No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kenilworth

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
44 Osborne Rd, Jesmond, , Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE2 2AL
Situated within walking distance of Newcastle city centre, The Kenilworth is a well established family run hotel, offering comfortable, contemporary rooms with modern en suite bathrooms; good home cooked food and a well stocked bar. Free on site parking is available to all guests to the rear of the hotel and free WiFi is standard throughout the property.

A hearty breakfast is served in our downstairs restaurant with a good choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and traditional English breakfast , waitress served to your table. Evening meals are also served nightly upto 9pm with a wide selection of beers, wines and cocktails from the in house bar.

The Kenilworth welcomes both business and leisure travellers and guarantees a warm welcome to all.

Picture of The Kenilworth, Newcastle Upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were most friendly and very helpful, nothing was to much effort. the room was very clean, neat and comfortable.

Reviewed by
G Pennie

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived the man on desk was busy taking a complaint over the phone as he handed us our form to fill in which from the get go seemed very unprofessional and not a great start to the stay. The room was fine, clean enough but few holes in the bedding, also there was only cream in the tea and coffee facilities and believe me cream does not go well in a cup of tea! Vile. The next morning we woke a little later then planned but when booking a 'late room' I'm sure it's expected from the hotel that the guests are planning a night out. Anyways we rushed to get ready to make it down for breakfast, once seated a girl came out and placed a full English to the lad next to us...when we asked we were told the breakfast finished a 10am and everything had been turned off...which was clearly a load of crock as the lad had just received a breakfast. We looked at the time and it was literally 3 minutes past 10. To be honest I think that's totally ridiculous seen as we paid 65 pound for a bo standard room on 'late rooms.com' 'breakfast included' and they wouldn't serve us for the sake of three mins. Ridiculous. We did try and complain at the time, we stood at bar for 15 mins but no one was around and the girls had locked themselves in the kitchen, probably knowing we weren't impressed. Wouldn't bother, there's a hundred more hotels in Jesmond where I'm sure the service would be much better!!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. In relation to breakfast, we do have to have a cut off point for serving as we need to clear up the kitchen and dining room within a certain timescale. However, it is very unusual for guests not to be served if they are only a few minutes late and, if this is the case, we apologise. Booking through Laterooms doesn't mean that guests are going out late- this is a misinterpretation by the guest. Our staff are not in the habit of locking themselves in the kitchen- this is a very strange comment! In respect of the other points, laundry comes from a professional laundry service and it is of the best quality; in relation to the lack of milk, this must have been an oversight but we would have delivered milk to the room on request if the guest had only made us aware. As a small hotel, we pride ourselves on service and don't agree that there is better to be found in Jesmond.

Reviewed by
A Wallace

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My recent stay at The Kenilworth Hotel
This hotel is convenient for the city centre. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and all of them made sure we were OK.
I can't complain as it was excellent value for the money as there's a full English breakfast included in the price quoted.
The room was basic but provided what we needed. Couldn't open the window and the bathroom door was difficult to open. Light switch needed sorting into the room. We managed though.
Petty as this may sound I cannot stand having the television on (& there were two) with no sound and music playing in the background. One or the other please.
All in all stay here if you want something inexpensive with friendly staff and easy access to the city, the bus stop is a couple of yards away and there's a taxi free phone at the bar. What more could you ask for?

Reviewed by
Ruth Keating

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed results
Public rooms, dirty with strange furniture and decoration- a basic student pub.
Room clean and comfortable, breakfast good. Stay ok as only one night, But would not recommend as could find better for money.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased that the guest found their room to be clean and comfortable but are disappointed about their comments with regard to the in house bar/lounge. The style of the bar was clearly not this guest's liking but we feel that this is more of a matter of personal taste. All public areas are cleaned twice daily; we cater for as mixed clientele, not exclusively students, and we feel that we offer a good selection of meals, snacks and drinks to hotel guests in pleasant surroundings. In relation to value for money, prices start from £54 per double room per night including a freshly cooked breakfast which we believe constitutes excellent value for money!

Reviewed by
J Medley

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
A good size, clean and tidy room . Faulty bulbs and lamps were replaced as soon as we reported them and extra pillows were readily available on request. We had a good sized shower with plenty of hot water.An adequate breakfast was included in the charges.
All staff were helpful and friendly.
Our only negatives were the bed was a bit on the soft side and the stairs and floorboards squeaked, but that is something that you have to put up with in well used older properties.
All in all a good budget accommodation.

Reviewed by
Carole B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
Great place to stay while visiting student daughter. Convenient for Jesmond nightlife. Rooms comfortable and spotless with enough tea, coffee & biscuits for 2. Good car parking. Staff pleasant and amenable, service at breakfast could be a little slicker. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
S Downs

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, clean and hospitable.
Room was comfortable and clean, staff very friendly. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Sarah S

From Chertsey, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location for food & drinks

Reviewed by
Adrian M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly and very good B&B
We had a long drive to Newcastle and found this B&B very welcoming, clean and good value. We stayed in room 6 which is a four poster with comfortable facilities. The hotel is on the popular Osborne Road which has lots of hotel bars and near to Acorn Road which has restaurants, delis and coffee shops.

Reviewed by
Siva M

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't match up to the 4* rating
The place was very noisy at night . The hair dryer didn't work (although a spare was available) one of the bedside lights didn't work. The lamp on the desk didn't work and half of the lights in the bathroom mirror didn't work either. Not enough attention to detail!
On the plus side it's a handy location for the city centre and there was enough parking at the rear.

Reviewed by
F Cross

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next