No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whites Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
38-42 OSBORNE ROAD , NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE, NE2 2AL
This is a family run hotel providing good facilities and service at budget prices . Free wireless internet is available through the hotel and rooms with a computer for guest use at reception foyer. Features included in guest rooms include Flat screen TV with up to 30 channels , en suite bedrooms , ironing board, hairdryer available in each room . Cocktail lounge provides meals at a very good prices until 8 pm daily . Lively bar on the premises

Outside area for smoking and dining available . The hotel has a private car par which is constantly monitored by CCTV
Picture of Whites Hotel, NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I were impressed with the enthusiasm of this young staff and will definitely stay again if we should need to stay in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
D J Moore

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't go back but maybe just my luck!
Didn't like the room. If they offer you room 112 do not take it because it is a creepy wee room down a corridor by itself. Tap was broken, shower pipes were not filled in so could see outside, head board was not attached to the wall so kept banging, iron was attached to ironing board so struggled to put water in it, 2 out of 6 plugs worked, tv didn't have a remote control. Got moved to 215 that had a remote with the tv but the tv didn't work, room was on a slant, bed rolled out into the middle of the room during the night due to this, didn't have a proper window (incase of needs of escape). Manager said they had just been taken over and were going to revamp the place but I would not return.

Reviewed by
L Fairley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and a big breakfast.
Good value, great breakfast.
The hotel represents fantastic value for money and the breakfast, prepared by the very helpful John, was a belly buster. A great start to the day.
Thanks - I'll stay here again

Reviewed by
David White

From Shifnal, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what we wanted
The hotel was in a perfect location for the city, with a taxi only costing us £4 to get into the centre. The staff were all extremely helpful and nice, and we found it extremely helpful there being a 24 hour reception. The parking facilities also helped us out a lot with there being free parking right next to the hotel.

Reviewed by
N OMara

From , UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
Awful place to stay. Decor, fittings, carpets are all well below standard. Never again will I use the so called Hotel.

Reviewed by
Keith G

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and failed to provide the basics
On a positive the hotel has a car park, wifi and the reception girl was pleasant.
Almost every other aspect was poor, including but not limited to:
The corridors are tired, floors uneven and decor dirty.
The room has cheap laminate flooring (easy to clean I guess).
The TV reception was virtually none existent meaning I resorted to watching my IPad.
The toilet paper was something from a Japenese POW camp.
The shower dribbled in cold or freezing water only.
The room light was only operable from the door, not the bed.
The basin (in the room and not the bathroom) was at such an angle to the mirror it was difficult to shave.
The wardrobe was damaged and tipped to one side.
They were unable to provide a VAT receipt until 3 days and a phone call reminder later.
Not a hotel I will go back to, even at this price.

Reviewed by
Allan T

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Title
If the hotel gave the place a lick of paint occasionally it would lift the place. I didn't interact with the hotel at all as my stay was very short. I literally just slept there. The room was pleasant, good sized bed, tv, kettle etc. It was perfectly adequate for the price (online £33). Given that the hotel is in Jesmond, a reasonably affluent part of Newcastle I found it decent value for money but I can see other people finding it a bit downtrodden and tired.

Reviewed by
P Catharell

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
Hell on earth, do not stay here. Dirty.broken fittings,tv didn't work,radiator broken.
Not good at all. In fact very lousy.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Below average
The night porter was abrupt and rude. The other staff were ok. The hotel needs refurbishment- it is dated. The food was ok.

Reviewed by
Yasmin S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late deal
Very cheap deal, mint night

Reviewed by
m watson

From Ashington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next