You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Dale Head Hall Lakeside Hotel

3

Lake Thirlmere, Keswick, CA12 4TN

Price From 219.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Amanda Q

  • April 2016

Exquisitely located

Tucked away like a secret on the quietest lake, with not a telephone /pylon in site.

Gorgeous garden facing straight onto the water and tranquil feel about the 400 year old building. Decent breakfast and excellent unassuming service by proprietor. Not a modern place for modern family but a wonderful escape for those looking for something quieter and robust.

  • Mark M

  • April 2016

Could be better.

We booked in for one night and was shown to our room which was cold and smelled damp.

We were not told anything about what the hotel offered, not even time of breakfast. We asked for a different room and they gave us a slightly improved room but with twin beds.

  • N Layouni

  • February 2016

An Oasis of Peace...

I stayed at Dale Head Hall with my husband and two young children, and although the weather was dreadful, we really enjoyed this Lakeside accommodation.

The kids particularly enjoyed the walk around the lake and trying out their new wellies in all the puddles and rivers. Tranquillity ruled. As we lay in our sumptuous four-poster bed at night, the only sound was the sound of the rain battering at the window panes. Please note that during the time of our stay the hotel didn't offer an evening meal, and since the pub up the road was closed due to refurbishment, we had to make the journey into Keswick.

The staff were friendly and super helpful, and contrary to other reviews, we had a plentiful supply of lovely hot water--slightly brown tinged, but, hey, this is the Lake District.

  • Harry K

  • October 2015

Excellent location overlooking the lake.

Very nice room. Bathroom shelves however were dusty. Due to illness within the proprietor's family we were unable to obtain an evening meal. Gluten free bread was not available at breakfast despite advising by email to prior to visit. Grounds appeared in need of some routine maintenance. It was difficult, when dark, to see the path from carpark to entrance. Lighting would have been helpful.

  • Fred P

  • August 2015

Agreeable hotel but be careful of extra charges

This is a pleasant hotel located in a quiet area of one of the less frequented lakes in the Lake District.

Upon arrival we were given a room different from the one we had booked, apparently, and this room only had permanent beds for three people. There were four of us traveling so a camp bed was installed. Not only was the bed so uncomfortable that we had to remove the frame and place the mattress directly on the floor, but when it came to check out we were charged an extra 45 pounds for the privilege of using the mattress. When the price was quoted on LateRooms it was very clearly stated that there were four of us traveling, so I can only imagine that the hotel saw an opportunity to take advantage of us. We will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Crystal r

  • August 2015

lovely and peacful

Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to friends for a nice relaxing break.

  • gillian hindle

  • July 2015

Peaceful and idyllic

Dragged my busy fiancé away from work for his birthday and it was everything and more of what we needed.

Room with a view overlooking the lake and a very comfy bed. Food was amazing and very kind and helpful family run establishment. Would definitely recommend it and come again. Thank you for making us feel so welcomed and looked after. :))

  • Robert M

  • July 2015

Good but could be better

Two night stay bed and breakfast.

The room was nice but the shabby chic looked tatty. Windows need cleaned both inside and out. Bathroom was immaculate, but towels had stains in them. Bear in mind the location, the shower pressure is low and the water is brown but it IS fine to drink. In all, it was a good room but a bit more attention to detail is required to justify the price of the room.

  • Carole Shockledge

  • June 2015

Most enjoyable relaxing break in the Lakes and would recommend

Excellent

  • H Dhillon

  • April 2015

Great place to stay

This was a beautiful location with stunning views of Lake Thirlmere.

So peaceful and relaxing. The apartment style accommodation was spot on- it had all the amenities one needed. We would most definitely come back again. :)