No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
RAYRIGG ROAD , WINDERMERE, LA23 1ES
Windermere Manor Hotel is set in 3 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a short walk away from the picturesque shores of Lake Windermere. Situated at the heart of the Lake District, Windermere is England's longest lake and is hugely popular with visitors. The bustling towns of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside are all waiting for you to explore. The more adventurous guest can enjoy a variety of water-based activities including water skiing, sailing,swimming or even a leisurely cruise.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome good natured pet dogs and assistance dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Lakeland adventure with your dog*. Somerooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

In July 2011 we opened Bradbury House, adjacent to the hotel, featuring seven new fabulous rooms including five Garden Rooms; each with it's own patio opening out onto the gardens. Bed and room configurations in the annexe are fully flexible and are ideal for larger families and groups.

The main hotel, a former Victorian retreat, has 28 well appointed and comfortable bedrooms. Many are suitable for families; all are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities and colour televisions. Many rooms have attractive balconies from which guests can enjoy the sunshine and stunning views across the lake to the Langdale Pikes and the mountains beyond. Guests can relax in the indoor heated pool or take pleasure wandering through the scent-filled grounds.

Meals are all freshly prepared to a high standard with an emphasis on quality local ingredients and relaxed dining, and are served in the Conservatory or in the dining room which was formerly a chapel.

Free Wi-Fi is offered in our public areas, this is available via BT Openzone throughout the hotel. However due to the style of the building, some rooms have limited access

Pets are allowed on request. A £5 charge per pet, per night applies.
*Only assistance dogs are allowed in the Restaurant of the Hotel.
Picture of Windermere Manor Hotel, WINDERMERE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for what we required
Room lovely and big and on ground floor which was great for my mum. However bathroom had a constant uneasy smell

Reviewed by
Elizabeth K

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake District
Amazing location near Lake Windermere. Lovely cottage accomodation at the rear where we stayed - large modern rooms with nice views of the grounds. Highly reommended.

Reviewed by
S Cook

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, comfortable hotel. Stunning lake views
Booked this hotel last minute, was impressed with the hotel and surroundings for the price. Windermere/Bowness within walking distance. Found the tv to not be working soon after arrival but within 5 minutes of phoning reception we were relocated to the room next door, no problem. The breakfast was good but staff at breakfast could've have been a little friendlier!

Reviewed by
G Tomlinson

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

doggy heaven
as a vision hotel it is mainly geared for the visioally impaired and thier guide dogs. the people who stayed some had dogs and they were very well behaved
the swimming pool could do with a re vamp and go rather busy with non guests

Reviewed by
Catherine M

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Excellent customer service, lovely hotel. Swimming pool clean as warm.

Reviewed by
D Coles

From King's Lynn , UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a dog friendly hotel in a fab location. Friendly reception staff and a lovely warm, albeit basic, room. Didn't have an evening meal, but breakfast was adequate and waiting staff were attentive. Made use of the hotel's swimming pool. Sadly it's a bit run down, but great to have access to it.
Would happily stay here again.

Reviewed by
N Wood

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just great all we wanted, ages 95, 70 and dog 14mths!
Just great, clean and very welcoming and staff lovely always helpful.

Reviewed by
Anne L

From Balsall Common, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
My partner and I decided to go for a last minute weekend break. We stayed one night at Windermere Manor and really liked it. (why I didn't say loved?) well that's because the room itself was quite simple and dated and we couldn't find all the switches lol because they were behind wardrobes etc. There was no iron provided and we were told there would be. We stayed in the cottage (outhouse) which was great with a private garden and patio, a great feature. I liked how simple the room was and it was very clean, I paid £90 for the room and breakfast included.
From the room itself we could not see much of the lake or much of the view as there were trees and shrubs in the way. However, if we were on a higher floor maybe we'd see more. The lake itself was within walking distance and there were places activity very close also. The town centre is within walking distance too. I think there should be more street lights in the area though!
Oh and there's a free parking place right outside the hotel!! GREAT
We also used the Indoor swimming pool and sauna and absolutely loved it!! Bathrobe, slippers and great quality towels provided.
It's a great location with breath taking views (mountains and lakes) great water activities and climbing. There are tourist guide shops everywhere and the town centre is lovely. The staff and people at Windermere were very friendly and helpful. Definitely would come back to explore more.

Reviewed by
T Khanom

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming hotel
We arrived pretty late to the hotel due to traffic jams but once we arrived there was no more hassle. The room was very well looked after with a spacious area for our belongings, a very comfy bed and a bathroom that was a very decent size. Even if we had to pay more I would stay here again. Breakfast was delicious with a nice range for you to choose from, the staff very welcoming and provided great service and had a great sense of humour.

Reviewed by
H Taylor

From Black River, Australia
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Pleasant accomodation, friendly staff and great location

Reviewed by
Tracy Danks

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next