Whites Hotel

2

38-42 OSBORNE ROAD, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL

Price From 73.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (59)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Carballeira

  • October 2013

It is absolutely necessary to change the windows (simple glass, really bad thermal-acoustic insulation).

  • Paul B

  • October 2013

see scores

  • m box

  • October 2013

Excellent value

  • Andrew C

  • September 2013

Cheap and Cheerful (but noisy!)

Great location on Osborne Road and staff are great.

Bar downstairs is good with a young crowd in lots of screens if you like your TV sport. Accommodation is basic and I was at the front of the hotel so had lots of noise from traffic and people outside the bar below. Sound proofing is poor and you can hear people in the corridor and adjacent rooms.

Not my best night's sleep but half the price of the hotel across the road and good value if your expectations are realistic.

  • rachel f

  • September 2013

room

I was informed that there had been a mistake on late rooms and instead of paying £89 what the room should have been I paid £39.

When I saw the room I was shocked. If id paid £89 I would have demanded my money back. Very clean but in need of a refurb. Basically its dropping to bits. Sockets coming off walls, grated windows, polystyrene ceiling panels that were broken etc. I feel the bar area has had a huge amount of money spent on it but the rooms have been left undone for years!!!. In need of serious improvement!!

  • Sara E

  • September 2013

This was my second stay at Whites Hotel.

I stayed as I was taking part in the Great North Run, and from past experience knew that this hotel was ideally situated for the race and for going into the city centre. The staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I was given a ground floor room which had been recently refurbished. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The only food I had was breakfast, which on the Sunday was a continental style, which was ample . On the Monday we also got a full cooked breakfast which was really nice. The water in the shower was a bit cold, but apart from that everything else was great. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit Newcastle.

  • Sarah H

  • September 2013

Worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty, dusty and borken.

I’m sorry to say that your hotel has been by far the worse hotel I have ever stayed in.

Not only was it generally worn down and dirty but our bed was even broken so the mattress sunk into the bed and the water from the shower was not a constant speed or temperature. When asked to be moved we were even accused of breaking the bed although it was visibly broken so therefore I do not understand how this was not noted by the cleaners.

Although the desk staff were polite and friendly, whenever we checked in and highlighted an issue at the desk the staff member appeared to make a lot of fuss rather than just sorting the problem. Not to mention the 15min wait we had when reporting the bed while the receptionist had a telephone call with someone else from within the company. After this the receptionist informed us that she could move us but they had no room that were of the same or higher standard than what we were in…..nothing better than a broken bed!?!. The room they then placed us in had the hotels emergency exit door in our en-suite..is this even legal??. To top it off during our second night the hotel appeared to refused access to a customer who then screamed death threats to staff and customers at the back door. Although I appreciate that this may have been out of the hotels control, I don’t think it was appropriate for your manager to stand outside the hotel discussing the problem with the police, then walk through the hotel and corridors discussing the problem and then finally for a staff member to start picking up all the bins and rubbish that the angry man had thrown about….could this not have waited until the morning. Couldn’t dragging noisy bins and throwing around broken glass have been done at another time, not the early hours of the morning?. Me and my partner have stayed in many hotels as we often take long weekend. To be honest our stay in your hotel ruined then end of an enjoyable week.

We will not only, not be recommending your hotel we will be encouraging people not to stay. The piles of dirt and dust on every corner and the holes in the shower wall make you not want to touch anything. The only plus side is the fantastic modern, clean and enjoyable bar down stairs and the great restaurants on the road (we highly recommend the Italian across the road)

I have formally contacted the hotel about this and have never received a response.

  • Sarah H

  • September 2013

Worse hotel ever!

Its dirty, broken and worn down.

My only wish (apart from having never booked it) was that i had taken photos so i could have posted them for you too see.

  • S English

  • September 2013

Poor

Room not the nicest and the decor outdated.

The bed was really uncomfortable as it was a very old mattress

  • Richard F

  • August 2013

never again!!

This hotel was like something out of faulty towers.

The room was ok but the windows were falling to bits and I told me partner to close them due to noise of party revellers and traffic and was shocked to discover they were actually closed. . The stair way leading to rooms was disgusting smelling of damp and really bad subsiding. The rear car park was littered with furniture from adjoining bar. There was outside stairs that lead to rooms which was open to anyone..so pleased my room was at the front. This hotel caters very much towards stag n hen parties so if u after a good night's sleep this is not the place for you.