Reviews - The Kenilworth


44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (54)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Walker

  • May 2014

Newcastle two day trip

Very dark on entry !.

Friendly staff could not be more helpfully. The room was comfortable but hole in bathroom floor sink had big crack and ceiling mouldy but bed comfortable . Would go back but different room would complain if paid full price .

  • N Coneybear

  • May 2014

Quality but not costly

Have stayed here a few times now.

Rooms have plenty of space for me, though it is hard to watch tv at night on the edge of a four poster bed. Shower was great, plenty of hot water.

Had a cracking hand made burger at the bar, well recommended. Breakfast is cooked to order and worth the money. I will be back.

  • Graham Kilbey

  • May 2014

clean and tidy

Slept well and food good

  • G Gray

  • April 2014

Not quite the hotel I expected

The hotel was very noisy - there were people walking around in the rooms above me most of the night and the floorboards were very creaky.

I had booked 2 x double rooms for myself and my colleague but his room did not have a double but two twin beds pushed together which meant he had a gap down the middle and at 6'2 this was uncomfortable. He also had blinds rather than curtains which were a few inches away from the window so the light from the car park shone into his room all night meaning he did not get much sleep. In the morning his shower would only provide hot water if it was at a low level on the shower rail ie if he had it at the height he needed for the shower it was cold!

  • P Johnson

  • April 2014

Good clean room

  • K Shah

  • March 2014

Nice enough place to stay in Jesmond, easy walk from metro

The hotel is above Ru Bar on Osborne Road, which is nice but has the feel of a local's pub and was very quiet on the night I arrived, so a little daunting.

The room itself was nice and quiet and out of the way, and easy to access from the bar or the side door - although up lots of steps so perhaps not suitable for everyone. The bed was super comfy - softer than I'm used to but very cosy, and the shower was great once I got the hang of which way the temperature went (part of the dial cover was missing). The ensuite was actually lovely in general. The worst thing for me was that I was unable to get on to the wifi but as I was only staying one night I didn't chase it up so it may have been fixable. The only other thing I would change is making more time for a cooked breakfast as it sounded great - also with a veggie alternative - but I left in a bit of a rush. The couple who run the place were lovely, and I would stay there again. Jesmond is a nice area with a choice of bars around and easy access to the city centre.

  • C Boddy

  • March 2014

Good clean hotel

Nice basic hotel with free parking, well furnished rooms, polite and welcoming staff, menu is limited but they are very good.

  • L Burrows

  • March 2014

Lovely Hotel

Small family run hotel, staff all seem very nice and helpful.

I had a double room which was very well decorated and a great size. En suite bathroom very clean and everything working perfectly. The bed was very comfy. Wifi was a bit temperamental in terms of speed but always worked. The breakfast buffet is pretty basic since there are only 11 rooms but the cooked breakfast was very nice. There are lots of bars and restaurants right on your doorstep. One word of warning is that the area is very studenty so the bars are always busy but the hotel itself was always quiet I was never disturbed at all.

  • G Pennie

  • March 2014

The staff were most friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much effort.

the room was very clean, neat and comfortable.

  • A Wallace

  • January 2014

When we arrived the man on desk was busy taking a complaint over the phone as he handed us our form to fill in which from the get go seemed very unprofessional and not a great start to the stay.

The room was fine, clean enough but few holes in the bedding, also there was only cream in the tea and coffee facilities and believe me cream does not go well in a cup of tea. Vile. The next morning we woke a little later then planned but when booking a 'late room' I'm sure it's expected from the hotel that the guests are planning a night out. Anyways we rushed to get ready to make it down for breakfast, once seated a girl came out and placed a full English to the lad next to us...when we asked we were told the breakfast finished a 10am and everything had been turned off...which was clearly a load of crock as the lad had just received a breakfast. We looked at the time and it was literally 3 minutes past 10. To be honest I think that's totally ridiculous seen as we paid 65 pound for a bo standard room on 'late' 'breakfast included' and they wouldn't serve us for the sake of three mins. Ridiculous. We did try and complain at the time, we stood at bar for 15 mins but no one was around and the girls had locked themselves in the kitchen, probably knowing we weren't impressed. Wouldn't bother, there's a hundred more hotels in Jesmond where I'm sure the service would be much better!!