No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Highfield Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT
For whatever reason you have chosen to visit the North East, you will find that the Highfield Hotel is ideally situated for all amenities.

As a base for your holiday you will be within an easy drive to the North Pennines, Hadrian's wall, Northumberland and the borders. To the east lie many coastal resorts and sailing facilities. The ancient city of Durham with its Cathedral, Castle and market are just minutes to the south. For shopping you will be spoiled for choice. The world famous Metro Centre and Eldon Square are within 20 minutes drive and you will find the city of Durham and Sunderland a shoppers paradise.

Our well appointed Star of Siam authentic Thai restaurant is the longest established Thai restaurant in the North East It caters for 195 persons giving them magnificent views of Penshaw Monument and surrounding valley.We are open seven days a week,serving lunch and dinners .Whether it's a simple business lunch for two or that special occasion, our menus will suit all.Six of our rooms have balcony's with views of Penshaw monument and surrounding valleys. Most of our rooms have free wi-fi connectivity, which is also available in the bar.which is ideal for that quiet meeting where coffee or snacks can be arranged.
Picture of Highfield Hotel, Houghton-Le-Spring at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best thing about this hotel is staff, very polite and welcoming. Food very good and all excellent value. Room clean but missing some features would tend to expect like an info pack telling you about meal times/ the fact they have free WiFi etc. Could also do with a bin and some decaf drink options. But other than that really lovely staff, good food, good price and clean comfy room.

Reviewed by
R Wapshott

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Friendly stuff, cracking breakfast and beautiful, comfortable room. Good value for money and more character than a Premier Inn (same price). Right on Bus route. Would go back if I ever visited the area again.

Reviewed by
Alleta Liebenberg

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was very impressed with the very friendly welcome - even though we arrived at 11.00pm. The rooms were comfortable, well-equipped and clean. The breakfast was delicious and very good value.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel a little tired but good value
I was looking for an overnight stop over and this was an excellent hotel in a good location for my trip. Staff were very pleasant and helpful if the common areas were looking a little tired. I was surprised that there was no shower in the room but the extra large bath made up for it.

Reviewed by
David L

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was nice and clean but mattress was horrific other guests said same aswell breakfast wasn't very filling only 5 pieces allowed

Reviewed by
scott evans

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give this hotel a try, you won't be disappointed
Our visit to this Hotel was first class, the staff where very welcoming, polite, helpful. You don't need to think about eating out anywhere, as the food on offer at the Hotel is Excellent, with a great variety of drinks from the bar.
Loved the decor in the rooms, and indeed around the Hotel.
So, We'll done Highfield Hotel.

Reviewed by
STUART WILLIAMS

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
They requirements hotel met my requirements, it was a comfortable stay. This was my 2nd time staying there and everything was consistent..

Reviewed by
Roy J

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant room
For a one night stay,the highfield hotel had everything you would need.

Reviewed by
Sharon C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the job for Durham/Sunderland
Third time I've stayed here which probably tells you all you need to know. Perhaps not the poshest Hotel in County Durham but has everything you need for a comfortable stay. A friendly welcome, good sized room with everything you need, very good value for money. Breakfast doesn't have much "continental" option, butt cereals, full English and toast fine with me and well worth the cost.

Reviewed by
John L

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
I stayed here as it was close to an event I was attending. First impressions weren't great as reception was unmanned but it was a busy Friday night in the bar. Staff were very friendly. Room was bigger than expected, paid for a single and got a twin. Bathroom could have done with an update, missing grout in places. Water pipes were a little noisy, but the bottom line was it comfortable, clean and cheap.

Reviewed by
Mark K

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next