No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
THE MANSE, STATION LANE BIRTLEY, Chester-le-Street, DH3 1DG
We are situated between the city of Durham and Newcastle both highly desirable city breaks and for their Historical points and of course their fabulous night life. Locally we have the famous Beamish Museum Hadrians Wall and many other attractions for the History lover!

Our beaches are second to none visit the Northumbrian coast line with it's beautiful beaches and Historical Castles.

For the Business traveller we are in easy access from the A1M which leads to all major routes in the area.
Picture of The Old Manse Guest House, Chester-le-Street at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My boys and I were warmly welcomed by Janet, who is lovely. I could honestly chat to her all day over a cuppa. Our room was on the ground floor, and very comfortable. We didn't see any other guests, the hotel is under a huge renovation but this did not disturb us in the least. My only issue would be children over 10 are required to have their own room. As a single Mum, I am used to always sharing, even though my boys are 12 and 14, partly due to one having adhd and an erratic sleeping pattern and also common security. Janet kindly let this oversight go and was extremely accomodating.

Reviewed by
a mosedale

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You do get what you pay for , after reading other reviews not what I expected , booked the family room
The pull out bed had to stay out so hardly any room for four people , first impressions count and maybe a bit of heating in the building would change the atmosphere when you first go in , booked breakfast for 1 st morning , Janet was ok until I asked if bacon and eggs could be well done then she became rather put out by that request , she did try in the end but customer service lacked to start with , morning 2 asked for teabag and coffee and similar attitude to first day , it served its purpose a bed to sleep in , things could be a lot different there

Reviewed by
A James

From Chesterfield, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family getaway
we had a great time here. it was very close to the trips out we had planned. we went to Beamish museum and Diggerland. Room was comfortable and close to all amenities.

Reviewed by
beryl jones

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable 2 days
I was very happy with the room, no problems as far as I was concerned, breakfast was good and no problems with me chosing the time which is sometimes a problem on a Sundays. Would definately use it again.

Reviewed by
Ian Benzie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 pleasant days
Handily placed for many attractions - Washington Wetland Centre, Durham City, Angel Of The North, Beamish Open Air Museum and one we really enjoyed, Diggerland. We went to the Greyhound races nearby too and enjoyed that.
Regular buses to Durham and Newcastle.
The accommodation is in a separate house to the owners (next door) but we were greeted as we got out of our car on the parking spaces at the rear. Clean room, not cramped, plenty of plug sockets.
Would certainly use again.

Reviewed by
James A

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome
A very friendly welcome and a nice, clean guest house. A wonderful breakfast and people who cant do enough for you

Reviewed by
Jon P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely comfort in Birtley
We stayed at the OLD MANSE for four nights on a family visit and sightseeing break during a period of glorious weather. This is simple budget accommodation which suited us. We slept well in a dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable room. As smokers we appreciated the outdoor smoking area looking over the pleasant garden (given the good weather). The star of the show however, which made our stay, was Janet who looked after us. Her local knowledge was invaluable to us and her cooked breakfasts truly delicious!

Reviewed by
john b

From Walsall, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay
We Arrived at the guest house at 9.00.pm and was greeted with a smile and a warm welcome, rooms were all a very good size, with flat schreen tvs with built in dvd player wich was good for the children. Breakfast was very good. No complaints at all, would stay again definatly.

Reviewed by
J Lowe

From Denbigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
Stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely clean room with all amenities you could need. Very welcoming. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birtley stay, for Newcastle break
Very welcoming gust house /B&B, owner took time to welcome us, find out what we liked fror breakfast, where going, few suggestions, Nice comfy room, quiet location, but 5mins to A1M.
Pleasant garden, car park and close to pub/restaurants if required.
Will stay again when next have break in the North East,

Reviewed by
jonathan H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next