No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Novotel Newcastle Airport

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Ponteland Road,Kenton , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE3 3HZ

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

This exclusive, modern hotel is easily accessible via all routes to the city centre, Metro shopping centre and airport. The metro station is a mere 7 minute walk from the hotel. A recent, extensive refurbishment has breathed new life into the Novotel Newcastle Airport Hotel. We strive to en-sure your stay will be the absolute pinnacle of convenience and so provide wonderfully comfortable, replenished public areas, flight-information screens in our reception, WiFi access in public areas and all bedrooms, 8 conference suites accommodating up to 200 delegates and a luxury suite exclusive to guests with indoor heated pool, sauna and gym. Our rooms are stylishly designed with your comfort in mind and are uniformly en-suite. Rooms contain double bed with luxury duvet, sofa, personal telephone, free WiFi access, satellite TV with radio and movies, tea & coffee making services, iron and ironing board and hairdryer. Dining consists of the brand, new Elements restaurant and bar offering a unique dining experience alongside a fabulous room service. Up to 2 children (under 16) can share adult’s room for free. Children enjoy a free breakfast when their parents have breakfast. Bookings of 3 rooms or more are covered by group terms and conditions. Groups are subject to a credit card authorization for each room on arrival and a 14 days cancellation policy. Full terms and conditions concerning groups are available direct from the hotel and will be issued on check-in. Additional cost: Breakfast: 13.95 GBP per person
Picture of Novotel Newcastle Airport, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 190 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wi Fi Connection
Disappointed that i could not charge the internet connection to my room account , was having to use a credit card to pay.

Reviewed by
r kerr

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall a pleasant stay , public areas were clean, staff helpful and polite , only issue was when room was cleaned the tea traywas not replenished or the bin emptied , otherwise very pleasant

Reviewed by
Dean W

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel - Slightly Leery
The hotel was fine for an over night stay with the kids. Only down side was a slightly rowdy hen party that kept us awake until 1ish. Not the end of the world.

Reviewed by
D Potts

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief Stopover
The visit was a bargain rate stopover. The hotel is an efficient airport or business hotel, clean and with a range of facilities. Dinner was good but breakfast was average. Parking is charged and signage is misleading. Decent value at the bargain rates but poor value at full price..

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly
Made the chasten fe exceptionally welcome.

Reviewed by
Donna L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel and great service
Lovely clean and well appointed hotel. Kids lived in the swimming pool and also loved the outdoor play area. Room OK but sofa bed a bit lumpy to be honest. What a bargain!

Reviewed by
Sarah K

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a superior room and loved the layout with separate toilet and shower room. ..excellent power shower. Door separating the toilet/wardrobe/coffee facilities from the rest of thr room was great as it meant no noise from the corridor could be heard. Great black out curtains ensured a good night's sleep. We are definitely going to book in again for a couple of nights in May so we can fully use the leisure facilities.

Reviewed by
L Richardson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel great location
Watch out for costs which are not advertised we choose this hotel because it is pet friendly but turned out to be £10 per dog per night which added £40 to our 2 night stay also they charge £5 per day parking which I was exempt from being a blue badge holder. Staff at the hotel very friendly.

Reviewed by
J Clark

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night's sleep before flying on holiday
Hotel staff very helpful, smooth check-in and room ideal for a restful night before flying out. Didn't use the bar or restaurant as we headed into town so can't really comment but it looked inviting enough. Didn't mind the £5 parking fee as the room rate was very reasonable but there was no airport shuttle as indicated on other reviews. All in all would stay again.

Reviewed by
Scott R

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well below average at an expensive price
Friendly helpful staff, comfortable bed but lacking in several areas overall.
Buffet breakfast was truly TERRIBLE and was a whopping £8.95 for not a lot. The bacon was more like beef jerky than bacon, overcooked, tough, dry and very chewy. The eggs were burnt, the toast was hard and burnt, the scrambled eggs were so buttery I was sure if I consuming pure butter or a 50/50 egg and butter mix. It was difficult to tell. The sausages were overcooked, dry and seemed to be of the "extremely cheap and nasty" variety. I wouldn't feed them to my dog. I felt so sick after trying to eat my way through a breakfast here that I went outside and threw up.
I tried an evening meal to see if it would be better and to my surprise it wasn't as appalling as breakfast but came a close second. I had a burger and chips with a 'free' bread basket to start with. The butter was very hard (had this been cut from a frozen block of butter or something??) and the bread was also hard, it crunched when I bit into it. Is this normal? No. The main meal wasn't too bad actually and tasted pretty good with the exception that the bread on the burger was the cheapo mcdonalds style sweet sugared bun and again, was burnt. Do they have a chef that doesn't pay attention or something? Perhaps he just sets fire to the food and walks away and comes back when the fire has died down.
I decided to skip breakfast on the Tuesday and sort my own breakfast but did opt for an evening meal in the hotel again. Mistake number three. This time the evening meal was appalling, I ordered a cheesy something club sandwich and oh what a surprise....the bread was burnt and hard. I neglected to bother with both the evening meal and breakfast on Wednesday evening.
When I came to check out I asked for a refund of the breakfast and this wasn't allowed. It was 6am in the morning and I had to be off to work and couldn't be bothered to argue.
To add insult to injury it's £5 per night to park your car here. Do you get a secure car park? Nope. Do you get a covered car park? Nope. I'm not really sure what you do get for £5 per night extra on top of my bill? Perhaps nothing as I got with attempts to spend my money on breakfast or evening meals.
Verdict - I could have got a B & B for half this price and had twice the value for money.

Reviewed by
Neil Ayers

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next