Highfield Hotel

3

101 Durham Road East Rainton, Houghton-Le-Spring, DH5 9QT

Price From 139.79 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (105)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • B Leadbeater

  • October 2014

Overnight

Very good value at the price I paid.

Very clean & pleasant facilities.

  • E Hunter

  • October 2014

quirky but would stay again

As we were waiting to check in the couple in front were asked lots of friendly questions about their stay and weekend ahead.

We were given the key and told where the room was. I'd booked the bridal sweet as a treat, it turned out to be a large room that was a bit tatty and dated with European modernist paintings next to the Thai and 80s decor. Very comfy big bed with clean sheets so had a great nights sleep. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath but no shower a but looked like it had been 're tiled recently so looked nice. Staff at breakfast were really lovely and were shocked to hear we had not been told about our breakfast in bed (part of the bridal room service) - the breakfast was very nice and cooked fresh. All in all a quirky family owned place that's nice to stay in. I get the impression that they are updating what they can when they can. I'd stay again but I'd probably go for the executive double next time.

  • Minnie L

  • October 2014

Very good experience.wished i could have stayed longer.

Would stay there again.

  • Dave M

  • October 2014

Good for business travellers

A good value stay for business travellers.

Clean tidy rooms. Have probably stayed here on around ten separate occasions over last three years.

  • Peter D

  • September 2014

Saturday night stay

Reception and dining room staff could not be more helpful.

Some noise from A690 but double glazing keeps it to a minimum. Decent bar and selection of food, very good breakfast.

  • R Taylor

  • September 2014

Room was clean with ample supply of lovely fluffy towels and tea and coffee.

Found the noise from the road a bit of a problem but good value for money.

  • daniel w

  • September 2014

Room was a bit basic for a bridal suite.

Doors wouldnt shut properly. Lamps had no bulbs and when I asked reception they didnt want to know. Also room didnt have the bare essentials which where an iron and ironing board which I asked reception to get me these and nothing. I had to go out and buy one to iron my shirt for a friend of mines wedding. And not to mention the food was disgraceful it arrived half cooked it was chicken breast. Nearly had a case of salmonella poisoning on our hands but it was resolved when I sent it back they did give me a fresh meal and a free starter.

  • Amy S

  • September 2014

no light bulbs in bed side lights.

No shower just bath in the bridal suite. TVs not working.

  • Anne B

  • September 2014

If you liked the 1970s you will like this tired hotel

  • R Cleminson

  • September 2014

Absolutely fantastic

The staff were brilliant, very friendly pleasant and well groomed.

Very informative of local landmarks etc and places of interest to visit.