No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whites Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of Whites Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 71 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alun Rees Whites June 2013
Hotel seems to attract & cater for groups. Friday was one of the noisiest nights I have ever endured - people talking loudly in the corridors and the fire alarm went off repeatedly; it quietened down at around 4.30. Saturday night was much better. I shared my concerns with the management who were sympathetic and I have no doubt what they can to prevent events being repeated. Room was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly and I would probably use the hotel again but not at a weekend.

Reviewed by
Alun Rees

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We booked our room as a last min stay in Newcastle. The staff at the Whites Hotel were excellent very welcoming and pleasent. Our room was very clean and had all amenitys. Very good value for money and we would definatley stay again. :)

Reviewed by
L Millward

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Bad
Decent hotel, good location, great bar downstairs, corridors smelled of urine however rooms were clean and had good facilities, and was cheap enough that I would return. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
chris c

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only
The staff were lovely, very friendly and very helpful too. the Hotel is in a great location for the city, easy walking distance. Good parking facilities which are free. However I have to say in this instance you get what you pay for. Very noisy residents with a lack of consideration, which is not the hotels fault I know.

Reviewed by
yvonne p

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Whites hotel, Jesmond
We found Whites hotel excellent value for money, very clean and this has a lovely bar and resturant. Although the hotel may seem a little bit dated inside, I don't think for the price you can find any better. Whites hotel is situated in a lovely part of Newcastle, Jesmond which is not far away from the main town itself, but far enough away for a peaceful experience, highly recommended!

Reviewed by
E Watson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never stay here again
This hotel was a complete joke. The room was boiling hot and I had to ask them three times to turn the radiator off. The shower was either burning hot or freezing cold. The hotel was completely unstaffed and I had to wait for 30 minutes to get into my room when the key stopped working. Because of the problems with my room they tried to move me to another room but that room didnt have any lights that we working. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Whatever you do stay somewhere else.

Reviewed by
Darren M

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
We arrived on Wednesday 17th at 10am and the nice woman let us go into our room early. I paid for a double standard room, instead we ended up in a room with a double bed, a single bed and a camp bed which was good. However, the pube in the bath, the blue stains on the toilet seat, the smell of the hotel and the dust and mucky carpet wernt so good. Also the man who was on reception was about as happy as a carrot. The door would only shut with force and the toilet door when shut just didn't want to open. They only give you one toilet roll which was a huge problem for us as my mate had diarroah. The pub/bar below was brilliant. Very lively and presentable with nice helpful staff. Taxis into the centre cost us £6-7 but there's a bus stop right outside which is good and £1.40 single. Overall I wouldn't stay here again and defiantly wouldn't spend £40 on it. It looks nothing like the pictures I felt like we was going through a stage of inbetweeners movie. The women staff are lovely. It's just the state of the rooms.

Reviewed by
Toni D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More like hostel than hotel
I stayed for 1 night. The room is basic but did only cost £40 for the night, would not pay anymore than £40, it was more like a hostel than a hotel but it did for the 1 night. No sound proofing at all, woke 4 times during the night with people coming back to their rooms.
The location is excellent, it was only £6 to train station in taxi and there is a nice bar downstairs. Loads of stag/hens parties. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless there was absolutely nothing else available.

Reviewed by
karen m

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Very good value for money and this was reflected on the little outdated style of decor in the room. This was not a problem for us however and the room was well heated with an extra heater in this snowy weather. Hotel in a great location of bars and restaurants and the receptionist told us about the restaurant and bar downstairs which seemed nice and lively but we did not use. Did hear a bunch of lads come in at 3 in the morning but the hotel cannot help this and apparently they were helped by the night porter. Would stay again, a very comfortable night.

Reviewed by
L Bush

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
stayed in this hotel many times, but recently it seems to be going down the last three times I have stayed I have had to change room (Once had to change twice) for various reasons,Toilet used and not flushed / cleaned.stinks of smoke,curtains hanging off rails.nails protrudung from the bed etc.
would really think twice about staying again, only up side was the great staff.

Reviewed by
Joe C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next