No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
RAYRIGG ROAD , WINDERMERE, LA23 1ES
Windermere Manor Hotel is set in 3 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a short walk away from the picturesque shores of Lake Windermere. Situated at the heart of the Lake District, Windermere is England's longest lake and is hugely popular with visitors. The bustling towns of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside are all waiting for you to explore. The more adventurous guest can enjoy a variety of water-based activities including water skiing, sailing,swimming or even a leisurely cruise.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome good natured pet dogs and assistance dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Lakeland adventure with your dog*. Somerooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

In July 2011 we opened Bradbury House, adjacent to the hotel, featuring seven new fabulous rooms including five Garden Rooms; each with it's own patio opening out onto the gardens. Bed and room configurations in the annexe are fully flexible and are ideal for larger families and groups.

The main hotel, a former Victorian retreat, has 28 well appointed and comfortable bedrooms. Many are suitable for families; all are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities and colour televisions. Many rooms have attractive balconies from which guests can enjoy the sunshine and stunning views across the lake to the Langdale Pikes and the mountains beyond. Guests can relax in the indoor heated pool or take pleasure wandering through the scent-filled grounds.

Meals are all freshly prepared to a high standard with an emphasis on quality local ingredients and relaxed dining, and are served in the Conservatory or in the dining room which was formerly a chapel.

Free Wi-Fi is offered in our public areas, this is available via BT Openzone throughout the hotel. However due to the style of the building, some rooms have limited access

Pets are allowed on request. A £5 charge per pet, per night applies.
*Only assistance dogs are allowed in the Restaurant of the Hotel.
Picture of Windermere Manor Hotel, WINDERMERE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 152 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Windermere Manor Hotel
A hotel for blind and disabled guests. Also for any type of tourist.The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a gym. and indoor pool.and the hotel is situated by the lake.

Reviewed by
Alan Graham

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was decent and in a great location and we had a excellent time.
Did feel the food needed some improvement as not a lot of variety on the menus for breakfast and evening meal at the restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Carr

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
Friendly and helpful staff, lovely surroundings. Family room was a really good size. Bathroom was disabled type wet room which meant everything in there got soggy but not a terrible issue. We weren't aware at booking that this hotel is designed for the visually impaired and that dogs stay there. I don't think it would have affected our decision to stay, but other people might not like it. As a result of the dogs (I assume) our room had a certain stale odour which we never got used to unfortunately. Breakfast was very good, children were welcome. A very nice hotel which just needs a tiny bit more attention to a few things to make it great.

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly indifferent views
Beautiful hotel, lovely surroundings, staff pleasant enough. I appreciate that this hotel caterers for the visually impaired who may have guide dogs but our room smelt of dogs and the drain in the shower room smelt too. A good dash of drain cleaner and carpet freshener would make all the difference.

Reviewed by
Reece M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent stay at Windermere manor hotel
Just been on a lovely stay at the above hotel. The accommodation offered was perfect, especially as I had mentioned my mobility problems. The staff were very courteous & helpful & the restaurant staff were so efficient attending to our every need. A very enjoyable stay & would definitely recommend to friends & stay again.

Reviewed by
Anthony Morrison

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clan Gathering
In a dream location. The room on second floor was lovely and large and very clean. There is no lift to the second floor. Paid for Lake view which didn't have and was told that it does when trees are bare! They were very good and refunded the premium that I had paid. Toilet roll holder and shower kept falling apart.

Reviewed by
Martin K

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel in very pleasant surroundings, room perfect for us, staff polite and friendly. Would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Tracy M

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice big room and comfort bed, but very bad soundproof and need more work on cleaning.
Swimming pool is absolutely small and very cold water. It will be a good hotel for price about 60 quids. But for this price, not really achive this standard.

Reviewed by
C Lin

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday stay
Excellent location detail to customer satisfaction

Reviewed by
R Barnard

From Bonby Brigg, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
From the moment we arrived, we were put at ease by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble at all. The room was very comfy, and clean, with a lovely view too !
I have no hesitation at all in recommending this hotel, and as soon as possible we will return.
The food was good, and well presented, each order was prepared separately, and as it was very hot whilst we were there, all credit to the chef and every one else for doing so well
We wet some lovely people there, a couple of guide dogs, and our only regret is that we didn't have chance to test out the pool

Reviewed by
Jo C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next