No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - WHITES HOTEL

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of WHITES HOTEL, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
We arrived on Wednesday 17th at 10am and the nice woman let us go into our room early. I paid for a double standard room, instead we ended up in a room with a double bed, a single bed and a camp bed which was good. However, the pube in the bath, the blue stains on the toilet seat, the smell of the hotel and the dust and mucky carpet wernt so good. Also the man who was on reception was about as happy as a carrot. The door would only shut with force and the toilet door when shut just didn't want to open. They only give you one toilet roll which was a huge problem for us as my mate had diarroah. The pub/bar below was brilliant. Very lively and presentable with nice helpful staff. Taxis into the centre cost us £6-7 but there's a bus stop right outside which is good and £1.40 single. Overall I wouldn't stay here again and defiantly wouldn't spend £40 on it. It looks nothing like the pictures I felt like we was going through a stage of inbetweeners movie. The women staff are lovely. It's just the state of the rooms.

Reviewed by
Toni D

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More like hostel than hotel
I stayed for 1 night. The room is basic but did only cost £40 for the night, would not pay anymore than £40, it was more like a hostel than a hotel but it did for the 1 night. No sound proofing at all, woke 4 times during the night with people coming back to their rooms.
The location is excellent, it was only £6 to train station in taxi and there is a nice bar downstairs. Loads of stag/hens parties. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless there was absolutely nothing else available.

Reviewed by
karen m

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Very good value for money and this was reflected on the little outdated style of decor in the room. This was not a problem for us however and the room was well heated with an extra heater in this snowy weather. Hotel in a great location of bars and restaurants and the receptionist told us about the restaurant and bar downstairs which seemed nice and lively but we did not use. Did hear a bunch of lads come in at 3 in the morning but the hotel cannot help this and apparently they were helped by the night porter. Would stay again, a very comfortable night.

Reviewed by
L Bush

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
stayed in this hotel many times, but recently it seems to be going down the last three times I have stayed I have had to change room (Once had to change twice) for various reasons,Toilet used and not flushed / cleaned.stinks of smoke,curtains hanging off rails.nails protrudung from the bed etc.
would really think twice about staying again, only up side was the great staff.

Reviewed by
Joe C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Whites hotel
Dirty rooms, dirty hotel, noisy, the worst shower on the planet, staff are friendly but seem almost embarrassed by the place, good location.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
you dont expect a 5 start hotel for that kind of money , but what you do get is good customer service and a clean room . Would happily recommend

Reviewed by
p weightman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
W Whiteford

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a good experience.
This 'hotel' needs some serious attention, it is very surprising that it even has a 2* rating. The only saving grace here was the Manager Brian who was polite and as helpful as he could be. The place is dirty with a pervading smell of urine from the downstairs toilets serving the bar. The sheets on the bed were clean thankfully but that was all. The ceiling was covered in cobwebs, the carpet was dirty and had not been properly vacumned. The valance on the bed was filthy, stained and scuffed. A bedspread had been screwed up and stuffed in a wardrobe, a decorative strip on the bed had stiff stains on, god only knows what it was! Walls and doors were marked and stained, I picked up a toenail in the bathroom. I washed the dirty greasy fingerprints off the inside of the bathroom door myself. Skirting boards were thick with dust and grime. The rooms were not properly serviced while we were there. The cleaners need some education on how to clean a hotel room properly. Clearly the hotel is being neglected in favour of the bar which was very busy. The owners are obviously depending on stag night type clientele who don't care.

Reviewed by
sharon w

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap and not so cheerful
The room was as expected for the money, although the stench of stale cigarettes was a real problem, bed linen was clean but bathroom was grotty

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Girls night - a must stay!
We arrived and got put in a room that hadn't been made up, the hotel immediately put us into another room but unfortunately the doors hinges had been broken, therefore we got put back into the original room which had now been made up. The hotel were so polite an apologetic and gave us a free bottle of wine and cocktails and offered us breakfast to make up for the room swapping! It wasn't necessary as we had such a giggle with the staff moving around but they insisted. Overall it was a fabulous stay the bar downstairs is social too for a drink before heading out and the bar staff make sure you are well looked after! We are definitely going again!!! It is now in my favourites! Thank you Whites Hotel :)

Reviewed by
jenny r

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next