No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cairn Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
97/103 Osborne Road Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2TJ
Located in the lively area of Jesmond, 2 mins walk from the metro station and 1.5 miles from the city centre. The Cairn Hotel is a 2-star hotel with 50 ensuite bedrooms, part of the Cairn Hotel Group. Free high speed wifi is available to all guests.

Whether visiting Newcastle on business or pleasure, a friendly, attentive service and a relaxed atmosphere are all an integral part of your stay at the Cairn Hotel. The recently refurbished Bar Berlise is perfect for a drink or a light snack while the hotel Restaurant offers a variety of traditional and international meals at reasonable prices.

Cairn Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne does not accept same sex group bookings of 4 rooms or more.
Picture of Cairn Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
60% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff were friendly, lovely & helpful. The room was comfortable & clean & the shower was really lovely. Unfortunately, the overall decor of the room & hotel was dated & very tired.
I was also subjected to men shouting & fighting with each other, kicking doors (including mine) in the corridor right outside my room in the early morning & I was left feeling afraid to leave the room.
The breakfast selection was disappointing; the yoghurt I picked had gone off & the croissant was slightly stale.

Reviewed by
J Carroll

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money but very basic but was close to mostly everything you would need

Reviewed by
k mccallum

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was utterly disgusting the fridge in the room was all blue mould and the carpets were all stained and hole in the walls the bathroom wasnt much better the shower was all black mould the just horrible.

Reviewed by
D Rodgers

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
Great location for going out

Reviewed by
Daniel R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice budget hotel could do with doing up a bit and a cooked breakfast would not go a miss

Reviewed by
A Westgate

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good experience

Reviewed by
Peter H

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two star hotel exactly what we expected.
The room was basic enough with a tv and fridge. Didn't like the look of fridge so didn't use it. Tea, coffee and bottled water provided along with biscuits. The room was very hot even though rad off and we had to leave window open. Food was continental style in dining room. Main bar also did food but we never had any meals. Bar has happy hour with 50% reductions on drinks. Close to centre to walk or just three to four stops on metro. Staff all very helpful and polite. If you want a fairly basic stay I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
K Goulding

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not first visit
Have stayed many times in the past. Many changes since then. Staff were lovely. Bar was good so was food in the bar. Room large so was surprised that could only turn lights off at door not near bed. Bed seen better days. Shame people who stay don't respect other people's property so can't blame hotel for carpet stains and marks on wall. Wouldn't put me off staying again but not for more than 1 night

Reviewed by
Gillian D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for a night out in newcastle

Reviewed by
F Clark

From Corbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a reasonably good hotel that provided good service and the staff were very helpful indeed; but because of my wife's health problems the up stair rooms were not suitable and I had to request a down stair room, which the staff wer more than willing to assist.

Reviewed by
k pinchard

From East Lothian, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next