No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pheasant

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bassenthwaite Lake , Cockermouth, CA13 9YE
The Pheasant is a charming old Coaching Inn situated close to Bassenthwaite Lake at the unspoilt, northern end of the Lake District. It is one of the last remaining traditional Cumbrian hostelries with its unique period atmosphere, sense of timelessness and peaceful location. The Pheasant enjoys a well deserved national reputation amongst those who are used to being well cared for in a traditional manner.

The history of The Pheasant stretches back over 500 years. Originally a farm house, it was converted in more recent years (1778) to a popular Alehouse. One of its 19th century regulars was the famous huntsman John Peel. He would often celebrate and recount his exploits in the tap room of The Pheasant now the hotel bar.

You cannot escape the sense of being surrounded by history the moment you walk in the door.

Picture of The Pheasant, Cockermouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy Break
If you get the Bassenthwaite room make sure there is no party going on as the noise is horrendous and you can hear every word the people are saying downstairs. We had to ring reception and they did quieten down but £150,00 for a noisy room was a bit disappointing.

Reviewed by
Nicky B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing ?
Stayed here and was not happy, why,room was damp in one corner,cobwebs in corners,bathroom radiator was not working,one of the owners came to have a look, no joy,said to leave hot water running to warm bathroom up??, asked for a room move said they were full up or he would have moved us, checked later on line, and reception, and yes there was a room available,so we assume he could not be bothered to look after guests, decor in room was in need of updating,bathroom decor was awfull, paper peeling of ceiling in a number of places,cobwebs in bedroom in all corners,very poor room.

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long Weekend retreat
The Pheasant Inn is a superb retreat offering a very pleasant atmosphere in very comfortable surroundings. The welcome was warm and all the staff were very professional and helpful. We had a very good meal in the bistro. We will return again for sure. Wonderful location.

Reviewed by
Brian Roche

From Bakewell, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some rooms better than others
Our room was generally excellent, clean, well set up and provided for, regularly checked and used items replenished, lovely sheets and pillows. The only slight negative being its location over the kitchen and hence some early morning noise, not great but I would try to avoid it in future by booking one of the rooms overlooking the garden which are really, really good.

Reviewed by
C Hughes

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service in a comfortable old fashioned inn
This was one of five hotels that we stayed in and was far the best. Will be returning as soon as possible as this is a gem and needs to be enjoyed for as long as it lasts. This is a place both to rest in the stunning garden or equally as a base to have a vigorous or not so vigorous walk on the nearby fells.

Reviewed by
Alfred Huckett

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely lakes hotel all should visit

Reviewed by
Roger Lawford

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The pleasant phesant
We had a warm friendly greeting on arrival and help with our bags. The room was of a reasonable size and very comfortable. The breakfast was made with fresh food, very tasty and enjoyable along with good service.
The only quibble we had was with the noise from the plumbing on a couple of occasions.
We only had a short stay whilst attending a wedding nearby and did not get the opportunity to try an evening meal. I was more disappointed because I didn't have the chance to sample the three excellent local real ales.
We will definitely stay here again some time in the future, it has a very calm, relaxing atmosphere as well as being in a top class location.

Reviewed by
Danny L

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff. Food served in the Bistro and at breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Julie B

From Lymm, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pheasant. Will hopefully be visiting again soon

Reviewed by
David W

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Phantabulous
This is the best hotel. Unpretentious, full of character, comfortable, welcoming and I would gladly move in permenantly.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next