No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kilbrannan Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
14 Trafalgar Road, Great Yarmouth, NR30 2LD
Kilbrannan Guest House is situated within very easy walking distance from Great
Yarmouth seafront and town centre alike, which makes most attractions and shops
accessible by foot in minutes.
We offer a supreme quality 4 star licensed Guest House with additional Silver
Award and Breakfast Award. In 2010 & 2012 we were also awarded 'Greater Yarmouth
Tourist Authoritiy's' Guest Accommodation of the Year, in 2010 we won
'Enterprise GY's' Great Leisure & Tourism Business of the Year and in 2013 we
won 'Enterprise GY's 'Customer Service award'. Our commitment to excellent
customer service is reflected also in our 'World Host' recognition.

The many facilities in each room include DVD players, hairdryers, Flat Screen
TVs, good sized fridge, fresh daily towels, assorted toiletries and much much
more. Free WIFI access is also available and parking is free.

Our award winning breakfasts are prepared and cooked freshly by our resident
chef using the best quality, locally sourced and home made ingredients so you
are guaranteed to start each day with a feeling of fulfillment.
Whether you want the full works or something lighter we have it all and all
diets are catered for.
Picture of Kilbrannan Guest House, Great Yarmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our recent stay
Spotless, top breakfast, warm welcome and conveniently situated.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super accommodation, fab breakfast and a very warm welcome!
We stayed at Kilbrannon in April 2014 for a short break. It's a lovely guest house and Julie and Gary are so friendly and welcoming. The room was great, so spacious and clean. And the breakfast was amazing, they even whipped up a vegetarian full English. Highly recommended!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are cleaned daily and include everything you would need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Our breakfasts are made/ prepared using the best quality, locally sourced or homemade ingredients and are cooked freshly without a need to pre order anything. Cooking this way ensures we can cater for all diets with no problem. We hope to see you both again next time. Warm regards, Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
Jennifer B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
Very friendly hosts who helped make our stay a lovely weekend

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our hospitality. We hope to see you again next. Regards Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
Ann Goodridge

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accomodation
Booked this late after reading excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. One of the best Guest houses we have stayed in. Very welcoming, excellent room and facilities. The freshly daily refilled hospitality tray with all the extra treats and thoughtful extras in the room made our stay very pleasurable. Nothing was too much trouble. The food quality and variety offered top notch. Would definately book again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review, we work hard to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us so to hear you were happy makes it worthwhile. Our breakfasts are made using the best quality, local ingredients and also some home made all of which as you know are cooked freshly with no need to pre order anything. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B!!
My partner and I can give nothing but praise to Kilbrannan guest house, from the moment we arrived everything was perfect.
Our room was lovely and spacious, modern with all amenities, not to mention a super comfy bed.
The location is without doubt the best you could ask for, minutes walk to the pier/front and the town centre, so no need to be driving everywhere here!
Breakfast was amazing, the hosts pride themselves on this and so they should too! A good selection of cereals and yoghurts to help yourself and a menu of freshly cooked meals that were exceedingly tasty (I highly recommend the salmon and egg muffin)
The owners Gary and Julie were brilliant hosts through out our stay, friendly and helpful, always available for info and simply a lovely couple that we are glad we had the pleasure of meeting.
I would recommend Kilbrannan to anyone visiting Yarmouth, I guarantee you will not regret it!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both. Yes our location is perfect to explore all Great Yarmouth has to offer by foot with the seafront a minute's walk and the town a 5 minute walk. Our rooms are designed to provide everything you could want or need during your stay including many extras such as the homemade cakes and fridges in all rooms etc. We are indeed very proud of our breakfasts as they are very important and made using the best quality locally sourced ingredients as well as our homemade produce. We look forward to seeing you again next time. Best regards, Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best guest house i've ever stayed in
this is the best guest house i've ever stayed in, Gary & Julie could not do enough for you, from the moment we arrived when Gary came out to meet us and take our bags to our room to the last moment when we said goodbye, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic, so much choice and as much as you want(my wife loved the Kilbrannan special). The rooms are all well equipped and spotlessly clean. It was that good we booked again for next year before we left. Thanks Gary & Julie and see you next year.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for leaving your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities and we are equally pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards. Gary & Julie'

Reviewed by
john harvey

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heaven in Great Yarmouth
Gary and Julie are excellent hosts and were full of onformation on the area. They picked us up from the railway station and also took us to pick up our hire car. The curtains and mattress in the room we occupied were upgraded during our visit and we even caught Julie cleaning the brass furniture on our bedroom door!
Gary's breakfasts deserve to be written in gold, they were so good!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We take great pride in running Kilbrannan to the standards our guests enjoy. Our hospitality is only that which we would expect ourselves The facilities in each room are there to make your stay as comfortable as possible and our breakfasts are created and cooked freshly using only the finest local ingredients. The entire Guest House is thoroughly cleaned every day so we suppose it is inevitable we will be caught in the act when guests return. We are pleased you appreciated it all. We upgrade and update what's on offer at Kilbrannan regularly and your mattress was next in line as were your curtains. It is great to see guests from over seas and we hope to see you again next time. Warmest regards, Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
Martin Sillwood

From Sevilla, Spain
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic weekend
Gary and Julie are lovely people breakfast was the best cleanliness and presentation is excellent bed was very comfortable going back in August

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality, cleanliness and quality of our breakfasts, they are all so important. Roll on August, we'll be sure to have a few Scotch Eggs. Warmest regards Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
p higgins

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So why stay here?
I was looking for somewhere reasonable to stay as I had to stay overnight in Great Yarmouth and take my Mum.
So I was looking for location, in near to where we needed to be the next day, reasonable price and what other guests had said was really important - we all know how much grief we will get from our Mum's if its not up to scratch.
Well all I can say is I was so pleased with Kilbrannan Guest House, Julie and Gary are wonderful hosts, the breakfast was amazing and the rooms were spotless, there was a really nice touch in that fresh fruit was provided in the room and plenty of tea's and coffee.
So if you want to stay just a couple of mins from the sea front or shops and start your day with a fab breakfast this is the place to go.
I would certainly recommend it.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. It was a great pleasure to meet both yourself and your mum. Shame it wasn't under a happier occasion. We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality, service, location and breakfast as we put a tremendous amount of our lives into providing the things we do. We hope to see you again when next in Great Yarmouth. Warmest regards, Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
D Briden

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, friendly and clean, any fault we found was breakfast
serving time was early 8.15 - 9am! Also check out was 10am, if these
times were extended would definiately return!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. To say we are confused would be an understatement as you say nice things but have scored us badly?? We would like to address the Breakfast and check out times if we may: You are quite correct in saying we serve breakfast from 08:15 to 09:00 which we feel is adequate enough for you to eat it and be ready for check out at 10:00. The check out time is actually governed by the standard at which we run Kilbrannan as follows: We operate with no staff at all and so everything that needs doing on a day to day basis is done by just the 2 of us. When we've cooked breakfast then washed up we clean each and every room to the high standard you enjoyed ready for the new arrivals which can check in from 12:00. After all the rooms have been cleaned we then set to work on cleaning the rest of the house to the same standard which usually leads us up to mid afternoon. So you can see, if check out was later then we just wouldn't manage to complete our cleaning. As far as your scores are concerned, starting from the beginning: 1.) We have won many awards for Customer Service and you even commented during your check in you had never had such good service. 2.) You would be very hard pushed to find anywhere else with the same cleaning standard we would provide. Every Visit England assessment we have ever had we have consistantly scored 100% 3.) You had a large room with more facilities than most good hotels would offer 4.) Based on everything we offer we, and our other guests feel we offer fantastic value for money. 5.) The ingredients we provide for our award winning breakfasts are sourced from top quality local Butchers, Farmers and Great Yarmouth Smoke House and the quality is unrivalled. We feel saddened you felt the need to deliberately score us badly just because you wanted a later check out. Hopefully you can understand why now and if you fancy returning to Great Yarmouth please give us a call. Regards Gary & Julie

Reviewed by
a meads

From little downham, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next