No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dorset Arms

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
Dorset Ave , Wallsend, NE28 8DX
The Dorset Arms has long been established as one of the best Bed and Breakfast hotels in the Newcastle upon Tyne, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear region. A family run bed and breakfast, we pride ourselves on quality homemade food, real ale and of course a warm North East welcome!

We offer high quality bed and breakfast accommodation in a variety of rooms as well as our award winning Centurion Restaurant, a beautiful bar with beer garden and a private function room giving you all the hospitality you need to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Situated at Wallsend we are within 3km of both Newcastle upon Tyne City Centre and the Tyneside coast, the hotel is also ideally located for Northumberland, Hadrian's Wall, the Gateshead Metro Centre and Durham City Centre. We are happy to offer guidance on the many local attractions and events which include; The Segedunum Roman Fort, The Great North Run & Bike Ride, The George Stephenson Trail, The Rising Sun Park and many others. We are dedecated to helping you enjoy your stay in the North East.

For superb a Bed and Breakfast, excellent food & accommodation and a warm North East welcome, come and stay at the Dorset Arms hotel in the heart of the North East of England.
Picture of Dorset Arms, Wallsend at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On arrival we checked in and were shown to our room, which was presented very well as was the rest of the hotel. The room was nice and clean, beds were comfortable and the staff were pleasant and very helpful. We would definitely stay there again, overall a great experience.

Reviewed by
Matthew H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking The Wall
My wife and I picked this accommodation to rest the first night after travling from Devon, before we embarked on the 84mile hike on hadrians wall. What a hotel it was, it took dogs, the staff were very friendly, the owner was very helpful. The hotel was very clean and tidy, food very good, all at a good price. The start of the wall was only 800 meters,so if your a dog owner walking the wall this is the place to stay. For none walkers wanting a night out in newcastle the metro is just down the road. Would book again. Vj and Emma plus Riley the dog

Reviewed by
victor williams

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

greeted warmly,good atmosphere,rooms were spacious,excellent value,landlord made us very welcome.
Just finished Hadrians wall walk over 5 days,great place,had excellent evening & food,would recommend it to anybody else after a good walk!

Reviewed by
richard duck

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

grate place to stay
I enjoyed staying at the Dorset arms the owner Stan is lovely and friendly he makes you welcome and part of the family the staff here are also the same I have stayed here a few times and will return again love the place

Reviewed by
Faye Louise Davis

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value Budget accommodation
Stayed in room 7 which was a bit small for a double room but adequate, the only problem was the boiler was in our room so kept flaring up at various times, also there seemed to be some kind of industrial fan outside our en suite and this seemed to go off approx every 10 minutes or so throughout the night which did impact on our sleep.
The hotel and staff were fine and all seemed to be very friendly, breakfast was also fine.

Reviewed by
Jeanette S

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff where excellent the rooms are very smart and its within easy travelling distance to the city
centre

Reviewed by
sharon k

From Motherwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Stayed at the weekend. Very good value. Big impressive room. Bar area was great, nice pint, juke box & good darts area

Reviewed by
V Fairclough

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Find
We stayed at the Dorset Arms as our son was celebrating his engagement nearby. The room was comfortable and of a good size, as was the bathroom. The staff were friendly and attentive. There is a beautiful garden at the back of the hotel. We would definitely recommend it to others staying in the area.

Reviewed by
j hainey

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
Brill staff , clean room good value would stay agen, staff even helped with broke down car x

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely gardens, room equally nice
We stayed at The Dorset arms Hotel as it was the venue for my son and his girlfriend's engagement partty. We found the gardens delightful and weren't disappointed with our room. It was spacious and clean with a double and single bed. the bathroom was large and well appointed but just a sahower - no bath. There were tea & coffee making facilities and a safe. The run of built in wardrobes was impressive and even a small flat screen TV. We enjoyed the party and liked the fact we just climbed the stairs to our room. Breakfast was served in the lovely restaurant with open french doors onto the garden. I had the continental which is included in the price which was good: croissants, pain au chocolat, orance juice, cereals, toast & jams etc. My husband paid £5.99 for the full english, it was huge but he ate it all and said it was lovely. stan the proprietor wasa welcoming as were the rest of the staff. For the price of £54 per room per night I was impressed and will definately go back.

Reviewed by
Isobel Weston

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next