No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlborough Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-21 East Parade, The Promenade, , Whitley Bay, NE26 1AP
The Marlborough Hotel is perfectly positioned to enjoy many experiences, whether involving the stunning Northumberland landscapes or award winning north east coastline. Situated a mere eight miles from a varied and vibrant Newcastle city centre offering visitors a culturally diverse selection of restaurants, galleries, shops and live venues. This is without mentioning the world renowned nightlife and endless entertainment possibilities. We are an ideal base for touring, with excellent links by road or rail. Situated six miles from the Royal Quays ferry terminal and twelve miles from Newcastle International Airport. To start their day, guests are invited to enjoy a continental or English breakfast inclusive of their stay. Rooms range from standard to premier, accommodating single, double, twin, and family groups. Some of our rooms at the front of the hotel include sweeping sea views all the way to St Mary's Lighthouse and all rooms are comfortably furnished, clean and inviting. The Marlborough Hotel also offers conference and meeting rooms ideal for business functions and wedding groups. The Marlborough, a 3 star rated hotel, includes a small car park with additional street parking. WiFi and internet access is available throughout the hotel. SORRY NO HEN OR STAG PARTIES.
Picture of Marlborough Hotel, Whitley Bay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good position for sea walks and town centre.
Whilst we would recommend the hotel again to others, we wouldn't revisit as we weren't keen on the resort.

Reviewed by
M Pickup

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location :)
The hotel owner was lovely and she was very accommodating and pleasant. I booked a sea view room which we got, but woke early as light came straight through the unlined curtains and someone was using a microwave in the room next door early too which was a disturbance as head of the bed must have been close. You could also hear upstairs room walking about. Breakfast was fine and I cannot fault the location and staff.

Reviewed by
Stacey W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

5 day stay - Mature Couple
We booked a double en-suite room a couple of months in advance. When we arrived we were offered an upgrade at no extra cost which we accepted. The room was lovely with all the amenities we required including a sea view. The welcome was friendly and the breakfast good. We would definately use this hotel again and recommend it to friends. No negatives.

Reviewed by
Jean C

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value B&B
Good value B&B, looks to have done some renovations. Said he had upgraded my accommodation, my booking was for a single with sea view I got a 3 bedded room with a view of the backyard!!!.
But all in all not bad vale for money.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Me and my friends stayed here for an overnight, definetly value for money, the staff were very welcoming and also changed our room to a sea front view which was lovley! We were also aloud to stay on for a few hours and check out at 12.30 instead of 10.30, I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Reviewed by
A Langton

From Motherwell, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally very good. Staff really friendly & helpful. I often need an inexpensive room at short notice & can't really fault this place. Well located near to several good eating establishments.

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can't be faulted. Needed basic accommodation for a local business visit. Staff very attentive.

Reviewed by
Nigel S

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great North Run accommodation
My father and I stayed here whilst we were in town for the GNR. This hotel was great, so cheap, close to the metro, staff very friendly. The rooms were modest, as you'd expect from a sea front B&B in this price range, but very clean. Beds were comfy too. Parking was a bit of an issue, but seeing as it was a weekend we utilised the free road parking. We would book again next year, as it was perfect for what we needed.

Reviewed by
D Bennett

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel advertised a bar, restaurant and free wifi. It had none of the above. Me, my wife and my 12 year old daughter booked this hotel because it had a bar. We were told that there was a fridge that we could buy drinks from and the fridge wasnt even on. The second night only at my request the fridge was on but 2 out of 4 drinks were 5months out of date!

Reviewed by
E Tomney

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2