No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great central hotel
Great hotel and we were there when the renovations were going on but didn't disrupt our plans the food was good and the staf couldn't help us enough will be booking again

Reviewed by
Sophia Dixon

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Situated close to many nice eating establishments. Lovely interior and room was big and nicely decorated. Very clean and a nice pmfy bed.

Reviewed by
T Stagg

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money
Nice and clean, slept a straight 8 hours and had a good breakfast in the morning!

Reviewed by
Stuart G

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Hotel
On arrival,the tv in the room we were given didn't work,but a member of staff got a couple of the channels working.We asked for some food,but were told that the chef had phoned in sick,and that we should find food easily elsewhere in the area.Later on in the night,some other guest tried to open our room with a key he had been given for our room!!

ManagementResponse

We apologise for the problems with the television which has now been fixed. In relation to the food, we have employed a new chef and are also in the process of updating both the menu and the restaurant area, currently undergoing a makeover to make facilities much better for all customers. We cannot understand why the guest thinks that we would give another guest a key to an occupied room. We can only presume that somebody tried to enter this room in error but there is little that the hotel could have done to prevent this.

Reviewed by
David N

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no hot water
room was lovely but hot water on a timer so before going to the concert after travelling we had to have a cold shower terrible
little to no service even when you have asked for something the staff then disappear and dont show up again

ManagementResponse

Our heating and hot water system is only off for a couple of hours during the day when guests tend to be out. As the hotel was fully booked, we can only presume that the shortage was due to everybody having showers concurrently; should this happen then the water may take a few minutes to reheat but ithat would be all. The hotel is well staffed at all times so cannot understand the comment about staff being hard to trace.

Reviewed by
stacy o

From Maryport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

place generally tired, good shower and room furnature, comfortable bed. staff very pleasant. restaurant menu poor, ok if you like burgers, but good breakfast.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased that this guest found the room, bed and shower room to be good as we have recently upgraded all bedrooms and bathrooms and are currently updating all communal areas. We have also recently employed a new chef and are in the process of changing the menu to provide a greater choice for our customers.

Reviewed by
john h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean room, friendly staff, really good value for money. Tasty full english breakfast, only could have been hotter.

Reviewed by
m bradley

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel very good value
would have been helpful to have a phone in the room to contact reception, I needed the password for the wifi and had to go down 2 flights of stairs and back again which was pain
breakfast was ok but the orange juice was orange squash rather than fresh juice but everything else good
it was a good stay, room very nice & clean and a lovely bathroom

Reviewed by
Y Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome was good an friendly but no so good after that.

Reviewed by
Tom W

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unimpressed
the room itself was spacious and bed very comfortable but there were cobwebs hanging off walls and black mould round bath and shower screen, taps and plug hole.
Didnt sleep a wink, went bank holiday sat. Girls banging doors and letting boys in, all through the night, laughing and shouting.
Full breakfast microwaved, bit rubbery but staff pleasant. Went to toilet to wash my hands after it, no paper towels and hand drier not working.
More attention to detail and cleanliness, required!

Reviewed by
angela b

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next