Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3

101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (86)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • P Cole

  • February 2015

Rather tired

Room was clean but "tired" and it smelt really stale.

Noise from next door rooms (TV and conversation) could be heard as well as traffic on road (with window shut). The toilet wasn't fixed properly to the floor so moved when sat on and didn't flush easily. There was never anyone behind reception (ie on arrival, when passed on way to breakfast or on way out). Worst hotel I've stayed in for a long while. Breakfast was okay apart from no glases for juice and no coffee - but by this point I just wanted to get on the way home.

Response from hotel

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and hopefully I can address a few points raised! For your stay you choose one of our basic single rooms. These rooms are the last to be updated however are clean and comfortable at at £41 per night offer excellent value for money, especially on valentines night when you stayed.

We have noted to problem with the toilet and the issue has been addressed. On a night receptionists do help behind the bar however the two areas are attached. Being a small hotel it would be impractical to have a receptionist just to man reception all night. It also helps us keep our costs down and is one of the reasons we can offer such a great room rate.

If you were to stay again I would recommend an upgraded room which start from just £20 extra per night however offer completely renovated rooms.

  • lindsey kennedy

  • February 2015

only negative comment was the noise from the main road.

  • Andy H

  • February 2015

Ideal

Head down after a busy day - sleep - just what I needed - followed by a well organised and good value breakfast and a proper wi-fi to use before setting off for work

  • Andy J

  • January 2015

Highly recommended

Superb value for money, friendly staff, and enjoyable stay.

  • Christine C

  • January 2015

Highfield Hotel

A friendly family run hotel.

  • GEORGE ADAMSON CHITSON WHITE

  • December 2014

I had to tell the desk clerk that someone had been smoking in the room prior to me and my Grandaughter staying there.

Other than that the place is perfect and fitts all my requirements

  • e stuart

  • December 2014

Highfield Hotel

excellent hotel not far from city centre !

  • sarah g

  • November 2014

a good stop over

great for the price, friendly staff, warm room with a comfy bed and plenty of space, a bit dated and maybe a little frayed round the edges, but then again, so am I so it was all good!

  • David C

  • November 2014

Recommended

Brilliant.

Couldn't fault a thing. Nice staff. Beautiful food. Excellent room. Will definitely go again .

  • L Stubbings

  • November 2014

Excellent

I have stayed here many times before and cannot rate this hotel highly enough given the price.

The hotel incorporates a Thai restaurant which serves the best quality Thia food i can find anywhere outside of London!. The rooms hsve been recently refurbished and this makes the whole stay even beter!!