Reviews - Whites Hotel



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (42)

52% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Allan T

  • March 2014

Tired and failed to provide the basics

On a positive the hotel has a car park, wifi and the reception girl was pleasant.

Almost every other aspect was poor, including but not limited to:

The corridors are tired, floors uneven and decor dirty. The room has cheap laminate flooring (easy to clean I guess). The TV reception was virtually none existent meaning I resorted to watching my IPad. The toilet paper was something from a Japenese POW camp. The shower dribbled in cold or freezing water only. The room light was only operable from the door, not the bed. The basin (in the room and not the bathroom) was at such an angle to the mirror it was difficult to shave. The wardrobe was damaged and tipped to one side. They were unable to provide a VAT receipt until 3 days and a phone call reminder later. Not a hotel I will go back to, even at this price.

  • P Catharell

  • February 2014


If the hotel gave the place a lick of paint occasionally it would lift the place.

I didn't interact with the hotel at all as my stay was very short. I literally just slept there. The room was pleasant, good sized bed, tv, kettle etc. It was perfectly adequate for the price (online £33). Given that the hotel is in Jesmond, a reasonably affluent part of Newcastle I found it decent value for money but I can see other people finding it a bit downtrodden and tired.

  • Paul N

  • February 2014

Not worth the money

Hell on earth, do not stay here.

Dirty.broken fittings,tv didn't work,radiator broken. Not good at all. In fact very lousy.

  • Yasmin S

  • January 2014

Below average

The night porter was abrupt and rude.

The other staff were ok. The hotel needs refurbishment- it is dated. The food was ok.

  • m watson

  • January 2014

Late deal

Very cheap deal, mint night

  • Paul Thompson

  • December 2013

experience very enjoyable

We had a great time in Newcastle and the Whites Hotel and staff added to that, with a party of 7 young men we all had a great stay and staff couldn't be more helpful, will stay there again on our next trip.

  • Michael A

  • November 2013

Torture by sleep deprivation

I would have had a more peaceful night in the back of the car at the side of the A1.

Genuinely a night of no sleep whatsoever. Ventilation plant noise. Bottles being dumped into glass bins. Electrical transformer hums. Ventilation plant fans with screeching bearings running all night. The toilet waste "masher" running of its own accord every fifteen minutes all night. A carpet that's there to cover the holes in the floor. It's 2* and £30 a night FOR A REASON. Booking employees into accommodation this bad is tantamount to constructive dismissal.

  • Jason W

  • October 2013

Basic, needs redecorating there's dirty marks all over the walls etc.

value for money for popular location

  • S Giddens

  • October 2013

Small but comfortable room, vibrant location

I enjoyed my stay at Whites Hotel.

The room was small, but very clean and comfortable. Excellent value for money. And I appreciated the free Wifi and the fact that I was given two key cards, which you don't get in larger chain hotels. The location is good and vibrant, with busy bars and good places to eat.

  • ANN R

  • October 2013

shabby cheap

it done the job for an overnight stop but wouldn`t want to stay longer.receptionist very nice at check-in.woman who done `breakfast`was on her own but poor choice.2 x boiled eggs were only half cooked & scrambled egg microwaved to death!.

another lady was served a cooked breakfast before our eggs were ready which were ordered 5 mins before.