No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Whitley Hall Country House Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Elliott Lane Grenoside, Sheffield, S35 8NR
Whitley Hall is an ivy-clad 16th century mansion that provides an elegant and romantic setting for any occasion. Relax in this historic and fashionable hotel and enjoy the tranquil grounds of the surrounding estate. The gardens rise around the picturesque house and are planted with fine oaks and other mature trees. Peacocks, Mallards, Canadian Geese and squirrels grace the gardens, which also include two small lakes.
The hotel has recently benefited from major refurbishment and offers extreme comfort throughout. The recently opened Parker wing offers rooms of the very highest standard, all of which have Juliet balconies and four deluxe bedrooms with lake views.
All rooms have a complimentary decanter of port, and the bathroom contains free toiletries with fluffy bathrobes also for your use. The hotel also has free direct broadband access and WIFI.
Our restaurant has also been awarded two AA rosettes.
A member of Classic British Hotels.
Picture of Whitley Hall Country House Hotel, Sheffield at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquillity of Peacocks
Despite the sheeting rain, the accommodation was comfortable and quiet. Will definitely come again.

Reviewed by
Marie H

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely as usual
We have stayed here a few times now. Its a beautiful place so close to Sheffield city, with quiet walks nearby. The rooms are beautiful - ours was a bit small but its cosy. The food wasn't quite as nice as last time, but that might just be my taste - all presented in a friendly efficient way. Wii stay again when we can.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding reception
Great stay at this hotel. Room was amazing. Really big and very clean. Had a ground floor room, with a lake view. We had gone to a wedding reception at the hotel. The food was lovely. Great place to have a wedding. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Schofield

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting
Very nice hotel in beautiful setting, superior rooms in original building are not large but full of character. Dining in restuarant is excellent.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Pontyclun, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel
We stayed as part of the Sunday Dinner bed and Breakfast offer, it was excellent value for money, the food was amazing and the room was beautiful. only minor compliant was that due to a wedding being on, on the same date we arrived we found that most of the staff were pre-occupied with this and some levels of customer service were lacking (it frequently took a while to be served at the bar)

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a place!
Everything was more than expected. Hotel is situating in the middle of green and beautiful countryside and the own garden. Room was perfect, silent and clean, interior design beautiful. And as a real bonus, an uncredible international and amazing Yorkshire Sculpture Park and Art Museum to be reached in twenty minutes. In the restaurant, a bit more casual code could be pleasant to people travelling for relaxing on vocation.

Reviewed by
Kaisa A

From Finland
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
J Pullen

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay!
Lovely room, lovely food, lovely surroundings, good service. Nothing else to say really!

Reviewed by
E Preece

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Real find
Great country house hotel with good rooms and warm welcome. The only let down was the coffee with breakfast which was awful.

Reviewed by
Jeff A

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful setting
Our room was very comfortable and the bed was very big. However our friends who paid the same price had a smaller room and bed and the mattress was very uncomfortable, so it it's pot luck . The restaurant is very expensive and the portions small. I had a salmon starter and the piece of salmon was about an inch square. The breakfast really should have the food freshly made and not have rubbery eggs sitting on the side for an hour. The gardens and setting is beautiful.

Reviewed by
Malcolm A

From Hoddesdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next