No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - River House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Malham Yorkshire Dales, Malham, bd23 4da
The River House is a family run 4* guesthouse serving award winning, AA accredited dinner and breakfasts. We use only locally sourced products in our kitchen, and cater for all dietary requirements.

We are exceptionally well located - surrounded by beautiful, rolling countryside of the Yorkshiredales and within easy reach of Skipton, Harrogate and Kendal in the lakes.
A building brimming with character, River House is riddled with idiosyncratic twists and touches. Parts of the house date back as far as 1664, the front of the house is Victorian whilst the restaurant and lounge bar was once the village dance hall called "St Georges hall".

The restaurant offers a cosy setting for a leisurely meal, the spacious and comfortable lounge bar allows you to relax with a drinks with a wood burning stove for the chilly months of the year.

Other facilities and services include free Wi-Fi, private parking, a lockable garage for bikes, a packed lunch service and laundry and drying room.

Smoking :- River house, is totally no smoking throughout, PLEASE NOTE should you smoke in this room, a extra charge of £100 will be made to you as we will be unable to re let the room as non smoking.
Picture of River House, Malham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really comfy
Like the place a lot. Breakfast tasty, very friendly owners, comfy room

Reviewed by
M Cook

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We'll be back!
Wonderful location, delicious breakfasts, all very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Rosemary S

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

River House
I hate a lovely stay at River House, it was a shame it was business, as the location was fantastic.

Reviewed by
R Fordham

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect relaxing weekend in a beautiful part of the country and made to feel most welcome.
After looking for a part of the country where we hadn't visited before for a relaxing break from work and 4 teenagers we felt we had made the perfect choice in our B&B, not just based on the beautiful peaceful location but from the moment we arrived we were made to feel most welcome.
The River House B&B is very clean, quiet, the room was a touch small but adequate and had everything, we would have preferred a room with a bath, especially after our long walk but our room was shower only but that is nit picking because otherwise it was perfect.
There are two pubs in the village, one next door and one over a bridge 2 minutes away (by foot).
The Bull Inn next door has lovely food at reasonable prices the one over the bridge seemed a tad expensive. Incidentally the Bull Inn allows dogs in one side and has a pool table.
If you are looking for somewhere to go for a nice walk then this is the place, there is an abundance of walks both long and short, with plenty to see Janets Foss, Gordale Scar, Malham Tarn to name a few but remember these walks start right outside the B&B no need to drive anywhere!
If you fancy a drive out then we would recommend Ingleborough Caves, a beautiful walk to the caves, one and a quarter miles (remember this as you may think you have gone the wrong way like we did and turn back only to have to walk it all again)! It was worth it though.
To sum up we had the wettest weekend ever but it did not spoil our weekend because the B&B and it's location were just perfect.

Reviewed by
D Swadkins

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival and good local information was provided by the couple who ran the place. Room was nice with clean and functional on suite bathroom. It did feel a little cold in the room, but the provision of an extra heater sorted this out. The breakfast was amazing and a real effort was made for us vegetarians! Would stay here again but for longer next time!

Reviewed by
danielle b

From England
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for visiting the dales
Owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts excellent. Felt as if you were in the countryside to even having chickens peering through the window into dinning room.

Reviewed by
D Howe

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

walking break
The accomodation was lovely and very welcoming. Excellent location for walkers, literally start from the front door. A beautiful part of the world with some spectacular scenary that is easily accessable. A hearty breakfast after a comfortable nights sleep, pleasant and friendly attention, will definately return there.

Reviewed by
Patricia B

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good quality b+b
All good, breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
G BAILEY

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and Accomodating
WE were made very welcome and given help and advice, the breakfast was wonderful, Malham was beautiful, we would certainly return.

Reviewed by
Susan Wheatley

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and comfortable with lovely people running it xx

Reviewed by
Shane Glover

From Heanor, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next