No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - A66 Motel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Smallways , Richmond, DL11 7QW
A fully licensed family owned and ran hotel with a comprehensive menu. A warm and friendly welcome awaits with quality accommodation in tastefully decorated rooms. All rooms en-suite with free view TV and tea and coffee making facilities. All ground floor accommodation. Home cooked English Breakfast in pleasant dining room. Free parking, Kids Play Area and dogs allowed.
Picture of A66 Motel, Richmond at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
This was the ideal place to be based. Nice room . Good food. Good parking

Reviewed by
Mark T

From Llangollen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay in the country
Great people, great service, great food , a true cost effective low country retreat

Reviewed by
Ian G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at A66 Motel
I could not get the wi-fi to work
Not being able to get breakfast until 7.45 on Sunday morning caused me problems

Reviewed by
John Sturgess

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing A66 Motel
The website just didn't do justice to the welcome, help and service offered by the A66 Motel. Arriving late due to travel delays I called ahead abd explained the situation being advised that we could check in as late as 11pm as someone would be about until possibly even midnight. Eventually arriving after 11pm this proved to be true. Not only was someone about but the bar was still open and welcome refreshment was available. It was just like being in your local pub and the friendly conversation just provided much needed relaxation. A comfortable bed provided an excellent night's sleep without any noisy interruptions or the sound of traffic audible - amazing. When asked for a local taxi number to go to the nearby wedding reception the owner said that he would take us there himself, as he did to some other guests; something totally unexpected and most welcome. A potentially embarrassing moment with my dress was swiftly averted thanks to the unsolicited help of the owner's wife and with their family and animals it was almost like staying at a friend's house. Finally the food was freshly home cooked to order, plentiful and of excellent quality, breakfast coffee pot contained enough for 5 cups, and the choice was wide enought to make you want stay another night.

Reviewed by
E Harris

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great breakfasts
Great breakfast!!

Reviewed by
L Kiddle

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Breaks the long journey back to Scotland up. Warm and friendly and always my choice when when in the area.

Reviewed by
David Pittock

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly atmosphere, tidy accommodation.
Stayed here on eve of Etape Pennines sportive which sets off from nearby Barnard Castle. Ideal location and perfect for a single night stay. Great value for money and nice friendly atmosphere. Didn't get chance to eat at motel because we had an early start but the helpful staff provided us with a packed-lunch in place of breakfast!

Reviewed by
Simon H

From Sandy, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good for an overnight stay
We were meeting friends from the south in Barnard Castle so used the A66 motel just to stay overnight and it was very good for the price. The room was clean and had all the usual things you expect in a hotel room. The bathroom was clean everything worked fine. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it. A good place to stay.

Reviewed by
w sweeting

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Motel decoration
This motel was very dated with lots of artificial flowers that had seen better days and by far the worst stuffed animals in cages in the dining area.

Reviewed by
S Whitfield

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay
the evening meal was not very good

Reviewed by
m strachan

From Buckie, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next