Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Dorset > Swanage Hotels > Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
91 HIGH STREET , SWANAGE, BH19 2LZ
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel - "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment". Formerly a convent up to 1995, Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, Bus and Railway station. This unique hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. The 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003).

All of the bedrooms are en suite,Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches. Full a la Carte Restaurant and Lunch served 12:00 am to 2.00pm.

Please note if your Room is booked in the Louisa Lodge you will need to check in at the Main Hotel reception. Please leave your luggage in the car.
Picture of Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge, SWANAGE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Food was not very good, breakfast was all undercooked.
We stayed in one of the lodge rooms, it was big and clean but I wouldn't like to be there if it rained! You would need to run across the grounds to the main hotel.

Reviewed by
Iain H

From Aldershot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Louisa Lodge is extremely noisy,banging doors extractor fans running all night, doors banging until early hours. Net curtain in bedroom badly torn,(reported to desk but nothing done about it.Would have thought that being a fairly up market establishment a small refridgerator would have been an asset during the hot weather. There was no provision in the room for cooling water etc. which would have been very acceptable as the daily temperature was over 80 degrees.

Reviewed by
k Pearce

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I were not shown to our room. We were told at the foot of the stairs 'it is just up there' and at the age if 83 I had to carry my case up three flights of stairs. I did ask at the end of my stay for the case to be brought down and it was. The windows in the room did not open . I reported this on leaving and should have mentioned it earlier. The girl on reception made a note.. For the price paid I thought the room was nothing special although clean and tidy.

Reviewed by
A Bonfield

From Ashtead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Purbeck House Hotel Swanage
Enjoyed a fantastic weekend at this delightful hotel in Swanage. The hotel is perfectly situated for the town centre, restaurants and shops and the beach. Those with walking difficulties may find the hill and stairs a challenge. The staff were fantastic and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the conservatory where breakfast was served was welcoming and great for socialising if you wanted to. The restaurant food was really good.

Reviewed by
Stephen Smith

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swanage Hotel Break
A peaceful oasis in the middle of town,enjoyed our stay.Only caviat was that the bathroom needed a little TLC [a very small point]

Reviewed by
r smith

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday with my son
Hotel staff and grounds lovely. We were made very welcome. My son did not want to go home and we would definitely go again .

Reviewed by
n de souza

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Victorian hotel with modern annex (in which we stayed). Enjoyable. Would go back.

Reviewed by
John Lock

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A peaceful retreat
The hotel is lovely the grounds are beautiful . It's a quiet heaven in the middle of Swanage.

Reviewed by
Jackie M

From Havant, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel, close to the action and unspoilt in 63 years!
Having stayed many times in Swanage, this was a first at the Purbeck. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The room, whilst a bit small, had plenty of lovely hot water, fluffy towels, and a nice view of the garden. Breakfast was excellent, and I don't mind toasting my own bread - we do it in the Med anyway. However we do have some minor issues, which are best described as irritants, and when we return ( which we will) we hope they will be resolved.
1. White bread gives me bad stomach problems. For dinner, we were only offered white bread (no rolls?) and told there was no brown bread. It miraculously appeared for breakfast!!
2. Sad that there were so few people in for dinner, which we were every night. They missed the one musical background tape which was played every night for 4 nights, and which appeared to loop every 30 minutes = tunes heard 4 times during dinner. Silence would have been preferable.
3. The same dinner menu was provided on all 4 nights, and the waiter appeared apologetic when we asked what the "Chef's Special" was, to be told there was not one that night (and which happened on 2 of our 4 nights).

Reviewed by
David Bennett

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, lovely grounds. Only gripe was the quality of Wifi in Louisa Lodge which was poor. Good breakfast. Didn't use restaurant or bar.

Reviewed by
Paul W

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next