No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Longship

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
15 USHAW ROAD HEBBURN, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE31 2YA
The Longship is a lively community pub with rooms in a convienient location, offering great value food. our en-suite bedrooms are clean and comfortable ensuring your stay is relaxing. All rooms come equppied with a shower, tea and coffee making facilities and a television

Close to the city of Newcastle, the Lonship offers weekend breaks and is an ideal centre from which to explore the many attractions of the area including the Metrocentre, the Team Valley Retail Park, the Angel of the North, Beamish Museum, Hadrians Wall and the Beautiful Northumberland coast. Hebburn itself is also steeped in history, the Longship is named after a local legend which claimed that a Viking Longboat lay preserved in the banks of the Tyne until early last century. We Are also in a great location for access to gateshead stadium and the coastal town of South Shields as well as being a great stopover for those traveling up and down the country as we are not far from the A19 and its crossing under the Tyne through the Tyne Tunnel.

Picture of The Longship, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay at The Longship
My husband and I stayed at the Longship for a night after attending a Birthday celebration. From the moment we arrived the Manageress and her staff were pleasant and professional. She took care of taxi booking for us and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast the following morning was excellent. We would definitely recommend The Longship, Hebburn. Thank you.

Reviewed by
M Hill

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is in a quiet area and has friendly staff and a nice room
We enjoyed the hotel,but were shocked to find one day the cleaners hadnt shut the door after cleaning to our room and so was left open for anyone to walk in,worrying bad error for a hotel room.the room was clean through and nice and quiet

Reviewed by
R Quaife

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was pleasant for a short stay - sufficient space, comfortable bed, TV with multiple channels and a shower bathroom. Room may benefit from secondary glazing to eliminate external noise.
Whilst I was staying, the hot water in the bathroom was not working - I was offered a room change but the water was not sorted in 4 days.
The food was good quality pub food and quite varied but as an ale drinker, one ale on offer was disappointing as was the quality although the Guinness was excellent.
The pub is a 10 minute walk from the Metro ( Jarrow ) and provides good link to Newcastle ( 6 miles away ) More information about the local area and transport on site would be welcome.

Reviewed by
A Crebbin

From Port Erin, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing was too much trouble for the team at the Longship, right from the beginning when they switched our room because the plumbing was too noisy! We loved the atmosphere in the pub downstairs as everyone was so friendly - we really enjoyed the stay.

Reviewed by
James G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming venue
I traveled alone to Ayr and the staff made me feel welcome. my concern would be parking in Ayr and i was allowed to leave my car onsite even though i had checked out.

Reviewed by
M Williams

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, Clean and convenient
My colleague and I were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation overall. Having been driving all the way from London we were so tires. We had a couple of drinks in the pub and straight to very clean beds for comfortable sleeps. Woke up fresh to go about our business. My only concern was the shower cubicle which I found too small for my liking.

Reviewed by
G Kamyabi

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

longship stay
We was going to newcastle races and wanted somewhere cheap to stay this was excellent value for money great customer service and great food

Reviewed by
Craig C

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
We booked this as we were up in Newcastle for the weekend. Great value room though rooms could do with an update. Food was also lovely and good value. All staff were very friendly and happy to help.

Reviewed by
K Snaddon

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You must try the burgers!
The hotel is a pub downstairs and has an amazing atmosphere.
The people that work here are really friendly and are happy to help with anything.
The food that is served in the pub is ridiculously yummy!!
You must visit this accommodation

Reviewed by
Bronwyn Morris

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and good value
This room was good value for a basic double room ensuite. Is above the busy pub and surprisingly quiet considering. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good value for money and an ideal base for Gateshead and Newcastle plus surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
S O'Driscoll

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next