No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Windermere Manor Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
RAYRIGG ROAD , WINDERMERE, LA23 1ES
Windermere Manor Hotel is set in 3 acres of beautiful landscaped gardens and is a short walk away from the picturesque shores of Lake Windermere. Situated at the heart of the Lake District, Windermere is England's longest lake and is hugely popular with visitors. The bustling towns of Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside are all waiting for you to explore. The more adventurous guest can enjoy a variety of water-based activities including water skiing, sailing,swimming or even a leisurely cruise.

The hotel prides itself on its accessibility features that are particularly suited to the needs of visually impaired people. We welcome good natured pet dogs and assistance dogs and the hotel is the perfect point from which to start your Lakeland adventure with your dog*. Somerooms have been adapted to suit the needs of wheelchair users.

In July 2011 we opened Bradbury House, adjacent to the hotel, featuring seven new fabulous rooms including five Garden Rooms; each with it's own patio opening out onto the gardens. Bed and room configurations in the annexe are fully flexible and are ideal for larger families and groups.

The main hotel, a former Victorian retreat, has 28 well appointed and comfortable bedrooms. Many are suitable for families; all are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities and colour televisions. Many rooms have attractive balconies from which guests can enjoy the sunshine and stunning views across the lake to the Langdale Pikes and the mountains beyond. Guests can relax in the indoor heated pool or take pleasure wandering through the scent-filled grounds.

Meals are all freshly prepared to a high standard with an emphasis on quality local ingredients and relaxed dining, and are served in the Conservatory or in the dining room which was formerly a chapel.

Free Wi-Fi is offered in our public areas, this is available via BT Openzone throughout the hotel. However due to the style of the building, some rooms have limited access

Pets are allowed on request. A £5 charge per pet, per night applies.
*Only assistance dogs are allowed in the Restaurant of the Hotel.
Picture of Windermere Manor Hotel, WINDERMERE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 157 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Pleasant accomodation, friendly staff and great location

Reviewed by
Tracy Danks

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel very staff very friendly very good value for money room clean and very comfortable
We have had a lovely stay at this hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely freshly made to order with excellent service.
Would recommend this hotel to other travellers.

Reviewed by
Karen J

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

as expected by previous reviews

Reviewed by
P Capocci

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glimpses of Lake Windermere
A substantial building, well positioned on the edge of town. Comfortable bed. Generally very clean although we did that 'Four in a Bed' thing and I ran my finger along the tops of the pictures.... I didn't use the swimming pool but the rest of the family did and they loved it! The breakfast was really good- freshly cooked and well-presented. Very good for the £90 a room we paid through laterooms but I would have found it a bit pricey at the full advertised price of £145.

Reviewed by
G Nelson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for dog owners
Good location near Bowness, Windermere and Ambleside. Lovely gardens and great dog facilities- dog runs inc a night area, dog bed and bowls waiting in our room. Staff very friendly and welcoming.
Clean and a very good breakfast. Pool hours did not suit us so no use made of leisure facilities.
Caters very well for blind and disabled. Downside- a bit dated in decor and food choices in restaurant.

Reviewed by
C Atkinson

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasurable short stay
This hotel I would definately come back to. The staff could not have been more helpful, the service was excellent. It has a very friendly atmosphere, good facilities, especially the swimming pool. If I had to pick one shortcoming, the decor could do with a little uplift, but all in all a enjoyable stay. Set in lovely gardens and very close to Bowness, a great town.

Reviewed by
J Dixon

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, excellent value for money, staff helpful. Very well behaved dogs, great concept as non for profit hotel.

Reviewed by
Michelle R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice night's stop over....
A friendly hotel.Clean, but would benefit from refurbishment in some areas. How ever my room was comfortable and pleasant. The window would not open and was over hot. A very nice breakfast!

Reviewed by
Phyllis A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We booked for 1 night at the hotel .We enjoyed it that much we stayed a second night .The room was lovely and the staff were extremely helpful .Especially the lady on reception the first night we stayed 26th August .In fact nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff .Well done and we will see you again soon .

Reviewed by
Diane Eastwood

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st wedding anniversary break
We paid £120 per night for a 3 night stay to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Unfortunately we were disappointed. Generally the hotel had the feel and smell of a run down old peoples home. Our room was lovely but it stopped there! The "lake view" is non existent so don't pay the extra for it! The hotel is a good 20 mins walk from Windermere and 30mins from Bowness so a bit out of the way. The pool was desperately in need of attention with tiles hanging off and held in place with silver tape. The breakfast was poor, in fact the last morning we walked into Bowness and paid for breakfast instead. The choice was limited. The bacon was anaemic and fatty. The toast cold. No choice of cereals, yogurts, croissents etc. If you asked for fruit and yoghurt you were given 2 apples and a banana with a value yoghurt! Not what we expect at a £120 a night hotel!!

Reviewed by
n credland

From Barton upon Humber, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next