No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good
very nice room

Reviewed by
William Hunter

From Aldershot, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the way north...
I needed somewhere to stay overnight while travelling north. This hotel offered good value for money with the added bonus of an excellent thai restaurant for an evening meal. The hotel is quite closeto a busy road so if you're a light sleeper you might ask for a room at the back of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Julia S

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staffvare very polite efficant , the rooms are clean spacious the food in the restaurant is very good would recommend this hotel for any from just an kvr njght or as a base to visit thd north east

Reviewed by
g griffin

From aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

did not seem very welcoming
had comfortable overnight stay

Reviewed by
BRIAN H

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

better than expected
A lot better hotel than a thought it would be. Room was good. Only flaw was lack of a shower.

Reviewed by
chris m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average
Good points:
Quiet room and location. Superking bed (two 3 foot beds zipped together). Good TV. Decent size room.
Bad points:
No one on reception. Pressed buzzer and waited a few minutes before (I'm guessing) a chinese man came. Couldn't understand what he was saying and he couldn't find our reservation. Worrying. He had to go off and find another member of staff who quickly found our room. Lift was out of order (blocked off by washing trolley and miscellaneous items with a big sign shouting 'DO NOT MOVE ANYTHING'. Not good.
Toilet seat wouldn't remain up (very annoying for us guys). Shower fitting was non adjustable and set to fire out the water horizontally at your head - quite a shock as I turned the taps on! So you have to hold the shower head the whole time. :/
Breakfast was poor, worst I've had for a good while. Food was limited in choice and not very good quality.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, hopefully I can address some of the points raised. The man who came to see to you first was our Thai restaurant employee who promptly got the receptionist to check you in. I am unsure why his ethnicity is brought up in this review and seems unnecessary. We have a receptionist on from 6:45 am till 11pm however due to the size of the hotel they often assist behind the bar at peak times. The lift was out of order at the time due to torrential rain from the previous days and required some repairs over the weekend which is why we have a sign in front asking customers and employees not to move anything. Breakfast on the day was offered as a buffet and included a selection of a full cooked breakfast, yogurts, juice, cereal and fruit which we think is excellent value for money for £5 per head

Reviewed by
Darren M

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The service I received was very good the room was spacious very clean the people were very polite the food was amazing would recommend to friends n family ty for wonderful sta

Reviewed by
G Griffin

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent

Reviewed by
stephen w

From Sunderland, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Chap
The Hotel was clean and the Staff very friendly. During my stay I felt relaxed and at home, there was no ‘stand off’ attitude towards the customers (an attitude which I am seeing more and more on my travels but fortunately not here), everything that I asked for was given with a smile and very prompt on delivery.
After booking I was called by the management to inform me that a wedding was taking place over my stay and that it may become noisier than normal. I was ask if I wanted to change my room (which I had the opportunity to specifically book online) or indeed cancel my booking. The fact that the team bothered to carry out a follow up call after booking filled me with confidence that this hotel was right for me.
Would I use this hotel again? Simply ‘Yes’.

Reviewed by
A Mechen

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Very good hotel , will use again next time in UK

Reviewed by
Stewart Harrison

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next