, so be warned! Breakfast was very average, with bacon being especially dried out. Positives were; friendly bar staff and breakfast staff. Comfy bed (but thin curtains). Good TV in the bar area to watch the World Cup.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Country Cottage Hotel
Quiet and clean with very friendly staff. Nice large bathroom. Bedroom was comfortable but decor was nothing special and there was no lamp on my bedside table, only one on my partner's side. Very disappointing as I always read before going to sleep. Although the breakfast was nice there was not much choice. On the positive side the staff were helpful and friendly particularly the receptionist who checked us in. The room was quiet which is important to us. All in all we thought it was overpriced at £105.

Reviewed by
S Bentley

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good enough but character only goes so far.
Stayed here for one night. Room was accessed up a very narrow flight of stairs with low doors.
Room was clean but a bit too 1960's for our taste.
Can't speak for the other rooms but thought it was a bit overpriced. Food in the Restaurant was excellent.
Overall opinion was that it was OK for one night but would not have stayed much longer.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Johnstone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

characterful hotel near Nottingham
Country cottage is a small-ish hotel in the village of Ruddington, just outside Nottingham. We booked there partly because it boasts free WiFi in every room, so we were not too happy when the WiFi in the room we were allocated did not work, The room itself, though small, with a very cosy shower room, was fine, and pleasant enough for one night.
However, the WiFi was a serious problem as I needed to be in contact with a sick relative, and so I contacted Sarah at reception, She could not have been more willing to help, and her attitude made all the difference to a stay in which there were a number of small problems, all of which she fixed with enormous grace and charm.
Problems can happen anywhere, but it is how they are dealt with that matters, and in this hotel they are dealt with promptly and efficiently, which is why I would happily return.

Reviewed by
Heather D

From , England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bluebell Room Blues.
We stayed in the bluebell room...it is directly above the kitchen and is like a sauna, a small room and it is very very hot. The only form of cooling offered us were two fans that were noisy and ineffective. As we walked into the room when we arrived the heat hit us like a wall. Not only this but the noise from the kitchen below is not good. We did not notice it too much the day we arrived but the kitchen staff arrived at 6am on the Sunday morning to get the breakfasts and awoke us singing along to the radio and throwing pans around. The meal we had in the resteraunt was poor. My husband had the partridge and it was dry and tough, I had the chicken which was supposed to be sitting atop nice new potatoes but they were not fresh, seemed left over from lunch and re-heated. The vegatables we asked for because there were no fresh veg served with the meal seemed thrown together in a hurry and dry and to be honest, looked like left overs too. The hotel itself is nice and seems to be clean and tidy but we certainly got the cheap end of the facilities. We did complain and were given the main course at dinner FOC but on booking out of the hotel the receptionist told my husband "we do not usually use that room but we were full so we did"... A word to the wise "DO NOT BOOK IT AGAIN IT IS NOT A USABLE ROOM."

Reviewed by
ronald T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country House Hotel Ruttington
Quaint, friendly and value for money

Reviewed by
G Keenan

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Friendly Hotel

Reviewed by
M Teague

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next