No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whites Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of Whites Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whites hotel
Dirty rooms, dirty hotel, noisy, the worst shower on the planet, staff are friendly but seem almost embarrassed by the place, good location.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
you dont expect a 5 start hotel for that kind of money , but what you do get is good customer service and a clean room . Would happily recommend

Reviewed by
p weightman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
W Whiteford

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good experience.
This 'hotel' needs some serious attention, it is very surprising that it even has a 2* rating. The only saving grace here was the Manager Brian who was polite and as helpful as he could be. The place is dirty with a pervading smell of urine from the downstairs toilets serving the bar. The sheets on the bed were clean thankfully but that was all. The ceiling was covered in cobwebs, the carpet was dirty and had not been properly vacumned. The valance on the bed was filthy, stained and scuffed. A bedspread had been screwed up and stuffed in a wardrobe, a decorative strip on the bed had stiff stains on, god only knows what it was! Walls and doors were marked and stained, I picked up a toenail in the bathroom. I washed the dirty greasy fingerprints off the inside of the bathroom door myself. Skirting boards were thick with dust and grime. The rooms were not properly serviced while we were there. The cleaners need some education on how to clean a hotel room properly. Clearly the hotel is being neglected in favour of the bar which was very busy. The owners are obviously depending on stag night type clientele who don't care.

Reviewed by
sharon w

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and not so cheerful
The room was as expected for the money, although the stench of stale cigarettes was a real problem, bed linen was clean but bathroom was grotty

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girls night - a must stay!
We arrived and got put in a room that hadn't been made up, the hotel immediately put us into another room but unfortunately the doors hinges had been broken, therefore we got put back into the original room which had now been made up. The hotel were so polite an apologetic and gave us a free bottle of wine and cocktails and offered us breakfast to make up for the room swapping! It wasn't necessary as we had such a giggle with the staff moving around but they insisted. Overall it was a fabulous stay the bar downstairs is social too for a drink before heading out and the bar staff make sure you are well looked after! We are definitely going again!!! It is now in my favourites! Thank you Whites Hotel :)

Reviewed by
jenny r

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room at a price
Looking for a lateroom £35 ish so was pleased

Reviewed by
Simon K

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, average hotel.
Average hotel room, and fine for one nights stay. Room was clean and well furnished. I think we paid a good price for the location (£40) but if we had paid full price would have been quite disappointed. Website says food served all day so expected to be able to get food on arrival, however we were told the chef was new and only able to do burgers!! Ended up going down the road for food, however the bar itself was nice and good prices for drinks. After a much needed lie in I found that there was no hot water to have a shower, which was slightly dissappointing given the foot of snow outside! The hotel did however give us a complimentary bottle of wine on check out as an apology for the lack of hot water so did redeem themselves!

Reviewed by
lynsey s

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whites Was More than Allwhite
On a snowy night in Jesmond it was great to find a warm room with a hot shower.Lovely and clean the bed was very comfortable and i slept like a baby due in no small part to a few lively bars on Osborne Rd all in easy walking distance.Woke up to a smashing breakfast which put me right for the cold day at st james park for the footie although the toon had a bad day losing.Complements to nice lady on reception Angela who was very helpful and made me welcome.I would give Whites Hotel full marks and highly recommend people stay here.

Reviewed by
Paul Connor

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Great hotel, very friendly staff, room is what you pay for, good value for money, already booked up for another week on business trip

Reviewed by
james t

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next