No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - pentahotel Derby

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Locomotive Way Pride Park, Derby, DE24 8PU
Free Wifi, Free on Demand TV, Every Sunday Late Breakfast until 11am and late check Out of 3pm

From a perfect position in Pride Park, pentahotel Derby is a gateway to Derby’s business district and all the city’s attractions. Step inside and experience a hotel that’s proud to be different. Our pentalounge - part hotel reception, part cool club – is the heart of penta: a friendly chill-out zone, designed by Italian architectural maestro Mattheo Thun. Your only problem will be wanting to extend your stay!

Luckily, we’re just minutes on foot from Derby’s central rail station, the airport is less than ten miles away and you’re on the doorstep of some of Britain’s most beautiful scenery, from the Peak District to the Derbyshire Dales. And if you’re looking for a more seat-of-the-pants day out, Alton Towers is just a rollercoaster ride away
Picture of pentahotel Derby, Derby at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 275 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really great hotel to use as a sleep and breakfast base while you explore the local area.
Don't be put off by the location on a business park. We used this as a base to sleep and eat and it was fantastic. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The room was spotless and spacious and we would stay again. Very central to the station if that's your mode of transport. Great nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Melanie B

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Week-end
No longer a Ramada, now Pentahotel, which we discovered on arrival. Feels like you're entering a nightclub when you go in. The booking-in took place at the bar on entry, staff very knowledgable and explained all the facilities (inc. free Wi-Fi, Free use of gym, free films on TV in rooms, free use of pool table & PS4 etc). Rooms were spotless with great TV. Walk-in shower was lovely but a bit dark (lighting). Not much storage space for clothes and undies, but we managed. Great venue for teenagers, but food and drink very pricey - so wise to check out other places - lots to chose from within 5 mins. Would stay again, especially at that room rate!

Reviewed by
Susan K

From Croydon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what we booked...
We booked this hotel when it was the Ramada Encore as we had stayed before and it had suited our needs. If we hadn't have double checked directions the evening before travelling we wouldn't have known it had changed name/brand.
The Pentahotel is clearly not after the same clientele as the Ramada.
In fairness, the reception was clean and the staff welcoming, but it was dimly lit with flashing lights and loud music at all times of day.
The rooms were small and basic for a 4*.
Bath towels are little more than hand towel sized and there was debris (2 bobby pins and hair) on the floor of the toilet/wet room when we arrived that had still not been removed when we left, despite the room being 'cleaned' during our stay.
There is no fridge, so the free bottle of water - which could have been a nice touch - was warm. The hairdryer is the type that is attached to the wall and either blows cold or singes your hair and the mirror next to the hairdryer is also over the tea/coffee facilities; meaning it is not the most hygienic area for blow-drying hair/doing make up.
We were in a room on the first floor that was almost directly above reception which meant it was noisy. Whilst I appreciate that we stayed over on a weekend when many guests would have been there to 'party', we needed to sleep and at 2:30am had to ring down to ask reception to move/quieten the gathering throng of smokers/drinkers/revellers that was gathered below our window outside reception. Again in fairness, they did this quickyl, but I wouldn't have thought it was something that would need requesting when there are many bedrooms in the same/similar situation.
Disappointing stay and we won't be hurrying back. Just a little more thought regarding room layout and a tad more attention to detail is needed.

Reviewed by
L Patterson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice change
The name has changed from Ramada so found it confusing to find. This is a pretty trendy, lively place for young people, not traditional and stuffy. The reception is in the bar/cafe and this reminded me of our Youth Hostelling days but it's much more upmarket. The room is small but very clean and has everything you need in a neat, comfortable bundle including a nice big flat screen TV placed conveniently so that you can watch the tennis and the World Cup while lying on the bed, which we did. Buzzing atmosphere in the lounge if you want to be with other people.

Reviewed by
K Rich

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swanky and quirky brilliant hotel
We stayed here on a last minute decision to visit derby for a night out for my birthday , we booked 1 hour before we arrived and it was one if the best hotels we have stayed in. The best word to Describe the hotel is 'Swanky'. The hotel bar reception area is such a chilled out vibe and ultramodern. Anybody looking to stay would thoughrouly enjoy themselves. The bar prices are a little steep as is the food but the quality if the hotel makes up for this , is a defo go again hotel for us.

Reviewed by
G Sherwin

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay and value for money
Stayed a few weeks ago when it was a Ramada and couldn't believe the difference! Although when we first entered it felt a bit "clubby" with the dark interior, staff in t shirts and jeans - but we were made to feel every welcome. In comparison with hotel chains such as Holiday Inn Pentagotel offered great value for money. Breakfast was buffet style and of good quality with a fantastic variety to suit all tastes. The check out time of 3pm was excellent as it meant that there was no rushing around.

Reviewed by
Kim E

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wrong name hotel
Was supposed to be ramada hotel,no one informed us of change of name so was a bit more difficult to locate.room wasn't too bad but would have complained if I hadaid full price.TV only had 7 channels ,pittyfull in this age.morning papers didn't materialise and the hairdryer was missing but they did supply one after we rang so not too bad I suppose.food was ultra expensive so we ate out.overall I suppose it was adequate as it was only a base camp.

Reviewed by
mark m

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel and close to amenities and derby train station
This hotel was excellent value for money. The reception and bar was well staffed and well equipped. The room was clean and comfortable. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
steve d

From Henley in Arden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was just an over night stay while attending a works party at the Roundhouse.A very nice welcome from the receptionist.I thought the bar area was modern & pleasant but the decor in the bedrooms didn't match the reception,they were clean & presentable but a little basic.

Reviewed by
S FOULKE

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good hotel

Reviewed by
S Hartland

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next