No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dale Head Hall Lakeside Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Thirlmere , Keswick, CA12 4TN

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The beautiful and peaceful location. This is the only house on Lake Thirlmere."

Dale Head Hall Lakeside Hotel is in the heart of the Lake District and is the ideal location for enjoying that well earned break. This Jewel of the Lake District, sits within it's own mature grounds in a spectacular setting on the shores of Lake Thirlmere. Ideal for a romantic break, or simply to get away from it all, what better way to unwind than the relaxed atmosphere of the comfortable lounges, drinks on the terrace overlooking the lake, or a meal in our Red Rosette restaurant.
Picture of Dale Head Hall Lakeside Hotel, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem hidden away
Lovely welcome from the owner, very happy to give advice about walks around the surrounding area. Room excellent, very clean and spacious. Really nice that the house is down a long driveway, so you are well away from the road, so no noise at all during the evening/night. Peaceful and quiet. I wanted to find somewhere quiet and this was it. Gorgeous views across the lake, all rooms have a view. Breakfast excellent, and friendly service provided, with nothing too much trouble. Nice to have free wi-fi, which my older daughter enjoyed, plus large modern t.v. in the room. Later checkout also a bonus. Many thanks. Can't wait to go back.

Reviewed by
Jan A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Bedroom with beautiful lake view
Room is spacey with very nice design of bathroom. Water pressure is good. All amenities is complete. It has a very nice view as well and breakfast is good. Owners are very friendly too.

Reviewed by
W Nugroho

From Jakarta, Indonesia
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow
Amazing location with stunning views of the lake and just 10 minutes from Keswick. Great lakeside walks and scenery to die for. The owners were wonderful, informal, friendly and happy to offer advice on where to go and what to do. If you want to get away from it all with the best views possible go here!

Reviewed by
M Harris

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend in the lakes
The great location and incredible hosts make Dale Head Hall a fabulous place to stay. Nothing too much trouble, very friendly and so, so relaxing.

Reviewed by
Emma M

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
What a gem of a place. Overlooking Thirlmere, the hotel has its own private grounds; it is relaxing and tranquil - the dominant sound throughout the day is bird song! We stayed twice in quick succession, the first for a long weekend and then we booked again immediately to go back two weeks later for another week. It is a family-run place and they are really nice people. The hotel also has two great chefs who really know what they are doing. The restaurant purposefully runs a limited menu choice so that everything you eat is prepared with care and attention. I have not eaten so much great food in very, very long time. Nearby are gentle walks, challenging walks, picnic spots, Cumbrian villages and towns. Since the hotel is located half-way between Keswick and Grasmere you have easy access to some of the best parts of the western lakes and fells. I cannot wait to get back there!

Reviewed by
susan o

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

COLD!
I would rate this a 2 out of 5 stars, mainly because the heating is timed to go off just before you go to bed and the rooms are very cold and the electric showers as well are turned off after a certain time in the morning as well. We mentioned this after the first day to the 'manager' who was very pleasant however, this was still the same the next day (although the heating was on a bit longer that night). I don't understand how the heating can be on during the day time when everyone's out and about doing their thing, and the heating gets turned off at night when you would expect it to be on. The rooms are clean however we did notice cobwebs at the side of the cupboard which put my GF at unease as she's terrified of spiders. This is an old hotel and has alot of potential if the owner would invest further in developing it. If you just want a place to rest your head or stuck for a place to say then this will do (bring your own heater though :-)

ManagementResponse

Thank you for reviewing our self catering, we take on board all positive and negative feedback to make sure we consistently improve our service. In the self catering apartment in which you were staying, the heating is on from early morning to late at night and can be controlled by the customer using the apartment thermostat. Easter weekend when you stayed was particularly warm, we had guests in all of our apartments and no one else came to us and said they were cold, though I was happy to increase the timings to the early hours following our conversation. We are baffled by your comments about the shower as the apartment does not have an electric shower, it has its own hot water tank, which, is normally enough water for two baths or showers. Once used it needs time to reheat before more hot water is available. We are glad you found the apartment very clean and we always aim to address any issues when they are brought to our attention. We are constantly investing and developing these apartments, you may have noticed the new carpets, three piece suite and 32" Sony flat screen television and will continue to do so for the benefit of our guests. Philip Hill, Dale Head Hall

Reviewed by
Russel D

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good for business
No mobile signal - annoying..........cant make calls or receive calls or txt !! Not great for business.

ManagementResponse

In common with much of the Lake District, as we are surrounded by beautiful mountains mobile phone signals are very weak. However, landlines are available in all of our rooms with calls at very reasonable rates and of course guests can also communicate via smartphones over our wi-fi, which is provided free of charge. Many of our guests who are here on holiday rather than business, often comment that they are here for rest and relaxation and find the situation rather refreshing.

Reviewed by
P Hughes

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Stay
Very happy with our stay at Dale Hall, the staff were very friendly and the hotel was lovely. Amazing view onto Thirlmere lake in a secluded area. Children loved every minute of the stay.
Only downside was the food was very expensive for evening meals.

Reviewed by
W Hussain

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relax and unwind
The hotel is in a most lovely setting,the rooms spacious and comfortatable. The view from the breakfast room stunning and the food great. Nothing bad to say.

Reviewed by
colin g

From Whitby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great if you like very quiet
Really a very pleasant hotel and a lovely location on the side of Thirlmere. Proprietor and staff very pleasant, food to a good standard though not remarkable, but too sparecly populated for us to rave about it. Maybe it's remote location is partly to blame, though this will suit many. We just prefer a little more atmosphere.

Reviewed by
Nicholas S

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next