You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Kenilworth


44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond,, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL

Price From 116.39 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (55)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • angela b

  • August 2014


the room itself was spacious and bed very comfortable but there were cobwebs hanging off walls and black mould round bath and shower screen, taps and plug hole.

Didnt sleep a wink, went bank holiday sat. Girls banging doors and letting boys in, all through the night, laughing and shouting. Full breakfast microwaved, bit rubbery but staff pleasant. Went to toilet to wash my hands after it, no paper towels and hand drier not working.

More attention to detail and cleanliness, required.

  • R Harris

  • August 2014

We spent 3 nights here.The staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast was lovely just what you you needed after a night out on the town.

The rooms were basic but clean and good value for money on a short weekend break away.

  • Sue G

  • August 2014

a little down at heel but comfortable bed

We found it a little scruffy and down at heel.

It looked nothing like the rooms we had seen on the website which had bright bedspreads and cushions. We found the smell of the breakfasts being cooked very early quite overpowering and said breakfasts for us were inedible - we didn't bother on the 2nd day. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the bed was comfortable but we found the lack of a couple of comfortable chairs or a sofa problematic - perching on the bed to watch tv at night was very uncomfortable - the room photos had shown a sofa in the type of room we had chosen.

  • A Kirk

  • July 2014

Bar with rooms

This was a bar with rooms.

The rooms require considerable maintenance.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review.

The Kenilworth is classified as 4 star Guest Accommodation by the AA and was scored highly by during the recent AA inspection. Certain standards have to be met to achieve this and the property surpassed the required minimum in all categories.

Constant maintenance is carried out with all rooms having been decorated this year; new bathrooms in all but 2 of the bedrooms with plans for the final 2 imminent and new carpets to most rooms. In addition, the breakfast room has been refurbished this summer.

We feel that we are diligent in attending to maintenance issues and are constantly reinvesting in our property.

  • Laurence L

  • June 2014

June 2014

Excellent bed!

  • S Uddin

  • June 2014


The only reason we booked this place was because it was a last minute reservation and one of the cheapest we could find at the time.

Our stay was pleasant however my two major criticisms for the place is 1. The Parking is tiny and it's either a case of once you're in there is no getting out of your spot because other people just leave their cars in any available spot they can find which blocks other cars OR you will have to park elsewhere and the parking around the hotel is chargeable at certain times during the day. It should really state in the description of the hotel that it is limited parking as there is no way there is enough space for all the guests. There is atleast 9 rooms, no way can fit 9 cars properly. 2. Is the smell as you walk in to the hotel, not pleasant a all, I have to say the rooms are quite clean however when you first walk in it's dark and quite worn out and smells a little dirty.

Other than that the place is in a lovely location, plenty of bars, great night life and the breakfast was nice.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, to clarify the parking situation; we have 11 bedrooms and 11 parking spaces making us, pro rata, the hotel with the largest car park in Jesmond. Since your stay we have repainted the car park bays to make it easier for guests to park and to prevent anybody from getting blocked in.

We also note your comments about the car park entrance and agree with you that this is perhaps the least attractive area of the hotel We are however working within the constraints imposed by the nature of our building, a Victorian conversion which can make the entrance seem a little dark. The smell referred to was a residual side effect of some essential plumbing work which is now completed. We have recently refurbished the porch leading into the hotel and this is decorated at least every 6 weeks and is well lit

at night.

We thank you for your feedback and are confident that our rooms and service are far from mediocre. Should you visit us again, we hope that you will note the improvements in relation to the car park.

  • Michael P

  • June 2014

Quite acceptable if you're looking for a bed

First appearances are not encouraging but actually the experience is OK.

The hotel is one of the smaller establishments on Osborne Road and it seems to suffer because of this. Parking is behind the hotel and the way in from the car park is rather depressing. Reception is at the bar and in our case was handled competently and quickly. Our room was on the first floor and the outlook was over the derelict garden next door. However, the room itself was clean and tidy having apparently been recently redecorated. Both room and bathroom were of a good size. The bed proved to be very comfortable. Despite concerns that there might be noise from those watching football downstairs, the hotel was very quiet and a good night's sleep was had. Breakfast offered a good choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit, with hot drinks to choice brought to the table very quickly. All the variations right up to a full English was available and ours was brought to the table quickly. Poached eggs, ever easy, were perfectly done. We stayed two nights and ate locally, one night at the Indian restaurant and the second at Antico Italian restaurant, both within a five minute walk. The meal at Antico was one of the best we've every had - ambience, service and food were all excellent and the price was very good. The clientele covered all ages and the restaurant was obviously very popular. But back to the hotel - we don't know that we would necessarily choose it again, but it was definitely fit for purpose. Probably groups of younger people out for a fun weekend would think it was just right, and for them it would be.

  • M Gordon

  • June 2014

Conveniently located, friendly and excellent value for money

Good sized room, clean and well-decorated.

Friendly and very helpful proprietor.

  • Iain N

  • June 2014

convenient and good value

Stayed one night when collecting my son and his worldly goods at the end of his first year at the University.

I booked at the last minute, and was able to park in the last of the parking spaces at the back of the hotel. Room was comfortable and clean with good en-suite facilities. Staff very friendly. My room faced onto Osbourne Road, but I was not disturbed by any noise (Tues night)


  • June 2014

2 Nights away

We arrived at the Hotel early parked in their car park and was met by a pleasant young man who gladly let us book in early, we were shown to our room which was over the bar (Even though we asked for a quiet room) The room was large clean and well equipt, the ensuite had a shower basin and toilet, this looked a little tired (cracked hand basin, split flooring) but was functional and had plenty of space (you could shut the door when bending to clean you teeth!!) The Bar down stairs stopped its music at 11.30pm so had no concern about being over the bar after all but the Bar next door was noisy and music continued till much later ( I know the hotel can not do anything about this) The hotel had a number of young single sex parties staying; on the first night there was a lot of noise at approx.

3pm but the secound night after they had checked out it was nice and quiet. The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and service with a smile. I would be happy to stay here again and have already recomended it to a friend, I would say £5 a night cheaper would be appropriate but I am always looking for the best deal!!!!!

Response from hotel

We are delighted that this guest enjoyed his stay and thank him for the recommendation.

The bathroom issues have been resolved with new flooring and a new washbasin and vanity unit in the ensuite.

The room he stayed in was recently soundproofed to avoid disturbance from the bar which can be lively on Friday and Saturday nights during university term time.

We look forward to welcoming all guests back to The Kenilworth.