No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brighton

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
47-51 Brighton Grove, Fenham, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE4 5NS
The Brighton is a long established 2 star guest house in a residential area. We are just 1 mile from the centre on a good bus link, we are also close to the A1 and A69 the main routes into the city. We provide clean rooms at keen prices and all our staff are here to help. You will see from the reviews we are a friendly team. During the week we cater for contractors and tourists. Our main weekend trade is guests who have been drawn to the city for it's vibrant nightlife and shopping. Guests who know they will not be spending much time in their rooms can opt for the cheaper option with shared wc and shower facilities. Those who prefer can choose the en-suite rooms. We regret none of our rooms have baths only showers. Tea and coffee facilities are provided in the two guest lounges which gives you the opportunity to mingle. Should you prefer please ask for in room facilities on arrival or at the time of booking.
Picture of The Brighton, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

X

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

X

Reviewed by
J Bennett

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel and great value for money!
We stayed at The Brighton about a month ago fr a weekend city break. Upon arrival the manager gave us all keys to the room and to the door and showed us around the hotel. He was very helpful in making sure we were comfortable for the duration of our stay.
The room was clean and had a warm feel to it. Four of us were sharing and there were no complains except for one slightly hard mattress. We all had ample space to put our things and the room had the commodities you'd want on a city break - an abundance of plug sockets, shower, bath, TV and access to tea and coffee making facilities. It is also within about 10/15 minutes walk for the city centre. All for about £20 each! The best value for money in Tyneside.
We were typically late and behind schedule the next morning but the other member of staff who was on duty was incredibly understanding and helpful and went out of his way to ensure we got on our way on time - by helping us to phone a taxi and then carrying our bags to the car.
It was this kind of warm, friendly customer service which made us decide that we will definitely be returning to The Brighton sometime in the near future.

Reviewed by
Mike Stevens

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay
Stay was enjoyable, Loved the room, Bathroom was spacious and clean, Staff were more than accommodating and friendly. Would be a pleasure to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Nigel R

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
Would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Newcastle. £50 taxi ride from the city centre, and very clean and friendly.

Reviewed by
jeff Nicholson

From darlaston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
This simple hotel is excellent value for money, with friendly service.

Reviewed by
Nicholas M

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Cheap, but very basic. Basically a hostel.
You will be sharing a shower and toilet with other rooms. This was probably detailed when I booked, but missed it. The shower was in a poor way, and the head wouldn't fix to the wall.
Our room came with 3 beds, a sink, and a TV that didn't work. All sockets worked, which was a bonus.
The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
James D

From Holywell, Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value!
I stayed on a Thursday night and paid £25 which included a full cooked breakfast! I wasn't expecting a great deal for £25 but I was very pleasantly surprised! Nice clean room, TV, sink. Not on suite but a nice shower and toilet practically next door. Cereals and cooked English breakfast included!
Only down side is be sure you arrive before 11pm to check in!

Reviewed by
Paul Steptoe

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2