No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cairn Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
97/103 Osborne Road Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE2 2TJ
Situated in the vibrant Jesmond area of Newcastle, just a mile away from city centre and within easy reach of the motorway network, Newcastle Airport and the Metro system, the newly refurbished Cairn Hotel is the ideal venue for those visiting on business or leisure, embarking on shopping trips, theatre breaks, and nightlife.

Cairn Hotel has a 24-hour front desk as well as an on-site bar and restaurant, and offers contemporary accommodations with free Wi-Fi access throughout. Guests can also use the limited, on-site parking facilities free of charge.

The Cairn Hotel Newcastle has recently undergone a full refurbishment on all bedrooms and public areas.

Rooms at Cairn Hotel are individually decorated and have a writing desk, a flat-screen TV and tea and coffee-making facilities. They all include a private bathroom fitted with a shower and a hairdryer, and free toiletries are provided.

Guests can enjoy a variety of regional specialties at Sohe Restaurant for lunch and dinner. Drinks and refreshments are available in bar Berlise throughout the day.

Sohe is sure to offer an experience like no other. Traditionally trained chefs create dishes demonstrating their culinary flair, unique methods and individual expertise, showcasing foods from all over Asia that are sure to tantalise and tease the senses.

Sohe will invigorate and excite you with its blend of fine foods in fusion with the Asian inspiration behind this exciting new dining experience.

Picture of Cairn Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend to anyone good value for money

Reviewed by
Mark Whalen

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The reception guy was great. Very friendly and welcoming, we had a problem the next day having out car blocked in and he was more than helpful. Hotel was great for two star BUT I think it was over priced, but for the area I can understand why. Would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Victoria Walker

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had problem with heating which stay were very keen ro rectify . Very good customer services

Reviewed by
Leanne Munn

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't do it!
Really poor quality accommodation.

Reviewed by
Jason P

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok but not worth the price.
I lived in Newcastle for 3 years as a student and during one of those years I lived in Jesmond and because it is a decent area I expected the hotels to be decent too. The only good things about the hotel were the location (city centre prices were sky high so Jesmond was the obvious 2nd choice), the receptionists who were nice and the parking around the back.
The negatives included a really old fahsioned room with an uncomfortable mattress, sheets that felt really cheap, a shower that takes ages to warm up, very loud guests, a breakfast that only includes toast and some fruit, and a really bad smell. Not worth £65 at all.

Reviewed by
J Thompson

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff were friendly, lovely & helpful. The room was comfortable & clean & the shower was really lovely. Unfortunately, the overall decor of the room & hotel was dated & very tired.
I was also subjected to men shouting & fighting with each other, kicking doors (including mine) in the corridor right outside my room in the early morning & I was left feeling afraid to leave the room.
The breakfast selection was disappointing; the yoghurt I picked had gone off & the croissant was slightly stale.

Reviewed by
J Carroll

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money but very basic but was close to mostly everything you would need

Reviewed by
k mccallum

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was utterly disgusting the fridge in the room was all blue mould and the carpets were all stained and hole in the walls the bathroom wasnt much better the shower was all black mould the just horrible.

Reviewed by
D Rodgers

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
Great location for going out

Reviewed by
Daniel R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice budget hotel could do with doing up a bit and a cooked breakfast would not go a miss

Reviewed by
A Westgate

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next