No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Radisson BLU Hotel Durham

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
FRANKLAND LANE , DURHAM, DH1 5TA

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

We had a lovely stay, from the moment we arrived and the greeting from the receptionist to the service in the dining room.

Nestled on a lovely bend of the River Wear, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham offers beautiful views of the Cathedral and the old city of Durham and close to cultural attractions, shopping areas and businesses.

Durham is well known for its ancient Cathedral and for being the home of the third oldest university in England. Designed for comfort, the hotel's standard rooms come with excellent amenities such as a flat screen plasma TV, dedicated work space and complimentary high-speed internet access.

All rooms are designed in soothing brown and red tones. The hotel invites guests to enjoy a very stylish, contemporary Italian experience at the Filini Restaurant and Bar. Guests will be tempted with an innovative menu, all complemented by breathtaking views to the River Wear and of the historic city and famous Cathedral. The hotel also has leisure facilities which include pool, state-of-the-art gymnasium, steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi.

Please note, only guaranteed reservations accepted for the dates 22- 26 June 2015. Over these dates all booked need to be prepaid in full 30 days prior to arrival and are non-refundable and non-cancellable
Picture of Radisson BLU Hotel Durham , DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 247 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel
Very clean and tidy. All staff were really nice and helpful. Room and spa facilities were excellent and breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Neil Robshaw

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay, best hotel in Durham! Will be returning.

Reviewed by
C Trotter

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value hotel
Excellent all round

Reviewed by
leslie e

From Berwick upon Tweed, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my first visit to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
This was my first visit to the hotel. I was very impressed with the service, any queries i had were resolved by staff. The staff were polite and very professional at all times. Myself and my partner were very impressed with the hotel and the walking distance to shops, resturants and local pubs.

Reviewed by
jacqueline parry

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typical of the chain
Stayed for 3 nights in 'Business' class room. Room very clean and functional - you don't stay at a large chain hotel expecting 'character'. The breakfasts were only average - bit of a bun fight as 2 coach tours were staying at the same time. We weren't able to reserve a table for dinner on two nights because of the coach parties but this wasn't a real problem as the hotel is so central and there are lots of restaurants nearby. The only, and significant problem was the awful noise made by the wind rattling air conditioning vents. This made sleep impossible until we purchased ear plugs. It is obviously a design fault and the individual hotel could do nothing about it so we didn't complain - but Radisson ought to look at the issue as they charge a great deal for their rooms - so you would expect to be able to sleep!

Reviewed by
Christine B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay
Easy booking in, lovely room.
Breakfast buffet including cooked items, cereal, pastries available until 10:30, so no rush.
Hotel really convenient for Durham centre.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.
A really nice break.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Had a lovely two night stay 11/12 Aug. Staff very helpful. Room very spacious. Food in restaurant good but small portions. Very busy at times too so ask if there are any tours booked in and choose your meal time carefully! Five mins walk from the railway station and five mins walk to the city centre so ideal location.

Reviewed by
Debbie Nielsen

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip down memory lane...
We have stayed here many times as our daughter studied at the University in Durham for six years! Now she has moved to pastures new we decided on a nostalgic trip back to the Radisson to see Durham again. The room was very, very quiet (despite the hotel being booked to capacity - including a bridal shower!!) The room was also spotlessly clean, the staff were helpful, polite and obliging. Breakfast (at additional cost) is brilliant. It is a buffet style breakfast and EVERYTHING is there you could possibly want (and if it isn't they will make it for you!) and you can eat as much as you like with tea/coffee/drinks/fruit juices on tap. My only reservation with the Radisson is the cost. At £157.00 per night just for bed & breakfast (and this was through LateRooms) I think it is over-priced and they are in danger of pricing themselves out of the short stay market. To make matters worse, a car-park fee of £7 (even for disabled badge holders) is taking over-pricing just one step too far. Durham is a nightmare for parking and the Radisson are exploiting this fact to the full! Yes I would go again as I love it, but a comment from a friend on our arrival back home summed up how we felt…"back home already? I thought you would have stayed longer"….our reply? "At £164 a night for a basic standard room?..couldn't afford it!!!!"

Reviewed by
M Baker

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel and very friendly staff

Reviewed by
RICHARD S

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked a night away for my wife and I to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderfull break.
Stratford so helpful couldn't do enough for us. Ideal location close enough to city centre. Will stay again.

Reviewed by
sean long

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next