Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
78-84 Sussex Gardens London, London, W2 1UH
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel enjoys a peaceful setting within an area known as Sussex Gardens in Paddington. It is within close proximity to the major cultural and commercial areas of the city making it an ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. Within convenient reach of London's West End, the Shaftesbury Townhouse Paddington Hotel offers easy access to London's Tourist attractions. Fine restaurants, exclusive designer boutiques and department stores. It’s also a short walk away from Marble Arch and Oxford Circus. The hotel offers 24/7 Complimentary internet service in all the rooms in additional to other amenities.

Please note: As a company policy we will take pre-authorization from your card for the first nights stay, 48 hours prior to arrival.
Picture of The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel and location
Stayed overnight for a short break with hubby
Only a 5-10 walk from Paddington station
From the hotel it's about a 15 minute walk into Oxford street
I booked the club room 111, which was on the first floor.
Room was very comfortable, welcoming, clean and warm
I paid £158 which also included breakfast. Also in the room was a lovely bowl of fruit ,bottle of wine and soft drinks all included. Staff were fantastic very friendly. Def stay again

Reviewed by
Karen G

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel tiny rooms
well situated but our room was tiny they deserve a medal for squeezing in a double bed. the room was a small single really.

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Comfortable stay, great room, and very friendly staff. The complimentary fruit and softdrinks are a nice touch.

Reviewed by
Mehmuda M

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good business accommodation
The hotel is situated just off Edgware Road within easy walking distance of several tube and bus stops with the additional advantage of several good restaurants nearby too. The hotel itself is clean with good service, although the allocated club room was a little small for two people.
Parking is available on site although the helpdesk didn't seem aware of the fact, speak directly to the hotel if you plan to park there .

Reviewed by
Sue Barwise

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ticked the boxes.
Room was worth the £160 we paid although I stumble to believe that it was reduced from over £500 especially given its compact size. However, fruit basket and wine in the room was a nice touch.
Location good with many cafes and eateries nearby. Good location for the tube. Road noise was slightly annoying as sash window did not dull it one jot. Otherwise this hotel ticked all the boxes.

Reviewed by
L Robertson

From La roeulx, Belgium
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, quiet,single room at back of hotel contained everything you could need. Warm & cosy with good ensuite. Excellent breakfast. Impressive reception area. Reception staff extremely helpful and welcoming. Thank you, will stay again.

Reviewed by
Jo B

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in a great location
I have stayed in this hotel many times and it does not fail to impress. From the moment you enter the reception where the staff are always helpful and friendly to the quality of the room. It is in a great location in Paddington only 5 mins walk from the station. Only criticism is that the do vary greatly in size but still has all the same facilities. It is my first choice hotel when staying in London on business.

Reviewed by
E Guest

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant surprise for London B & B
Staff at all times were a delight - helpful and pleasant. Room was a fair size for London - we had a Club Room and it made a pleasant change for London to be able to walk around the bed! It was clean with a very modern bathroom. Our rate included breakfast, which we assumed would be continental but we had the full English breakfast included as well - buffet style. The quality, range and presentation were faultless. And it was always well-cooked and hot! On arrival we had a selection of fresh fruit, coca colas, bottled water and half-bottle of red wine in our room, which assumed would be chargeable and left until we were told - several times, that it was complimentary! Could not believe it. Best stay of many in London. Well done.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing hotel experience
While the bedroom was clean and adequately furnished, it was very disappointing in terms of its being advertised as a club room for two people; there was only one chair, indeed there was no room for two. It was barely large enough for one person. There was a working shower but no bath and this information should have been provided. The breakfast food and dining room was at best two star.

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I felt conned.
In late rooms I was sold a massive bargain, saving more than £200. In fact, we got a little room up the back staircase (the old servants quarters). We could not take a lift to the better rooms and the staircase we had to use was unkempt, carpets badly frayed at the edges and a general atmosphere of back door gloom. The reception staff were surly and dismissive, though we made no complaint. They probable reserve these jokes for late room bargains. I wouldn't have paid half what we were charged.

Reviewed by
Ayari P

From Markfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next