Whites Hotel

2

38-42 OSBORNE ROAD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL

Price From 68.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (62)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Daniel E

  • August 2013

Group

Ideal rooms or group booking , near to centre and good value

  • L Grice

  • July 2013

Among a lot of other Osborne street pub / hotels... but can be noisy

as a last minute bargain of £35 per night, the hotel was booked as a second choice as my preference was full.

The reception staff were lovely and very friendly, taking the time to chat whilst booking you in and offering complimentary fruit while you wait. (nice touch).

unfortunately the cheep price was reflected in the room, it was not the best nights sleep. the hotel is showing signs of age with loose floor boards in the corridors and a slight fusty smell in various areas.A small room at the front of the hotel was very basic but functional, the housekeeping staff could do to check the bathroom bins more carefully in future. the TV in the room did not recieve a signal without breaking up, but the plus side of this was a pretty good internet wifi connection that allowed me to watch iplayer on my laptop. i did not complain as i was only staying for 2 nights and as i said i had only paid about £35 a night. a draw back with the hotels in that area, (Osborne street) is that they are all pub / hotels and as such have busy front terraces with patrons drinking , talking, laughing etc, and traffic using the road all night...so if you are looking for a peaceful night i wouldnt suggets this area, but if you on a night out yourself, this area would be ideal for you.

  • Matthew L

  • July 2013

Cheap and basic great location

Very cheap price and nice clean hotel.

Nothing fancy but great location os osborne road. Staff at reception really friendly.

  • julie Dixon

  • July 2013

Night out in the toon

Hotel is ok for money only paid 40 pounds would never pay 90 pounds for it at all .

Staff was lovely more so Ann.

  • Alun Rees

  • June 2013

Alun Rees Whites June 2013

Hotel seems to attract & cater for groups.

Friday was one of the noisiest nights I have ever endured - people talking loudly in the corridors and the fire alarm went off repeatedly; it quietened down at around 4.30. Saturday night was much better. I shared my concerns with the management who were sympathetic and I have no doubt what they can to prevent events being repeated. Room was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly and I would probably use the hotel again but not at a weekend.

  • L Millward

  • June 2013

Excellent

We booked our room as a last min stay in Newcastle.

The staff at the Whites Hotel were excellent very welcoming and pleasent. Our room was very clean and had all amenitys. Very good value for money and we would definatley stay again. :)

  • chris c

  • June 2013

Not Bad

Decent hotel, good location, great bar downstairs, corridors smelled of urine however rooms were clean and had good facilities, and was cheap enough that I would return.

Staff friendly and helpful.

  • E Watson

  • May 2013

My stay at Whites hotel, Jesmond

We found Whites hotel excellent value for money, very clean and this has a lovely bar and resturant.

Although the hotel may seem a little bit dated inside, I don't think for the price you can find any better. Whites hotel is situated in a lovely part of Newcastle, Jesmond which is not far away from the main town itself, but far enough away for a peaceful experience, highly recommended!

  • yvonne p

  • May 2013

One night only

The staff were lovely, very friendly and very helpful too.

the Hotel is in a great location for the city, easy walking distance. Good parking facilities which are free. However I have to say in this instance you get what you pay for. Very noisy residents with a lack of consideration, which is not the hotels fault I know.

  • Darren M

  • May 2013

I would never stay here again

This hotel was a complete joke.

The room was boiling hot and I had to ask them three times to turn the radiator off. The shower was either burning hot or freezing cold. The hotel was completely unstaffed and I had to wait for 30 minutes to get into my room when the key stopped working. Because of the problems with my room they tried to move me to another room but that room didnt have any lights that we working. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Whatever you do stay somewhere else.