No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Manse Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
THE MANSE, STATION LANE BIRTLEY, Chester-le-Street, DH3 1DG
We are situated between the city of Durham and Newcastle both highly desirable city breaks and for their Historical points and of course their fabulous night life. Locally we have the famous Beamish Museum Hadrians Wall and many other attractions for the History lover!

Our beaches are second to none visit the Northumbrian coast line with it's beautiful beaches and Historical Castles.

For the Business traveller we are in easy access from the A1M which leads to all major routes in the area.
Picture of The Old Manse Guest House, Chester-le-Street at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable 2 days
I was very happy with the room, no problems as far as I was concerned, breakfast was good and no problems with me chosing the time which is sometimes a problem on a Sundays. Would definately use it again.

Reviewed by
Ian Benzie

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly welcome
A very friendly welcome and a nice, clean guest house. A wonderful breakfast and people who cant do enough for you

Reviewed by
Jon P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely comfort in Birtley
We stayed at the OLD MANSE for four nights on a family visit and sightseeing break during a period of glorious weather. This is simple budget accommodation which suited us. We slept well in a dated but spotlessly clean and comfortable room. As smokers we appreciated the outdoor smoking area looking over the pleasant garden (given the good weather). The star of the show however, which made our stay, was Janet who looked after us. Her local knowledge was invaluable to us and her cooked breakfasts truly delicious!

Reviewed by
john b

From Walsall, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
Stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely clean room with all amenities you could need. Very welcoming. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birtley stay, for Newcastle break
Very welcoming gust house /B&B, owner took time to welcome us, find out what we liked fror breakfast, where going, few suggestions, Nice comfy room, quiet location, but 5mins to A1M.
Pleasant garden, car park and close to pub/restaurants if required.
Will stay again when next have break in the North East,

Reviewed by
jonathan H

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really welcoming
Janet was very nice, She works there made me feel welcomed and I enjoyed my stay very much the room was a little chilly but i had my spare blanket.

Reviewed by
K Rodney

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
So close to Newcastle Beamish Gateshead etc. Location fab. Literally round corner from our friends. Would stay again. No doubt.

Reviewed by
L Dowson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beamish
Looked after very well by the owner. Everything we asked for was there even breakfast done how i like it. Very welcoming.

Reviewed by
sue hughes

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Lovely little guest house - can't be faulted - particularly at price I got. Friendly welcome, lovely room -not much of a view but hey its Chester -le Street. Comfy beds,very clean, desk to work at. Ideal for working traveller and nice little pub for eating a short walk away

Reviewed by
Tim Lanceley

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at The Old Manse
Would have liked more hand soap in toilet, more toilet tissues. The tv turned blue after watching it for half an hour. It was tiny and up so high it was impossible for me to watch. Couldn't move the tv to a lower shelf as it was taped to the stand...
The drawers in the bed were dusty, the skirting behind the bed was dirty and the headboard was held on with string. The valance on the beds were dirty and we asked for a double room but was given a twin room. Don't know why. I have asthma and arthritis and the room being so dusty was no good for my condition.

ManagementResponse

We are so sorry that you were disapointed with the room there is no excuse for lack of soap/toilet tissue and cleanliness of the room. I do hope that you complained to a member of staff regarding the t.v. as it would have been changed immediately, the t.v.s dont last so long these days! As for the double room, as it states onthe booking page, we give doubles on availability, and on the days of your stay we did not have a double available, so sorry.

Reviewed by
margo b

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next