No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
A good size, clean and tidy room . Faulty bulbs and lamps were replaced as soon as we reported them and extra pillows were readily available on request. We had a good sized shower with plenty of hot water.An adequate breakfast was included in the charges.
All staff were helpful and friendly.
Our only negatives were the bed was a bit on the soft side and the stairs and floorboards squeaked, but that is something that you have to put up with in well used older properties.
All in all a good budget accommodation.

Reviewed by
Carole B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
Great place to stay while visiting student daughter. Convenient for Jesmond nightlife. Rooms comfortable and spotless with enough tea, coffee & biscuits for 2. Good car parking. Staff pleasant and amenable, service at breakfast could be a little slicker. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Downs

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, clean and hospitable.
Room was comfortable and clean, staff very friendly. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location for food & drinks

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly and very good B&B
We had a long drive to Newcastle and found this B&B very welcoming, clean and good value. We stayed in room 6 which is a four poster with comfortable facilities. The hotel is on the popular Osborne Road which has lots of hotel bars and near to Acorn Road which has restaurants, delis and coffee shops.

Reviewed by
Siva M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't match up to the 4* rating
The place was very noisy at night . The hair dryer didn't work (although a spare was available) one of the bedside lights didn't work. The lamp on the desk didn't work and half of the lights in the bathroom mirror didn't work either. Not enough attention to detail!
On the plus side it's a handy location for the city centre and there was enough parking at the rear.

Reviewed by
F Cross

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent family run hotel
I stayed here for 3 nights last week & my stay was great! Lovely modern clean rooms,lovely bar area with comfy sofas & the cooked breakfast was fab! Am quite fussy but am going back again next week for few days.Berny the guy there was really lovely & would do anything to help,nice clean rooms friendly staff just what I wanted. :) happy customer!

Reviewed by
Louise Findlay

From Berwick upon tweed, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with lovely staff
We stayed for 4 nights & were very pleased by the room & the service received. The staff were always happy to help. The hotel is above a bar & as we went outside of the university term it was very quiet. We were very impressed overall & enjoyed the friendly, more personal touch of seeing the same staff every day. We would definately stay at the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Natalie B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family visit
Needed a place to rest our heads & body's after a drive from Liverpool ,while visiting our grandchildren who live in longbenton Newcastle.found this place to be ideal local to metro train station .Which opened up the whole area to visiting without driving.Hotel was pleasant ,in a good area ,for restaurants and bars .well worth a return.

Reviewed by
K Smith

From Skelmersdale , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kenilworth
Great hotel and great staff will be back.....

Reviewed by
A Swain

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next