Scafell Hotel

3

Rosthwaite Borrowdale, Keswick, CA12 5 XB

Price From 268.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Brown

  • February 2015

Decent accommodation but over-priced

Overall the hotel was very good with the majority of the staff being very attentive and helpful.

The breakfast was excellent and the room was well appointed. It was let down by a couple of points though. The first was the welcome we received. The receptionist was on a personal phone call when we arrived which she continued for around 5 minutes whilst we stood waiting to be checked in - this gave a very poor first impression. The other was the price of the accommodation: significantly greater than other places in the area but not supported by any special attributes of the hotel.

  • Colin O

  • August 2014

A quiet room in a very comfortable country hotel with residents' bar, separate lounge and good restaurant.

I really enjoyed my weekend stay.

  • richard clancy

  • August 2014

Only an overnight stay but a great place to stay ,good value top service and food ,would fully recom

Staff polite and friendly v well run would thoroughly recommend

  • D Thompson

  • August 2014

Nice hotel in beautiful location

We spent two nights at the hotel and had a great time, helped by the fantastic weather.

The room was comfortable, and the food and friendly service in the Riverside Bar were excellent. Only downside was the poor wifi in the hotel.

  • William Clarke

  • July 2014

Excellent situation and attractive premises

We were taking part in a sponsored mountain climbing event and found the hotel very conveniently situated.

A very relaxed yet efficient atmosphere. We'd happily go again and will probably do so.

  • J McPhail

  • July 2014

Short breakaway

First time off staying here and highly recommended, the staff were fantastic friendly and really helpful, the room was really nice very clean, the restaurant was second to none, great quality food, breakfast to was really nice to, will definitely be staying again.

  • Andrew O

  • April 2014

Accommodation

This is the second time we have stayed at Scafell and once again the accommodation, service and food has been excellent.

The room was first class with everything you need. The staff are a credit to the hotel, very friendly and welcoming and always had time to speak with you. Breakfast was exceptional and catered for all.

  • R Harris

  • April 2014

A great short stay

A lovely traditional hotel, in a quiet location (no mobile phone coverage!) with great views.

The breakfasts are very good with a choice of continental (fruit, cheese, cold meats) or a more traditional full English. There is a lounge for guests, which although we did not use it, would be ideal if you just want to sit and relax looking at the views of the fells. Within a couple of miles there are walks to suit the energetic or less energetic, or Keswick is only 20 minutes away if you want somewhere a bit busier.

  • S Winter

  • October 2013

Lovely hotel.

Friendly and helpful staff. Very clean and rooms cosy and modern. After an extremely wet hike up Hellvellyn the staff take your wet boots and clothing and dry overnight ready for the morning.

  • Joyce R

  • September 2013

A last minute visit.

A late trip to Lake District to meet up with friends walking Coast to coast.

Having just returned from a 4week tour of USA and Canada we found the quaint but very cramped. To get yo one side of the bed you had to side step round the desk. The double bed was small. We enjoyed the one night, the bar food was good and I believe the beer was tasty. Breakfast was 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon etc. the price we felt was expensive for what we got.