No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 119 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highfield Hotel, good value for money
Perfectly adequate hotel with all the usual facilities including free wifi. Very reasonably priced and convenient for Durham and Sunderland. Friendly and helpful staff - for some reason our twin room booking had become a double on the system, but was quickly and cheerfully corrected.
There is a Thai restaurant, but I'm not a big fan of Thai food, so we ate off the Bar Menu, which had enough scope to keep most people happy. Breakfast was more than adequate without being thriling, worth adding to your booking.
I will cheerfully stay here again next time.

Reviewed by
John L

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Large room
Booked a cheap single, got a large double with balcony. food and beer very good.

Reviewed by
S Wood-Antill

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay at Highfield
Clean room and very friendly and helpful staff, although the corridors smelt of smoke. They spent time finding me a remote for the TV in the room as it was missing. I didn't eat there in the evening as I arrived too late (10.30pm) but the menu had some nice looking Thai dishes and the aroma from the restaurant was pleasant. There was no vegetarian option to be seen though. The breakfast was reasonable value for money. There was a list on the table and you ticked whether you wanted tea or coffee, what sort of toast and five items from the full English menu. If travelling alone I would stay there again. I wouldn't take my wife as it was a bit too basic.

ManagementResponse

Hello and thank you for your review. We have a wide range of vegetarian option on our restaurant menu includeing a number of currys, stir-fries and noodle dishes. If you were traveling with your partner I would suggest one of our supperior double rooms. The room package which you chose was our most basic and as such, is designed to keep your costs as low as possible. Regards, The Highfield Hotel

Reviewed by
Peter L

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel review
the hotel was cheap so in some ways you get cheap..the room was adequate however small things could be improved very easily..there was a kettle but no socket close by therefore you have to put it on the floor to be able to plug it in.The radiators did not work in either the bathroom or the bedroom..in its place was a small plug in heater but it did not give out much heat. The duvet was featheres..which my husband is allergic to, and as we were out in durham town exploring Lumiere we did not get back until late (11pm) no- one was in reception so all we had was a top sheet to keep warm . The breakfast was good tho..plenty of choice and the staff were kind and helpful. In the dining area we had lunch and that was excellent value and quality. It was cheap and we could manage and we would stay again, but we would ask for a change duvet earlier !!

ManagementResponse

Hello and thank you for your review. The feather duvet is the only one in the hotel due to the larger size of bed in your particular room. If you had let us know before check-in or at any point during your stay we could have very easily changed the duvet. The hotel is staffed 24/7 however due our size it is not practical to have someone sitting at reception all this time and as such, receptionists often help out in our bar area adjacent to the reception. You also did choose our lowest price double room option at £50.00 per night and if you had preferred we do have deluxe rooms available for just £10 extra.

Reviewed by
G Singleton

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, clean and great value for money. Excellent for the non pretentious. Would need a vehicle!!

Reviewed by
O M

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-

Reviewed by
Stuart H

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
I have stayed at Highfield previously and have enjoyed the hospitality and standard of service both in the past and on this occasion. Further, the location is very convenient for me. I will look to book this hotel again in future.

Reviewed by
A Jopling

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real value for money. Recommend it.
Knew the names of nearly all the staff after 1 night, very friendly, Bubbly Sophie, Steph behind the bar,, Kay, Gavin in the lovely recommended Thai restaurant, and large bar area. Would stay here again without hesitation. Requested a printed map of a particular location, at reception and this was brought to my room by I understand the owner, very quickly. Typical North East hospitality. The hotel manager, if he reads this may want to update his fire risk assessment, (fire signage).

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price
Great price friendly staff. No complaints

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Skipton, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
If your on a budge then this the place for you, large clean rooms, excellent staff and enjoyable food.

Reviewed by
paul bell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next