No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Radisson BLU Hotel Durham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
FRANKLAND LANE , DURHAM, DH1 5TA

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

We had a lovely stay, from the moment we arrived and the greeting from the receptionist to the service in the dining room.

Nestled on a lovely bend of the River Wear, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham offers beautiful views of the Cathedral and the old city of Durham and close to cultural attractions, shopping areas and businesses.

Durham is well known for its ancient Cathedral and for being the home of the third oldest university in England. Designed for comfort, the hotel's standard rooms come with excellent amenities such as a flat screen plasma TV, dedicated work space and complimentary high-speed internet access.

All rooms are designed in soothing brown and red tones. The hotel invites guests to enjoy a very stylish, contemporary Italian experience at the Filini Restaurant and Bar. Guests will be tempted with an innovative menu, all complemented by breathtaking views to the River Wear and of the historic city and famous Cathedral. The hotel also has leisure facilities which include pool, state-of-the-art gymnasium, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi.

Please note, only guaranteed reservations accepted for the dates 22- 26 June 2015. Over these dates, all booked need to be prepaid in full at the time of booking and are non-refundable and non-cancellable
Picture of Radisson BLU Hotel Durham , DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 237 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General review
really liked this hotel from arrival to departure. Excellent value for money. I will probably stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Nye

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
I stayed over as I was attending a wedding in the local area. I booked the room via a discount internet site which made the cost of the room an excellent deal. Therefore, based on this the breakfast and room were well worth the money. The staff within the hotel provided a good service and were always happy to help.

Reviewed by
Diana P

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

T & C On Tour
Radisson BLU is a smashing hotel with a great location in Durham. The hotel has a nice, sumptuous feel to it, although, it feels to have more of a 'business' edge to it as oppose to 'leisure'. Not really sure what the 'BLU' bit is about, but the rooms were clean, tidy and very comfortable.

Reviewed by
T McMillan

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nothing was to much trouble to the staff very friendly and with a smile on their face the hotel is lovely very clean only problem I had was the carpet in bedroom had a red stain on hotel did offer to move our room but as it would of been on a higher floor we just put up with it I had wanted to upgrade but these also on top floor which to me isn't suitable as im scared stiff of lifts and to old for the stairs was offered upgrade to be put on the rom we had but didn't think it was worth an extra £30 per night with the big red stain. but apart from that I couldn't fault it great hotel

Reviewed by
H Dunning

From Filey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location,pleasant walk to the city centre .parking should be free to guests

Reviewed by
Mark B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but expected higher standards for price paid
Room overlooked the river which was great. Room was reasonably spacious and clean but lacked attention to detail I would have expected - especially as we paid £224 per night for this accommodation (double what I usually pay for a 3/4 star hotel...). Hole in towel, only coffee sachets for 2 cups, being examples. Very basic. The cooked breakfast was quite frankly mediocre to awful. Tasteless and bland. Finally, being charged £7.00 per night to park your car in hotel car park was slightly outrageous. Would not recommend staying unless you are desperate!

Reviewed by
Mary P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was a graduation visit which unfortunately inflated the prices+++

Reviewed by
Wendy P

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Class
Nice room, good bed, lovely view. Net curtain would have allowed us to look out without loads of insects coming in! Shower temp a bit erratic and WHY do double rooms only ever have one 'desk' type chair!!!?

Reviewed by
P Jackson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So central to the city centre and in easy walking distance for night life. People very friendly and staff at hotel very helpful and pleasant. Thank you:)

Reviewed by
J Nicholls

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel spoilt by poor service at breakfast
This is a large hotel and there was a wedding party staying the night we stayed. We went down to breakfast on Sunday morning to find a queue and we were asked to wait for "10-15 minutes" for a table. I have never experienced such service before. In fact there were plenty of tables but not enough staff to clear them. The hotel should have planned their staffing better when they would have known they would be busy. We also had to wait for coffee to be brought to the table. On top of that a large bottle of still water was charged at £4.50! Will take my own next time!!

Reviewed by
T Cook

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next