No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel du Vin And Bistro Newcastle

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Allan House City Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 2BE
Commanding breathtaking views of Newcastle's Quayside and the Tyne, Hotel du Vin Newcastle offers 42 eclectically-styled bedrooms and luxury suites, a-must-dine-at bistro, two sumptuous private dining and meeting rooms filled with oceans of natural daylight. Formerly a shipping company headquarters, Hotel du Vin Newcastle also features an outstanding wine cellar, an amazing Laroche tasting table, a well-stocked bar, lounge area with ‘Pupitre’ champagne display, an open courtyard for alfresco dining with the Bothy Lodge for those cigar lovers.
Picture of Hotel du Vin And Bistro Newcastle, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MOK review
Great location and excellent quality from the reception, bar and restaurant through to the rooms with roll top bath and large walk in shower. The quality of the hotel is excellent, I would recommend Hotel du Vin in the future.

Reviewed by
Mark O'Keefe

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bucket b day
would stay again

Reviewed by
marcus p

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great North run stay
Stayed for the great north run,staff were helpfull and friendly,the room was fantastic with a bathroom to die for...my stay here was faultless!!

Reviewed by
A Hall

From Harlow, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable, friendly staff and very nice room

Reviewed by
alan erridge

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic experience
The room, the service, the area and the food were amazing.

Reviewed by
Rachel P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room - bad nights sleep!
Was really looking forward to my stay after a long days travelling - was pleased with superior room with lovely bath n mezzanine - paintwork needs re-done but still good room. Room service - had burger, no salt and pepper/ketchup or mayo was brought with it and was impossible to eat as just crumbed! Room all look on to court yard where people were laughing,smoking and drinking til 2.30am - nothing against people having a good time but could hear everyting from my room - no sleep before 2.30 am and then woken up at 6am by the fire alarm!! this went on for 20 mins with no hope of getting back to sleep it was time to leave! Disappointed there was no acknowlegement of this early wake up and no appology from reception on check out.

Reviewed by
Carolyn C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely boutique hotel
Fantastic little hotel with great features, rooms and food! The shower was
One of the best I've been in. Not sure why but it just was! Definitely be back, especially for the wine tasting...

Reviewed by
John M

From Ponteland , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good addition to a great brand
this quirky and interesting brand is a personal favourite and Newcastle lived up to expectations, dinner was good as was breakfast, the drawbacks were adding items to the bill like parking, extra for bits of breakfast and not having my first choice of breakfast. The pluses are the quality of the room, the location of the hotel within the city and nice touches like the minibar and the views of the Tyne, we went the next day to the baltic which is walking distance.

Reviewed by
Alistair M

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel du Vin, Newcastle. Time out on the Tyne.
My wife and I had a two night stay at this smart boutique hotel on the River Tyne in Newcastle.
The positives: The location is great for accessing Newcastle's bars and restaurants, whilst being set away from most of the noise. The room was small but comfortable, the bath set in the room and the espresso machine were great features. The hotel does excellent food and there is a lovely bar and terrace to enjoy. The staff were also very helpful and genuinely friendly.
The negatives: The awful live rock and roll music from the bar opposite making our planned Sunday afternoon snooze impossible. We were also irritated by a constant rumbling noise from the pipe work in the hotel. Another annoyance was the poor signal on the TV, making the sky sports channels we wanted to watch not viewable.
Overall our stay represented good value for money at our discounted rate of £122 per night, though we did have to pay an extra £13 each for breakfast each morning. I certainly would not have wanted to pay any more than that. We enjoyed our stay though and would certainly stay at another Hotel du Vin in the future.

Reviewed by
Stephen Cummins

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charged £10 for parking on the driveway as car park was full which I think was terrible . Even the car park at a cost of £10 was alot as not secure at all . Rooms lovely but as there was a wedding on couldn't get a seat in courtyard to enjoy a drink and queues for bar too long so went straight out for a drink . Would of liked to have a few drinks in hotel but as there was no where to sit couldn't . Loved the room , views lovely , location great for quayside . Would stay again but hopefully not when a wedding on as also very noisy next morning , children running up and down corridor . We were having a child free break would of loved a lie in .

Reviewed by
A Moore

From South Shields , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next