Reviews - Novotel Newcastle Airport



Price From 139.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (141)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Neil Ayers

  • April 2014

Well below average at an expensive price

Friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed but lacking in several areas overall.

Buffet breakfast was truly TERRIBLE and was a whopping £8.95 for not a lot. The bacon was more like beef jerky than bacon, overcooked, tough, dry and very chewy. The eggs were burnt, the toast was hard and burnt, the scrambled eggs were so buttery I was sure if I consuming pure butter or a 50/50 egg and butter mix. It was difficult to tell. The sausages were overcooked, dry and seemed to be of the "extremely cheap and nasty" variety. I wouldn't feed them to my dog. I felt so sick after trying to eat my way through a breakfast here that I went outside and threw up. I tried an evening meal to see if it would be better and to my surprise it wasn't as appalling as breakfast but came a close second. I had a burger and chips with a 'free' bread basket to start with. The butter was very hard (had this been cut from a frozen block of butter or something??) and the bread was also hard, it crunched when I bit into it. Is this normal. No. The main meal wasn't too bad actually and tasted pretty good with the exception that the bread on the burger was the cheapo mcdonalds style sweet sugared bun and again, was burnt. Do they have a chef that doesn't pay attention or something. Perhaps he just sets fire to the food and walks away and comes back when the fire has died down. I decided to skip breakfast on the Tuesday and sort my own breakfast but did opt for an evening meal in the hotel again. Mistake number three. This time the evening meal was appalling, I ordered a cheesy something club sandwich and oh what a surprise....the bread was burnt and hard. I neglected to bother with both the evening meal and breakfast on Wednesday evening.

When I came to check out I asked for a refund of the breakfast and this wasn't allowed. It was 6am in the morning and I had to be off to work and couldn't be bothered to argue. To add insult to injury it's £5 per night to park your car here. Do you get a secure car park. Nope. Do you get a covered car park. Nope. I'm not really sure what you do get for £5 per night extra on top of my bill. Perhaps nothing as I got with attempts to spend my money on breakfast or evening meals.

Verdict - I could have got a B & B for half this price and had twice the value for money.

  • S Hurley

  • April 2014

great value

Great value especially for the price.

I will use this hotel again

  • A Leeson

  • March 2014

Expensive by the time you pay for parking and breakfast. Sofa bed for the 2nd bed for a twin room.

I booked a twin room it turned out to be a double room with a sofa bed that was less comftable than a camp bed.

There was only one set of towels. Car parking is £5 a night breakfast is £13.95 each. I complained about there not being two proper beds or two sets of towels and the receptionist didn't seem interested at all just said I'd pass on my comments to the manager. I stay in a lot of hotels and by far this has been the most disappointing and over priced for such a poor room. I've stayed in lots of Ibis hotels in the Accor group and have always been very satisfied with the rooms and service.

  • ian h

  • March 2014

Dreadful management

You raise issues with the management and spend all their time blaming others instead of dealing with the issue.

Very poor, avoid at all costs

  • L Yan Hip-Palmer

  • March 2014

Spoiled birthday/romantic weekend.

We enjoyed our stay very much, but it was spoiled when we came out to return home to find our car had been broken into.

The hotel is in a secure car park with security cameras, but when asked if they covered the disabled spaces we were told by the duty manager that they were not. This put a dampener on our romantic/birthday weekend which then cost us £700 pounds, due to us having to have the window repaired and to replace the stolen satnav, plus the added stress and length it added to our trip due to us having to find the window repair outlet and the police station so we could make a statement.

  • A Lewis

  • February 2014

A pleasant good value hotel!

  • helen r

  • February 2014

The menu in the restaurant for dinner was the same as the previous 12 months when we visited, but the quality of the food was not as good on this occasion - food luck warm and my husband and step-son has fish, which was overcooked.

  • Raymond H

  • February 2014

Unclean room sink smelt when I put water on useless tv(12) channels max no wifi for for first 36hrs

A dump only good thing about this place was staff dirty room never changed our towels sink has problems as it smells when using it.

Tv was a absolute disgrace 12 chanels or £10 to watch movies and tv still only 12 chanels and the movies 6 family films in total and my son and I had seen them wifi for 1st 36hrs . And swimming pool had orange peel in overflow 2nd day and water was absolutely filthy the next night I wouldn't go back if it was free of charge nothing like room I booked online photo. Dont stay there. Never even had apology about the 4 visits to reception trying to get wifi sorted but did take the £10 they tried to rob me of to watch tv 1 out of 10 is bit high marks from my visit that nearly ruined my visit to see my son after 6 weeks let down badly and it's the 1st hotel in newcastle I won't return to in 9yrs 8 visits a year we have always spent at least to visits at each hotel

  • Rebecca O

  • February 2014

Happy travels

Really enjoyed our stay....lovely friendly & helpful staff.

Breakfast was lovely. Only 2 small little things...our family room felt a little too small & the other being that we weren't aware we would be paying for parking. Was in small print but not in section of "other charges" on the website we used.

A HUGE thumbs up for supplying a mini fridge. Hopefully will be back in future trips to the UK!

  • m davies

  • February 2014

convenient, cheap and clean.

Only down side was the room was very war, however we do like a cool home.

Didn't have the breakfast as too pricey. Took our own