Reviews - Highfield Hotel


101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Price From 101.66 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (90)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Allison H

  • February 2014

Hotel staff very friendly and very attentive, room nice but found hairs in the bath and on the dressing table.

Breakfast was very nice.

  • A Owen

  • February 2014

Great value and so friendly

Great value and would not hesitate to stop here again.

Staff were genuinely warm and friendly. Food was tasty and again great value. Highly recommended.

  • Julie G

  • February 2014

Large well presented room with a comfortable bed and powerful shower.

Although it was on a busy road the windows were very soundproof.

  • A Brown

  • February 2014

Very enjoyable stay

Cannot find fault with the hotel.

The room was extremely comfortable, and the shower can only be described as being exceptional. The staff, from arrival to departure, were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Definitely will stay there again when in the area.

  • R Bradley

  • February 2014

Good value and clean

More than happy with my stay , nice spacious rooms and I thought very good value

  • Richard B

  • February 2014

All too brief a stay

Was able to book in without any problems.

Room was clean and tidy with decent facilities. Didn't actually get back to the room until very late, which again was not a problem. Friendly night staff were on hand to make sure I had all I needed. Bed was comfy and room was nice and warm. Can't complain at all

  • S Wood-Antill

  • January 2014

Large room

Booked a cheap single, got a large double with balcony.

food and beer very good.

  • John L

  • January 2014

Highfield Hotel, good value for money

Perfectly adequate hotel with all the usual facilities including free wifi.

Very reasonably priced and convenient for Durham and Sunderland. Friendly and helpful staff - for some reason our twin room booking had become a double on the system, but was quickly and cheerfully corrected. There is a Thai restaurant, but I'm not a big fan of Thai food, so we ate off the Bar Menu, which had enough scope to keep most people happy. Breakfast was more than adequate without being thriling, worth adding to your booking. I will cheerfully stay here again next time.

  • Peter L

  • December 2013

Overnight stay at Highfield

Clean room and very friendly and helpful staff, although the corridors smelt of smoke.

They spent time finding me a remote for the TV in the room as it was missing. I didn't eat there in the evening as I arrived too late (10.30pm) but the menu had some nice looking Thai dishes and the aroma from the restaurant was pleasant. There was no vegetarian option to be seen though. The breakfast was reasonable value for money. There was a list on the table and you ticked whether you wanted tea or coffee, what sort of toast and five items from the full English menu. If travelling alone I would stay there again. I wouldn't take my wife as it was a bit too basic.