Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Edinburgh Hotels > Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Apex Waterloo Place Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23 Waterloo Place , Edinburgh, EH1 3BG

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Apex Waterloo Place Hotel is ideally located at the east end of Princes Street, close to Edinburgh’s attractions and just moments from Waverley Train Station.

All 187 bedrooms are luxurious with large comfortable beds, 42 inch widescreen LCD TVs with Sky Sports, luxury toiletries, free wifi and local calls along with 24 hour room service.

Elliot’s Bar and Restaurant has a great sense of style. Mouthwatering menus using, whenever possible, locally sourced seasonal ingredients, offer an array of ‘modern Scottish’ dishes. An extensive wine list along with superb service makes Elliot’s Restaurant an ideal venue for every occasion.

The hotel’s exclusive Yu Spa Leisure facilities include a gym with the latest Technogym™ equipment, and an indoor swimming pool and sauna. Yu Spa also has two treatment rooms which offer a range of relaxing and rejuvenating Elemis spa treatments.

Off site car parking can be found at Greenside Place NCP to the rear of the hotel. Guests receive a 20% discount with this car park by validating their tickets at the hotel reception before departure.
Picture of Apex Waterloo Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location.
Takes approx 20mins in a taxi from the airport costing around £22.
Room was lovely had everything we needed and bed was comfy too :-)
Can't wait to go back!!!! :-)

Reviewed by
Emma H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff
Staff very helpful / friendly

Reviewed by
N Gosling

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Great hotel, central location, friendly staff - don't get the breakfast tho £11 - 2 doors away a great little cafe with breakfast for £3.50.

Reviewed by
Irene Y

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Having stayed at the Apex Waterloo before I knew how nice it was, so I came with my husband, brother and sister-in-law this time, knowing they would also enjoy thier stay . The staff are very nice and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean, all your needs are taken care of even a duck in the bath, lovely little touch. I look forward to my next visit.

Reviewed by
C JONES

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic central hotel
Stayed on a Saturday for the first time. Reception is efficient, helpful and friendly. The hotel is very modern, clean and classy. The room was the largest hotel room I've ever stayed in for the money, fantastic bathroom with tub and walk in shower. Nice complimentary items I.e shortbread, hot chocolate, bottled water. The bed was large and very comfortable with plenty of pillows, 42inch tv as well. All in all probably the best room I've ever stayed in anywhere on a standard rate, only beaten ironically by its near neighbour The Glasshouse. Book it you won't regret the Apex Waterloo.

Reviewed by
Daniel V

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

small but perfectly formed
Despite issues with the room booking, the staff were friendly and helpful and eventually got it resolved. The rooms were small, but well equipped, modern, exceptionally clean and comfy. The complimentary chocolates and wine were a nice touch (not sure if that was because of the mix up over the booking). Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Lindsay T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful efficient staff. Comfortable restful rooms within easy access of the station and the shops and also close to regular bus services . Good choice of breakfast food although I thought the bacon was a little on the dry side as if it had been cooked a long time earlier.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Dorking, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very central
Excellent location. Very close to Waverly station and ideal for the Playhouse.

Reviewed by
David O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel to enjoy Edinburgh
The position of this hotel is excellent for those travelling by train, being a five minute walk from the station. Staff and facilities are fine, my only complaint was the lack of a clock in the room and the very poor quality of the wine sold by the glass in the bar, hopefully this will be addressed when they choose their next wine list. My family and I had a very enjoyable short break in Edinburgh which is one of the most attractive cities in Euroope.

Reviewed by
SUSAN M

From LANCASHIRE, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were amazing...room was awful
The staff and food were exceptional. I also had a hot stone massage which was out of this world.
There was no parking for guests. We had to park far away and the parking was very expensive.
Our non smoking room had been heavily smoked in and was so disgusting we didn't want to spend any time in it which was sad as this was our only night away in over 2 years. The reception staff were aware of this even before we turned up. I am a severe asthmatic so you can imagine what my chest was like the following week. I cannot accurately describe just how bad the room smelt. It was like a badly ventilated student flat the day after a party.

Reviewed by
Tim Hyde

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next