Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > South East England > Greater London > London Hotels > The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
78-84 Sussex Gardens London, London, W2 1UH
The unique advantage of this property is its fantastic location and lavish accommodation. Moreover, this place is easily accessible from all major places of the city.Rooms possess grand amenities and facilities such as: deluxe bedding, superb bathrooms, and plasma TV's and also a complimentary high-speed broadband connection. Staff is friendly and knowledgeable and make sure that your stay is enjoyable. Stay at this wonderful property and experience the vibrancy which this city has to offer.

The property is close by from three tube stations and the famous Paddington main line station. So, exploring this city is tremendously effortless. All the famous places like the attractive Hyde Park, Princess of Wales Memorial Fountain and the beautiful Serpentine Lake are in close proximity. These places are a must visit and are a huge crowd pullers. Boating, eating, or simply taking a stroll on these celestial royal grounds can be availed.

Picture of The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 59 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a weekend break in London
The hotel's location is great for exploring the city - Hyde Park and Oxford Street are easily within walking distance and buses convenient for exploring further away. The reception area is bright and welcoming and our club room though quite small was spotlessly clean and equipped with everything we might need. A good shower! The addition of a fridge and microwave (which we didn't use) as well as plates and wine glasses was a bonus. There was a good choice of food on the breakfast menu. A really good find and we will definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Anne T

From Congleton , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great time out in London
Hotel in convenient location. Close to Paddington, but away from hubbub of busy roads. Impressive décor and clean and quiet. Staff fantastic and helpful, without being obtrusive. Room well appointed and clean. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
Phillip Carr

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boiler trouble
Arrived to find that boiler trouble meant I was shunted to another "sister" hotel.

Reviewed by
Christopher O

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visiting from yorkshire
Unfortunately when we arrived at the hotel they had supposedly over booked so we were taken to a sister hotel about a mile away. Luckily the location was ok but if it hadn't of been I don't know what would have happened. The hotel over all was lovely and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
M Blakeley

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
Pleasant staff, comfy room and perfect location.

Reviewed by
Melanie S

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to see a show and Winter Wonderland
The hotel is very conveniently located just a few minutes away from Paddington mainline station, five minutes from the underground at Lancaster Gate and Hyde park.
Upon arrival the reception staff were friendly and welcoming, we had a club room which was very well fitted out, clean, tidy with a very nice bathroom. The standard of the fittings in the room were of a high standard, much better than we had expected given our experiences of Central London hotels. The mini-bar was empty but there were bottles of wine, coke , water as well as hot drinks in the room ALL complimentary, what a change from the rip off prices in most other establishments.There was an ironing board in the room along with a microwave should you wish to have something hot.
Breakfast the following morning was varied and plentiful, the staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them.
All in all a very pleasant experience and while the view from the window was not stunning (being on the ground floor) I shall definitely use the hotel on my next visit.

Reviewed by
Roy L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
It was a bed to sleep in. I normally wouldn't stay in anything below 5 star but needed a bed

Reviewed by
jamie m

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab hotel and location
Stayed overnight for a short break with hubby
Only a 5-10 walk from Paddington station
From the hotel it's about a 15 minute walk into Oxford street
I booked the club room 111, which was on the first floor.
Room was very comfortable, welcoming, clean and warm
I paid £158 which also included breakfast. Also in the room was a lovely bowl of fruit ,bottle of wine and soft drinks all included. Staff were fantastic very friendly. Def stay again

Reviewed by
Karen G

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel tiny rooms
well situated but our room was tiny they deserve a medal for squeezing in a double bed. the room was a small single really.

Reviewed by
Gary W

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Comfortable stay, great room, and very friendly staff. The complimentary fruit and softdrinks are a nice touch.

Reviewed by
Mehmuda M

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next