No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Star Tavern

5AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
28, Oxford Street, Southampton, SO14 3DJ
Welcome to The White Star Tavern, a classically vibrant and wholesome boutique Inn at the heart of the city. We are surrounded by art and culture, maritime heritage and a cosmopolitan atmosphere right on our door step. Central to an animated and energetic scene at the weekend, this is a fantastic location for a city getaway, a chance to see the city's sights and sounds at its finest, and of course the occasional bin man on a fresh weekday morning! We have converted an old historic building, which dates back to 1800’s as a small hotel to create an urban, contemporary, boutique inn whilst maintaining its historic quirks and character. We are a lively, vibrant yet personal city centre inn that has been awarded 5AA stars for our bedroom amenities, friendly service and hospitality. Our bespoke en-suite rooms are designed to embellish all the familiar comforts. Soft Egyptian linen, stunning bathrooms with oversized showers, Wi-Fi and 19" Freeview flat screen TV's - not forgetting the important touches like mini bars stocked with your favourite products and personal safes big enough for your laptop, come as standard. Recently awarded 2 Rosettes for food, we pride ourselves on producing locally sourced food which is served at a modest price. A cracking wine list, award winning ales, and mastered cocktails gives you plenty to choose from. Whatever the occasion, we work hard to make The White Star Tavern your venue of choice.
Picture of The White Star Tavern, Southampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok place not sure would pay £150 without breakfast which is what was quoted on Monday yet the night before was£105 with breakfast. Room ok very warm even though heating wasn't on. Food good nothing special

Reviewed by
Timothy M

From Harpenden, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room
I was new to Southampton and found the hotel to be in buzzing part of town with lots of restaurants. The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated - but weirdly too hot. Didn't want to open the window due to the noise from the street below.
The manager sorted out an early breakfast for us on Sunday morning (8 am) as we had to leave before they normally serve, which was really appreciated.

Reviewed by
Clare D

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice city room alternative to a hotel!
Enjoyed the night at the White Star! Would definitely stay there again!

Reviewed by
A MacDonald

From Santa Cruz, USA
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location
Nice hotel
rooms facing high street noisy late at night/early morning otherwise nicely appointed rooms. Staff very helpful, street parking or carpark some 500 yards away NCP.
within in easy reach of the bars, restaurants

Reviewed by
Andy Riddle

From Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, great location, but lack of attention to detail
Location is good, but can be noisy at night. The place has character and the staff are friendly, and the restaurant food is always a treat. Lack of attention to detail is irritating (e.g. problems with hot water, only one water glass & bottle in a double room, meager toiletries), and questions the 5* rating.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Visited the White Star Tavern for the second time, only overnight, but marvellous hotel. Cosy room, last time was bigger, but didn't spoil our stay.
Few problems with the shower but this was sorted, they couldn't do enough for us.
Very friendly staff, excellent food, and there was a live band on when we arrived, great musical taste.
Definitely recommend and will stay again.

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok stay for one night in Southampton
Dark room, bed lumpy and uncomfortable. Bathroom light over sink not working, broken toilet seat and no not water in the evening, fortunately there was hot water in the morning. Breakfast was ok, omelette over cooked and would have preferred the maple syrup in a jug on the side instead of being soaked in my pancakes. I think it's overpriced for the quality of the room bearing in mind it's above a pub.

Reviewed by
Natalie C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't say the room was a 5* but was clean and modern. All staff were very friendly and helpfull! It does get very noisy on a weekend but as we were a young couple this didn't bother us! Overall a lovely hotel and would definitely go back :)

Reviewed by
C Higgins

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay!
Not having visited Southampton before we were unsure where to stay, and the white star came up trumps. We were running to early for check-in but we phoned the hotel to explain we were due at the quay for a re letter experience and they prepared our room for us early. Extremely courteous staff met us we arrived and took all our luggage up to the room. from that moment on our stay was fantastic. All within 300 yds along Oxford St there are several very nice restaurants and bars, Cargo staying open til 3am at the weekend if you want to stay out late. A true gem in a lovely Street would thoroughly reccommend!!!!

Reviewed by
Toby C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value...but needs Aircon!
Overall, good value for money. Especially over the bank holiday weekend. The only gripe I had was the fact that there was no air conditioning in the room, just a fan. It was too noisy on the street to leave the windows open, yet too hot in the room to keep them closed. So we didn't get much sleep with the noise outside. Besides that, the stay was rather pleasant.

Reviewed by
Marc J

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next