No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - WHITES HOTEL

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of WHITES HOTEL, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Group
Ideal rooms or group booking , near to centre and good value

Reviewed by
Daniel E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Among a lot of other Osborne street pub / hotels... but can be noisy
as a last minute bargain of £35 per night, the hotel was booked as a second choice as my preference was full.
The reception staff were lovely and very friendly, taking the time to chat whilst booking you in and offering complimentary fruit while you wait. (nice touch).
unfortunately the cheep price was reflected in the room, it was not the best nights sleep. the hotel is showing signs of age with loose floor boards in the corridors and a slight fusty smell in various areas.A small room at the front of the hotel was very basic but functional, the housekeeping staff could do to check the bathroom bins more carefully in future. the TV in the room did not recieve a signal without breaking up, but the plus side of this was a pretty good internet wifi connection that allowed me to watch iplayer on my laptop. i did not complain as i was only staying for 2 nights and as i said i had only paid about £35 a night. a draw back with the hotels in that area, (Osborne street) is that they are all pub / hotels and as such have busy front terraces with patrons drinking , talking, laughing etc, and traffic using the road all night...so if you are looking for a peaceful night i wouldnt suggets this area, but if you on a night out yourself, this area would be ideal for you.

Reviewed by
L Grice

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and basic great location
Very cheap price and nice clean hotel. Nothing fancy but great location os osborne road. Staff at reception really friendly.

Reviewed by
Matthew L

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in the toon
Hotel is ok for money only paid 40 pounds would never pay 90 pounds for it at all . Staff was lovely more so Ann.

Reviewed by
julie Dixon

From crook, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alun Rees Whites June 2013
Hotel seems to attract & cater for groups. Friday was one of the noisiest nights I have ever endured - people talking loudly in the corridors and the fire alarm went off repeatedly; it quietened down at around 4.30. Saturday night was much better. I shared my concerns with the management who were sympathetic and I have no doubt what they can to prevent events being repeated. Room was comfortable, staff were helpful and friendly and I would probably use the hotel again but not at a weekend.

Reviewed by
Alun Rees

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We booked our room as a last min stay in Newcastle. The staff at the Whites Hotel were excellent very welcoming and pleasent. Our room was very clean and had all amenitys. Very good value for money and we would definatley stay again. :)

Reviewed by
L Millward

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Bad
Decent hotel, good location, great bar downstairs, corridors smelled of urine however rooms were clean and had good facilities, and was cheap enough that I would return. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
chris c

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night only
The staff were lovely, very friendly and very helpful too. the Hotel is in a great location for the city, easy walking distance. Good parking facilities which are free. However I have to say in this instance you get what you pay for. Very noisy residents with a lack of consideration, which is not the hotels fault I know.

Reviewed by
yvonne p

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Whites hotel, Jesmond
We found Whites hotel excellent value for money, very clean and this has a lovely bar and resturant. Although the hotel may seem a little bit dated inside, I don't think for the price you can find any better. Whites hotel is situated in a lovely part of Newcastle, Jesmond which is not far away from the main town itself, but far enough away for a peaceful experience, highly recommended!

Reviewed by
E Watson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would never stay here again
This hotel was a complete joke. The room was boiling hot and I had to ask them three times to turn the radiator off. The shower was either burning hot or freezing cold. The hotel was completely unstaffed and I had to wait for 30 minutes to get into my room when the key stopped working. Because of the problems with my room they tried to move me to another room but that room didnt have any lights that we working. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Whatever you do stay somewhere else.

Reviewed by
Darren M

From England
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next