No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dorset Arms

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Dorset Ave , Wallsend, NE28 8DX
The Dorset Arms has long been established as one of the best Bed and Breakfast hotels in the Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear region. A family run bed and breakfast, we pride ourselves on quality homemade food, real ale and of course a warm North East welcome!

We offer high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in a variety of rooms as well as our award winning Centurion Restaurant, a beautiful bar with beer garden and a private function room giving you all the hospitality you need to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Situated at Wallsend we are within 3km of both Newcastle upon Tyne City Centre and the Tyneside coast, the hotel is also ideally located for Northumberland, Hadrian's Wall, the Gateshead Metro Centre and Durham City Centre. We are happy to offer guidance on the many local attractions and events which include; The Segedunum Roman Fort, The Great North Run & Bike Ride, The George Stephenson Trail, The Rising Sun Park and many others. We are dedecated to helping you enjoy your stay in the North East.

For superb a Bed and Breakfast, excellent food & accommodation and a warm North East welcome, come and stay at the Dorset Arms hotel in the heart of the North East of England.
Picture of Dorset Arms, Wallsend at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff where excellent the rooms are very smart and its within easy travelling distance to the city
centre

Reviewed by
sharon k

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Stayed at the weekend. Very good value. Big impressive room. Bar area was great, nice pint, juke box & good darts area

Reviewed by
V Fairclough

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find
We stayed at the Dorset Arms as our son was celebrating his engagement nearby. The room was comfortable and of a good size, as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and attentive. There is a beautiful garden at the back of the hotel. We would definitely recommend it to others staying in the area.

Reviewed by
j hainey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Brill staff , clean room good value would stay agen, staff even helped with broke down car x

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely gardens, room equally nice
We stayed at The Dorset arms Hotel as it was the venue for my son and his girlfriend's engagement partty. We found the gardens delightful and weren't disappointed with our room. It was spacious and clean with a double and single bed. the bathroom was large and well appointed but just a sahower - no bath. There were tea & coffee making facilities and a safe. The run of built in wardrobes was impressive and even a small flat screen TV. We enjoyed the party and liked the fact we just climbed the stairs to our room. Breakfast was served in the lovely restaurant with open french doors onto the garden. I had the continental which is included in the price which was good: croissants, pain au chocolat, orance juice, cereals, toast & jams etc. My husband paid £5.99 for the full english, it was huge but he ate it all and said it was lovely. stan the proprietor wasa welcoming as were the rest of the staff. For the price of £54 per room per night I was impressed and will definately go back.

Reviewed by
Isobel Weston

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room in a local. Busy (and noisy) on a Saturday night. Breakfast dissapointing.
We arrived late - friendly reception at the bar and also from people in the pub (who assumed we were there to watch the Big Fight on the TV). Room was clean, roomy and everything worked well. Sat in the garden and enjoyed a beer (no real ales - but plenty of other choices). After finishing went up to our room - which was noisy until about midnight. The sound from the bar felt like it was in our room. Breakfast was standard cereals, coffee tasted like instant, yoghurt (sweetened and guar gum). The cooked breakfast ('full english') consisted of three tinned tomatoes, one sausage a nice rasher of bacon and a fried egg, which seemed to have been fried about an hour earlier. This qualifies for the worst cooked breakfast I have had in and English B&B. There was a packet of white sliced bread to make toast and plenty of butter and nice marmalade + jam. The check out was smooth and friendly.

Reviewed by
Malcolm H

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
Jane W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Thanks to all at the hotel. Plenty of useful information about the area

Reviewed by
P Owen

From Newton-Le-Willows, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dorset Arms Hotel
Myself and a group of friends stayed in the Dorset Arms as we where having a night out in Newcastle. The staff in the hotel where very nice and helpful and the rooms were fairly clean. For us the hotel was not ideal as it was too far from the city centre, we ended up paying a lot out in taxi fare which could have been put towards a hotel closer to the centre. The heating appeared to be on a timer which came on just before we left for our night out and was off by the time we got back, when we got up in the morning the rooms where freezing. The check out time was 10am which is earlier than any hotel i have stayed in before so the morning was a bit of a rush.
all in all the stay at the Dorset was a pleasant one but i dont think i would stay again as i would prefer to be closer to Newcastle next time

Reviewed by
Paige F

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold room
I thought the room was lovely especially for what we paid but unfortunately what matters most is getting a good night sleep. My bed was right under a drafty window, the heating was hardly on and I spent most of the night shivering, trying to sleep. I wish I had said something to the owner because he seemed lovely and I'm sure he will look into it. I stayed in room 4 .

Reviewed by
S Vizor

From Cottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next