No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Longship

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
15 USHAW ROAD HEBBURN, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE31 2YA
The Longship is a lively community pub with rooms in a convienient location, offering great value food. our en-suite bedrooms are clean and comfortable ensuring your stay is relaxing. All rooms come equppied with a shower, tea and coffee making facilities and a television

Close to the city of Newcastle, the Lonship offers weekend breaks and is an ideal centre from which to explore the many attractions of the area including the Metrocentre, the Team Valley Retail Park, the Angel of the North, Beamish Museum, Hadrians Wall and the Beautiful Northumberland coast. Hebburn itself is also steeped in history, the Longship is named after a local legend which claimed that a Viking Longboat lay preserved in the banks of the Tyne until early last century. We Are also in a great location for access to gateshead stadium and the coastal town of South Shields as well as being a great stopover for those traveling up and down the country as we are not far from the A19 and its crossing under the Tyne through the Tyne Tunnel.

Picture of The Longship, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best experience
Rooms were upstairs of a bar. Shower was not functioning well. No shampoo nothing in the shower. Go prepared. It is very far from Newcastle. Do not stay there if you are planning a trip to Newcastle without a car.

Reviewed by
oguz erdogan

From istanbul, Turkey
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not too bad
The room was clean and well presented. The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The only real disappointment was the worlds worst shower. No hot pressure so I was left with a choice of a bitterly cold shower, or a warm trickle. I needed to be clean so I chose the prior. If they sort the shower I would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Roberts

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the room
The room is very dated and had an irritating smell similar to dirty water. If you stay here, wash before you come as the water pressure out of the shower is probably weaker than any shower i have used.
The water pipe to the toipet overflowed onto the floor at every flush. The room was cheap at £40 per night, but so not worth the money. Staff however were friendly.

Reviewed by
gordon baker

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay at The Longship
My husband and I stayed at the Longship for a night after attending a Birthday celebration. From the moment we arrived the Manageress and her staff were pleasant and professional. She took care of taxi booking for us and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast the following morning was excellent. We would definitely recommend The Longship, Hebburn. Thank you.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is in a quiet area and has friendly staff and a nice room
We enjoyed the hotel,but were shocked to find one day the cleaners hadnt shut the door after cleaning to our room and so was left open for anyone to walk in,worrying bad error for a hotel room.the room was clean through and nice and quiet

Reviewed by
R Quaife

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was pleasant for a short stay - sufficient space, comfortable bed, TV with multiple channels and a shower bathroom. Room may benefit from secondary glazing to eliminate external noise.
Whilst I was staying, the hot water in the bathroom was not working - I was offered a room change but the water was not sorted in 4 days.
The food was good quality pub food and quite varied but as an ale drinker, one ale on offer was disappointing as was the quality although the Guinness was excellent.
The pub is a 10 minute walk from the Metro ( Jarrow ) and provides good link to Newcastle ( 6 miles away ) More information about the local area and transport on site would be welcome.

Reviewed by
A Crebbin

From Port Erin, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing was too much trouble for the team at the Longship, right from the beginning when they switched our room because the plumbing was too noisy! We loved the atmosphere in the pub downstairs as everyone was so friendly - we really enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming venue
I traveled alone to Ayr and the staff made me feel welcome. my concern would be parking in Ayr and i was allowed to leave my car onsite even though i had checked out.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, Clean and convenient
My colleague and I were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation overall. Having been driving all the way from London we were so tires. We had a couple of drinks in the pub and straight to very clean beds for comfortable sleeps. Woke up fresh to go about our business. My only concern was the shower cubicle which I found too small for my liking.

Reviewed by
G Kamyabi

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

longship stay
We was going to newcastle races and wanted somewhere cheap to stay this was excellent value for money great customer service and great food

Reviewed by
Craig C

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next