No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lambton Hounds Inn

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
62-64 Front Street, Pity Me, , Durham, DH1 5DE
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Katy Wolsey & her brother James. We invite you to enjoy a relaxing drink in the cosy snug, sample one of the cask ales, or taste our great value steaks and homemade Sunday lunch in our restaurant. The Lambton Hounds Inn provides the ideal location for a weekend break in the heart of the North East. Situated in the village of Pity Me, less than 2 miles from the city of Durham, The Lambton Hounds is a 250-year-old, family run coaching inn on the Great North Road from York to Newcastle. With a congenial atmosphere and inviting fireplace, it is a popular local with a traditional British pub atmosphere. With a wide selection of both keg and cask-conditioned beers on offer, comfortable en-suite accommodation and delicious homemade food in our restaurant, The Lambton Hounds can provide an excellent base to explore the historic city of Durham. We currently have a choice of seven rooms for visitors to choose from and pride ourselves on the high standards maintained throughout this traditional B&B. All rooms have en-suite facilities with a choice of bath or shower. Rooms are equipped with the kind of facilities you would expect of a three star National Tourist Board approved bed and breakfast. In addition to our seven bedrooms we have a cosy snug, traditional bar with pool table, dartboard & jukebox, a relaxing beer garden and a lounge bar. An interesting feature of our lounge bar is that it has the original cocktail bar of the RMS Olympic, sister ship of the Titanic. The Lambton Hounds is conveniently placed with excellent park and ride facilities close by for easy access to the North East's most famous sights and tourist attractions including: The Durham Cathedral heritage site, historic Durham City, the Baltic Art gallery & Millennium Bridge, Beamish museum, the Angel of the North and the Riverside Stadium. We also have ample parking on site in our large car park situated at the rear of the pub.
Picture of The Lambton Hounds Inn, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Pub
difficult to access from train station

Reviewed by
Gayle O

From jackson, USA
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is good but not value for money. The room was very cold
The heating wasn't working properly so the room was very cold.
The room did not have a hair dryer.
In the toilet there was no shampoo. There was just a half used bottle of body wash
The hot kettle was very dirty, seemed it has not been washed in years.

Reviewed by
Akshay G

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to stay
Perfect for going into durham by bus and visiting other places by car.
Public rooms could do with a make-over as they still smell of stale cigarettes. good chat in public bar which is very much the local pub.

Reviewed by
shelagh smith

From brampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Room was in a terraced house next to the pub, and generally inadequate. Nice beer in the pub raised my spirits a little.

Reviewed by
Adrian O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room had seen better days, the wallpaper was peeling off in places and the carpet was worn. On the up side the pub was very quaint and the staff were accommodating.

Reviewed by
Katie B

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Spot!
Easy access to Durham. The owners were very accomodating and welcoming. The attached pub was fun.

Reviewed by
P Kelley

From Peachtree City , USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Flying visit to "Pity Me"
We stayed just one night at the Lambton Hounds Inn in Pity Me on our way to the Scottish borders. Our impression was that it was a traditional, family run pub with attentive staff . We gave a mark of 5/6 for customer service because they didn't tell us that there was no food served on Sunday evening so we found a really nice restaurant locally (The Millennium, really nice Bangladeshi restaurant with excellent food and service).

Reviewed by
Kath S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pity Me Accommodation
This was a great B & B, food was great & service was great, even did us vegetarian sausages for breakfast!

Reviewed by
C Wilson

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel next to a pub
I picked the hotel because it was near the school where I was working the following day. I arrived in the afternoon and the only staff - the landlord - was quite busy but I was in no hurry. Rooms are in a building next to the pub/restaurant where breakfast was served. I was on ground floor, but street was fairly quiet by the time I got back after an evening out. Wi-fi was just BT internet, as far as I know, which costs money unless you are a BT customer (which I am, so didn't investigate further). Pub looked cosy, but I didn't use it.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charm and courtesy
Room very comfortable food excellent in quality and quantity. Staff attentive and helpful. Location easy to find. Convenient car park.

Reviewed by
Peter Allinson

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next