No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whites Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of Whites Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
I was informed that there had been a mistake on late rooms and instead of paying £89 what the room should have been I paid £39. When I saw the room I was shocked. If id paid £89 I would have demanded my money back. Very clean but in need of a refurb. Basically its dropping to bits. Sockets coming off walls, grated windows, polystyrene ceiling panels that were broken etc. I feel the bar area has had a huge amount of money spent on it but the rooms have been left undone for years!!!! In need of serious improvement!!

Reviewed by
rachel f

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was my second stay at Whites Hotel. I stayed as I was taking part in the Great North Run, and from past experience knew that this hotel was ideally situated for the race and for going into the city centre. The staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I was given a ground floor room which had been recently refurbished. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The only food I had was breakfast, which on the Sunday was a continental style, which was ample . On the Monday we also got a full cooked breakfast which was really nice. The water in the shower was a bit cold, but apart from that everything else was great. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Sara E

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse hotel ever!
Its dirty, broken and worn down. My only wish (apart from having never booked it) was that i had taken photos so i could have posted them for you too see.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty, dusty and borken.

I’m sorry to say that your hotel has been by far the worse hotel I have ever stayed in. Not only was it generally worn down and dirty but our bed was even broken so the mattress sunk into the bed and the water from the shower was not a constant speed or temperature. When asked to be moved we were even accused of breaking the bed although it was visibly broken so therefore I do not understand how this was not noted by the cleaners.
Although the desk staff were polite and friendly, whenever we checked in and highlighted an issue at the desk the staff member appeared to make a lot of fuss rather than just sorting the problem. Not to mention the 15min wait we had when reporting the bed while the receptionist had a telephone call with someone else from within the company. After this the receptionist informed us that she could move us but they had no room that were of the same or higher standard than what we were in…..nothing better than a broken bed!?!? The room they then placed us in had the hotels emergency exit door in our en-suite..is this even legal???
To top it off during our second night the hotel appeared to refused access to a customer who then screamed death threats to staff and customers at the back door. Although I appreciate that this may have been out of the hotels control, I don’t think it was appropriate for your manager to stand outside the hotel discussing the problem with the police, then walk through the hotel and corridors discussing the problem and then finally for a staff member to start picking up all the bins and rubbish that the angry man had thrown about….could this not have waited until the morning? Couldn’t dragging noisy bins and throwing around broken glass have been done at another time, not the early hours of the morning??
Me and my partner have stayed in many hotels as we often take long weekend. To be honest our stay in your hotel ruined then end of an enjoyable week.
We will not only, not be recommending your hotel we will be encouraging people not to stay. The piles of dirt and dust on every corner and the holes in the shower wall make you not want to touch anything. The only plus side is the fantastic modern, clean and enjoyable bar down stairs and the great restaurants on the road (we highly recommend the Italian across the road)
I have formally contacted the hotel about this and have never received a response.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Room not the nicest and the decor outdated. The bed was really uncomfortable as it was a very old mattress

Reviewed by
S English

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again!!
This hotel was like something out of faulty towers. The room was ok but the windows were falling to bits and I told me partner to close them due to noise of party revellers and traffic and was shocked to discover they were actually closed! ! The stair way leading to rooms was disgusting smelling of damp and really bad subsiding. The rear car park was littered with furniture from adjoining bar. There was outside stairs that lead to rooms which was open to anyone..so pleased my room was at the front. This hotel caters very much towards stag n hen parties so if u after a good night's sleep this is not the place for you.

Reviewed by
Richard F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Group
Ideal rooms or group booking , near to centre and good value

Reviewed by
Daniel E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Among a lot of other Osborne street pub / hotels... but can be noisy
as a last minute bargain of £35 per night, the hotel was booked as a second choice as my preference was full.
The reception staff were lovely and very friendly, taking the time to chat whilst booking you in and offering complimentary fruit while you wait. (nice touch).
unfortunately the cheep price was reflected in the room, it was not the best nights sleep. the hotel is showing signs of age with loose floor boards in the corridors and a slight fusty smell in various areas.A small room at the front of the hotel was very basic but functional, the housekeeping staff could do to check the bathroom bins more carefully in future. the TV in the room did not recieve a signal without breaking up, but the plus side of this was a pretty good internet wifi connection that allowed me to watch iplayer on my laptop. i did not complain as i was only staying for 2 nights and as i said i had only paid about £35 a night. a draw back with the hotels in that area, (Osborne street) is that they are all pub / hotels and as such have busy front terraces with patrons drinking , talking, laughing etc, and traffic using the road all night...so if you are looking for a peaceful night i wouldnt suggets this area, but if you on a night out yourself, this area would be ideal for you.

Reviewed by
L Grice

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and basic great location
Very cheap price and nice clean hotel. Nothing fancy but great location os osborne road. Staff at reception really friendly.

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in the toon
Hotel is ok for money only paid 40 pounds would never pay 90 pounds for it at all . Staff was lovely more so Ann.

Reviewed by
julie Dixon

From crook, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next