No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
RAYRIGG ROAD , WINDERMERE, LA23 1ES
Windermere Manor Hotel is set in 3 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a short walk away from the picturesque shores of Lake Windermere. Situated at the heart of the Lake District, Windermere is England's longest lake and is hugely popular with visitors. The bustling towns of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside are all waiting for you to explore. The more adventurous guest can enjoy a variety of water-based activities including water skiing, sailing,swimming or even a leisurely cruise.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome good natured pet dogs and assistance dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Lakeland adventure with your dog*. Somerooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

In July 2011 we opened Bradbury House, adjacent to the hotel, featuring seven new fabulous rooms including five Garden Rooms; each with it's own patio opening out onto the gardens. Bed and room configurations in the annexe are fully flexible and are ideal for larger families and groups.

The main hotel, a former Victorian retreat, has 28 well appointed and comfortable bedrooms. Many are suitable for families; all are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities and colour televisions. Many rooms have attractive balconies from which guests can enjoy the sunshine and stunning views across the lake to the Langdale Pikes and the mountains beyond. Guests can relax in the indoor heated pool or take pleasure wandering through the scent-filled grounds. Free Wi-Fi is offered to our guests in our public areas.

Meals are all freshly prepared to a high standard with an emphasis on quality local ingredients and relaxed dining, and are served in the Conservatory or in the dining room which was formerly a chapel.

Pets are allowed on request. A £5 charge per pet, per night applies.
*Only assistance dogs are allowed in the Restaurant of the Hotel.
Picture of Windermere Manor Hotel, WINDERMERE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clan Gathering
In a dream location. The room on second floor was lovely and large and very clean. There is no lift to the second floor. Paid for Lake view which didn't have and was told that it does when trees are bare! They were very good and refunded the premium that I had paid. Toilet roll holder and shower kept falling apart.

Reviewed by
Martin K

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel in very pleasant surroundings, room perfect for us, staff polite and friendly. Would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Tracy M

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice big room and comfort bed, but very bad soundproof and need more work on cleaning.
Swimming pool is absolutely small and very cold water. It will be a good hotel for price about 60 quids. But for this price, not really achive this standard.

Reviewed by
C Lin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday stay
Excellent location detail to customer satisfaction

Reviewed by
R Barnard

From Bonby Brigg, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
From the moment we arrived, we were put at ease by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble at all. The room was very comfy, and clean, with a lovely view too !
I have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel, and as soon as possible we will return.
The food was good, and well presented, each order was prepared separately, and as it was very hot whilst we were there, all credit to the chef and every one else for doing so well
We wet some lovely people there, a couple of guide dogs, and our only regret is that we didn't have chance to test out the pool

Reviewed by
Jo C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great customer service - decent rooms and food
I stayed in the hotel with my husband and my 18 months old daughter. I was pleasantly surprised at how big the bed was, but disappointed that we only had a shower and no bath (to be fair, it was not specified anywhere that it would be a bathroom either, we just assumed it was). The hotel was very clean. The breakfast was very basic. The staff members were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Josee L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room and bar
the cottage was excellent however we did have a problem with a mattress which was sorted the next the next day but we were told they had already been made aware of the issue.
Please be aware of one of the staff members he is brash and quite annoying in his attempts to be befriend the guests, I saw a number people upset by him during our short stay

Reviewed by
Steve A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very impressed with the Vision Group Hotel
We only had a 1 night stay but I was very impressed with the hotel, especially after reading about the Vision Group. I think this should be promoted more about the work they do for people who require just that little bit extra from a hotel, they had lovely outdoor areas, secure free run areas for dogs and also a pool, which was in slight need of updating but was still very clean and ideal for a relaxing swim. Overall the facilities were clean, comfortable, very welcoming and staff were helpful in all areas

Reviewed by
A Ford

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We both had a wonderful stay. The private bungalow was stunning

Reviewed by
Beverley Brady

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
The Windermere Manor Hotel was very clean and generally a nice hotel, however I was really disappointed to find that our "lake view" room did indeed have a view of the lake if you we're prepared to hang your head out of the window, crock your neck to the right and peer through the trees to see a slight spec of the lake. So yeh, a word of advice...just book a standard room and save yourself a little bit. Worse was to come though when the "double" room turned out to be two single beds pushed together and an obvious gap in the middle that did nothing for the romantic break we had hoped for. Not a big deal I suppose but then the maid knocking with a feather at 10.10am in the morning before just unlocking the door and letting herself in when we were still in bed (check out not until 11am). Seriously intrusive to say she had a four hour gap between us checking out and the next guests checking in to service the room, yet she felt it nècessary to just burst in on us and cleam the room before we'd left. On the whole there was no major problem with the hotel but the general over selling of what the room would be like and over enthusiastic housekeeping I won't be rushing back and won't be recommending it to anyone.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next