You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Highfield Hotel


101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Price From 138.17 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Claire B

  • March 2015

Clean, tidy and good value

Clean, tidy and comfortable.

Really pleasant stay and a really good price.

  • david shillito

  • March 2015

would use again

did mention someone had been smoking in the room.

They did offer me a different room......but i had already unpacked and was tired so i declined.

  • d bye

  • March 2015

Great little find

  • P Cole

  • February 2015

Rather tired

Room was clean but "tired" and it smelt really stale.

Noise from next door rooms (TV and conversation) could be heard as well as traffic on road (with window shut). The toilet wasn't fixed properly to the floor so moved when sat on and didn't flush easily. There was never anyone behind reception (ie on arrival, when passed on way to breakfast or on way out). Worst hotel I've stayed in for a long while. Breakfast was okay apart from no glases for juice and no coffee - but by this point I just wanted to get on the way home.

Response from hotel

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and hopefully I can address a few points raised! For your stay you choose one of our basic single rooms. These rooms are the last to be updated however are clean and comfortable at at £41 per night offer excellent value for money, especially on valentines night when you stayed.

We have noted to problem with the toilet and the issue has been addressed. On a night receptionists do help behind the bar however the two areas are attached. Being a small hotel it would be impractical to have a receptionist just to man reception all night. It also helps us keep our costs down and is one of the reasons we can offer such a great room rate.

If you were to stay again I would recommend an upgraded room which start from just £20 extra per night however offer completely renovated rooms.

  • lindsey kennedy

  • February 2015

only negative comment was the noise from the main road.

  • Andy H

  • February 2015


Head down after a busy day - sleep - just what I needed - followed by a well organised and good value breakfast and a proper wi-fi to use before setting off for work

  • Andy J

  • January 2015

Highly recommended

Superb value for money, friendly staff, and enjoyable stay.

  • Christine C

  • January 2015

Highfield Hotel

A friendly family run hotel.


  • December 2014

I had to tell the desk clerk that someone had been smoking in the room prior to me and my Grandaughter staying there.

Other than that the place is perfect and fitts all my requirements

  • e stuart

  • December 2014

Highfield Hotel

excellent hotel not far from city centre !