No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Swan

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
1 Church Street, Bradford on Avon, BA15 1LN
This enchanting 15th Century coaching inn is situated adjacent to the river in the heart of historic Bradford on Avon. Just 7 miles from Bath and 12 miles from Longleat Safari Park, the Swan has recently been completely refurbished to a modern standard, whilst retaining its traditional atmosphere and character.
The inn has earned itself an excellent reputation for traditional and modern food combined with great hospitality suitable for business or pleasure. Wireless internet access is available throughout and is free of charge.
Picture of The Swan, Bradford on Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly pub in lovely position
The Swan has great beer in comfy bars. Staff are lovely and rooms very clean although quirky in this old building.

Reviewed by
sylvia r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were given room 14 after being told we were unable to have the room we booked. The room when we arrived was freeZing cold and the bed was really small and very hard not suitable for 2 people..not worth the £90 we paid...but the breakfast was very good and is a very nice place

Reviewed by
Alastair J

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unexpected delight
I stayed on a Sunday night with my partner who had a business appointment the following morning. We don't know the area but were so pleased we found this gem of a hotel in such a nice setting.. The old world charm has been largely kept although there are Thai touches which somehow didn't feel out of place.Our room was spotless with all the modern amenities but the old uneven floors are a lovely reminder of the hotel's age. We ate dinner and breakfast in the dining room, 2 delicious meals in a really nice dining room ( the home made marmalade was particularly good! ) The staff were lovely too, very friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer as Bradford On Avon is such a pretty place, with plenty of areas to explore, but we will hopefully be returning and will definitely stay in the Swan Hotel again. One extra bonus was there was plenty of car parking.

Reviewed by
janice h

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not suitable for guests with food allergies
As a small hotel we found the swan clean and fit for purpose. However the hotel were advised 3 week in advance that one of us required gluten free food, they catered for this by just taking anything with gluten off the plate leaving my wife with a very small cooked breakfast and very limited options at the buffet table. Some hotels provide GF food, others compensate by giving extra bacon or eggs instead of the sausages etc, other places would not charge the full breakfast fee for providing 50% of the breakfast. The Swan did non of these things.

Reviewed by
S Dawes

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only stayed one night. The accommodation was adequate if a little expensive for what it was. We only ate breakfast here preferring to eat out elsewhere however when we returned for the evening there was a singer in the bar who can only be described as awful. The bar and restaurant seemed to lack any atmosphere but generally the staff were helpful.

Reviewed by
Kate T

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional With A Twist
A proper, traditional inn with stone-flagged hallways and etched glass doors. Right in the middle of Bradford-On-Avon, so no problems with getting around; AND with car-parking that you don't have to pay for. Room décor to a high standard, although pretty much what you'd expect for the price (single travellers nearly always get penalised). Oh, and the shower was great - lots of water pressure and no hint of the usual B&B hokey-cokey as the water temperature alternates between boiling and freezing. On the downside the walls were a tad too thin for my liking - on the first night I could hear the TV in the room next door above my own, plus nearly every word he spoke into his mobile phone, so I was glad he was also a single traveller...On the whole, very pleasant indeed.

Reviewed by
Kate D

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very poor accommodation
Before writing this review, I took the trouble of writing to the management of the hotel in order to give them a chance to redeem themselves. So it was no real surprise that I received no reply. I therefore feel obliged to let others know what very poor accommodation is provided at the Swan Hotel Bradford on Avon. We booked a 2 night stay for 18th and 19th of July and were looking forward to our weekend in this beautiful Town. even before being given our keys I could tell what the accommodation would be like. The reception area is very grubby and chaotic and the stairs to the room had not been cleaned. The alcoves on the stairs were particularly dirty. We were given room (more like a cell actually) 4 which is a single room into which has been shoehorned a double bed with little room for much else. there was access to only one side of the bed with only one bedside cabinet and light. the carpet was stained and had not been vacuumed. The heavy window blind could not be opened because there was no cord attached, and the person showing us the room told us this and said others had complained and it should have been fixed.There were coffee stains (I think?) on the inside of the bathroom door and the general standard of cleanliness was very poor. Security was also an issue as the lock was hanging off the architrave and the architrave itself was coming away from the door frame such that I could have easily pushed the "locked" door open with one finger. All in all, a very bad experience and at £120 per night, a complete rip off. On the positive side, I should say that the staff were friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
terry6 g

From Salisbury, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
We stayed at the Swan for our anniversary weekend and it was a brilliant weekend the hotel was lovely and the staff very very help full very happy and really brilliant, no thing was to much trouble for any of them and they all worked extremely hard. The food in the restaurant was excellent and they had a huge open fire, all in all I would really recommend it. Bradford on Avon is very pretty with nice tea rooms!!! Yes go and visit.

Reviewed by
Amanda Smith

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well worthy visit
The staff cannot do enough for their guests.
The young lad called Dominic was made sure all our needs were met what ever we requested.
Little touches like bottle water in the room and biscuits. Which many 4 star hotels do not offer .
It was central to the town and with free parking was a bonus .
Well Done Swam Hotel !

Reviewed by
Tony S

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Swan
Our room was comfortable. The hotel is in need of re-decorating in certain areas, some of which was under-way during our stay which meant watching out for wet paint.... The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for exploring the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
J Howard

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next