Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
78-84 Sussex Gardens London, London, W2 1UH
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel enjoys a peaceful setting within an area known as Sussex Gardens in Paddington. It is within close proximity to the major cultural and commercial areas of the city making it an ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. Within convenient reach of London's West End, the Shaftesbury Townhouse Paddington Hotel offers easy access to London's Tourist attractions. Fine restaurants, exclusive designer boutiques and department stores. It’s also a short walk away from Marble Arch and Oxford Circus. The hotel offers 24/7 Complimentary internet service in all the rooms in additional to other amenities.

Please note: As a company policy we will take pre-authorization from your card for the first nights stay, 48 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in a great location
I have stayed in this hotel many times and it does not fail to impress. From the moment you enter the reception where the staff are always helpful and friendly to the quality of the room. It is in a great location in Paddington only 5 mins walk from the station. Only criticism is that the do vary greatly in size but still has all the same facilities. It is my first choice hotel when staying in London on business.

Reviewed by
E Guest

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise for London B & B
Staff at all times were a delight - helpful and pleasant. Room was a fair size for London - we had a Club Room and it made a pleasant change for London to be able to walk around the bed! It was clean with a very modern bathroom. Our rate included breakfast, which we assumed would be continental but we had the full English breakfast included as well - buffet style. The quality, range and presentation were faultless. And it was always well-cooked and hot! On arrival we had a selection of fresh fruit, coca colas, bottled water and half-bottle of red wine in our room, which assumed would be chargeable and left until we were told - several times, that it was complimentary! Could not believe it. Best stay of many in London. Well done.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing hotel experience
While the bedroom was clean and adequately furnished, it was very disappointing in terms of its being advertised as a club room for two people; there was only one chair, indeed there was no room for two. It was barely large enough for one person. There was a working shower but no bath and this information should have been provided. The breakfast food and dining room was at best two star.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt conned.
In late rooms I was sold a massive bargain, saving more than £200. In fact, we got a little room up the back staircase (the old servants quarters). We could not take a lift to the better rooms and the staircase we had to use was unkempt, carpets badly frayed at the edges and a general atmosphere of back door gloom. The reception staff were surly and dismissive, though we made no complaint. They probable reserve these jokes for late room bargains. I wouldn't have paid half what we were charged.

Reviewed by
Ayari P

From Markfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, my room was upgraded and was quiet and comfortable though there was no natural light. I had a good deal and felt I received value for money.

Reviewed by
Lyn L

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel
Great friendly hotel

Reviewed by
I shaw

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room size left something to be desired
The room was fine but a little small for two adults, I guess, and I was hoping for something a little larger for the money. Having said that, the bed was comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Choice For Weekend Away
Excellent stay. Comfy bed, attentive staff.

Reviewed by
C Holland

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very nice stay
a nice location for Hyde Park, Kensinghton Palace ,Marble Arch & shops
very good service and food good , the room was abit compact & dark some traffic noise but very comfortable, club room with complementry fruit and drinks was a nice touch

Reviewed by
Watkinson K

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for Hyde Park, room well equipped and clean, albeit small. Staff very pleasant and helpful. 12.00 check out a bonus. Only negative double bed was on the small side and requires a firmer mattress.

Reviewed by
m harding

From Whitstable, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next