No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlborough Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
20-21 East Parade, The Promenade, , Whitley Bay, NE26 1AP
The Marlborough Hotel is perfectly positioned to enjoy many experiences, whether involving the stunning Northumberland landscapes or award winning north east coastline. Situated a mere eight miles from a varied and vibrant Newcastle city centre offering visitors a culturally diverse selection of restaurants, galleries, shops and live venues. This is without mentioning the world renowned nightlife and endless entertainment possibilities. We are an ideal base for touring, with excellent links by road or rail. Situated six miles from the Royal Quays ferry terminal and twelve miles from Newcastle International Airport. To start their day, guests are invited to enjoy a continental or English breakfast inclusive of their stay. Rooms range from standard to premier, accommodating single, double, twin, and family groups. Some of our rooms at the front of the hotel include sweeping sea views all the way to St Mary's Lighthouse and all rooms are comfortably furnished, clean and inviting. The Marlborough Hotel also offers conference and meeting rooms ideal for business functions and wedding groups. The Marlborough, a 3 star rated hotel, includes a small car park with additional street parking. WiFi and internet access is available throughout the hotel. SORRY NO HEN OR STAG PARTIES.
Picture of Marlborough Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality.
The hotel needs updating. Very tired and dated. Breakfast was poor quality.

Reviewed by
caroline gardiner

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

C2C
After establishing with the hotel before booking that they would look after our bikes for a day whilst I returned to Whitehaven to pick up my car, at breakfast the manager advised that Sunday was her day off and that no one would be at the hotel to let us in and I should lock my bikes to the drain pipe outside her hotel on the sea front. I was very disappointed and she showed little customer care, after 25 minutes of debate she reluctantly agreed to let us leave our bikes in her back yard and pay her apprentice to stay on from 1600 to 1800 : note the hotel advises that you can arrive any time. Customer service poor, room could have been cleaner and keep a look out at breakfast time the traffic is almost as busy as spaghetti junction

Reviewed by
Keith J

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly family hotel
The hotel was extremely welcoming with nothing being too much trouble , the room was clean and neat with good en suite facilities breakfast was very good value for money

Reviewed by
Esmond D

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, very welcoming!
Loved our stay at the Marlborough, comfy beds, clean simple rooms and owners who were friendly and chatty. Breakfast served whenever was best for us, fantastic food and service for a guesthouse.

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ready for refurbishment
Hotel could do with refurbishing.rooms basic shower very small we managed ok to get in shower but a larger person would struggle to enter shower.we stayed 3 nights and never managed to get any hot water from sink taps.Breakfast was good and staff very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Derrick Staples

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marlborough Hotel
On arrival I was warmly welcomed and booked in The room was nice and warm Very clean. Bedding and towels were spotless. The amenities, as in Tea coffee etc were plentiful If I'm in the area again I wont hesitate to book in again. A very nice breakfast was served up the next morning.

Reviewed by
A Slade

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

marlborough hotel
clean and comfortable, if a little cool for staying in any length of time. A good travellers stay but I would not like to spend a fortnight on holiday there.

Reviewed by
david b

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff and helpful had a restful night

Reviewed by
G Key

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok hotel
Ok hotel. Nice view from room. Basic but pleasant. Owner/staff seemed alarmed that we walked in.
Maybe not stay again

Reviewed by
amie o

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good position for sea walks and town centre.
Whilst we would recommend the hotel again to others, we wouldn't revisit as we weren't keen on the resort.

Reviewed by
M Pickup

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next