Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23 Waterloo Place , Edinburgh, EH1 3BG
The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is ideally located at the east end of Princes Street, close to Edinburgh’s attractions and just moments from Waverley Train Station.

All 187 bedrooms are luxurious with large comfortable beds, 42 inch widescreen LCD TVs with Sky Sports, luxury toiletries, free wifi and local calls along with 24 hour room service.

Elliot’s Bar and Restaurant has a great sense of style. Mouthwatering menus using, whenever possible, locally sourced seasonal ingredients, offer an array of ‘modern Scottish’ dishes. An extensive wine list along with superb service makes Elliot’s Restaurant an ideal venue for every occasion.

The hotel’s exclusive Yu Spa Leisure facilities include a gym with the latest Technogym™ equipment, and an indoor swimming pool and sauna. Yu Spa also has two treatment rooms which offer a range of relaxing and rejuvenating Elemis spa treatments.

Off site car parking can be found at Greenside Place NCP to the rear of the hotel. Guests receive a 20% discount with this car park by validating their tickets at the hotel reception before departure.
Picture of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent night in Edinburgh
Very friendly hotel where staff were only too eager to please. Well stocked bar and choice of breakfast was extensive. Clean, warm room on a cold weekend. will certainly return.

Reviewed by
John R

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Fantastic hotel, perfect location as only two minute walk from the train station and very close to all the attractions. Staff were very freindly and hotel was lovely. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Jack C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel very central location
Excellent hotel in a very central location handy for shops, bars, restaurants and theatre. Hotel had everything you need for a city centre break. Room was clean, modern with a huge tv. Bathroom had separate shower and bath which was great. Bed was super comfy, had a great night sleep. Good value for money booking with late rooms. Will definitely consider booking again. Spa facilities were also very good for a city centre hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
G Marshall

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Theatre Break
We found hotel was ideally situated for Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre 5 min walk away. Reception staff were very helpful. Although we arrived early our case was checked in and placed in room for our return. Room was excellent as was the hospitality tray. Pre theatre meal was good vale for money howeve,r cheese could have been served at room temperature. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and we will use it in the future.

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent for a chilled out weekend
The staff are all lovely, the whole place is very welcoming! Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay with apex, it is in a perfect location that's just a small walk away from everything you need :) would defiantly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Marcia McGrath

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely brilliant!
The hotel was beautiful, the facilities first class and the staff some of the friendliest and most helpful we have ever encountered! Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like vip's! The complimentary drinks and upgraded room for my birthday was so appreciated and made our stay unbelievably special!

Reviewed by
N Bradley

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff and lovely hotel
We stay in Edinburgh a few times a year and this is the first time we have used this hotel. The staff were very helpful and polite and could not do enough for us. It was quite expensive but we did stay at new year so the high price was to be expected. Still good value for that time of year. Rooms were very clean. We upgraded but the room was not much different to standard room that our friends had. Spa lovely. To sum up....very comfortable, nice beds, clean, great customer service. We will definitely consider for our next trip.

Reviewed by
K Haggerty

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Great stay at the Apex.

Reviewed by
J Drummond

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

THEATRE VENUE
Very close to trains and The Playhouse Theatre. Accommodation excellent.

Reviewed by
Pauline McFarlane

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class for shopping trip and theatre
Staff polite and friendly, always on hand to assist. Rooms were warm and clean, good size. TV, tea, coffee, bottled water and a small fridge, lots of little extras. Choice of bath or shower with toiletries, and soft fluffy white towels! Bliss. Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
Karina M

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next